We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent location but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

requested quiet room at night..phoned prior to visit, asked again at check in and was assured our room would be..but loud music from outside til 2 am would not be my idea of QUIET.also rooms vey small even though we paid extra for sea view with balcony and beds were so hard..impossible to get a good night sleep.found reception staff very dis interested but rest of staff excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barracala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    634
    234
    52
    26
See reviews for
402
593
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Two families, 5 adults and 5 children under 6. we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a deluxe seaview room, which gave us fantastic views over the harbour and the coast. Location was fantastic, we had the kiddies pool to ourselves and were across the (quiet) road from the beach. Breakfast was large with lots of choice. Staff were very friendly, especially to the children.

Bugbears would include the lack of reception staff, especially when busy, some problems with lifts. There was also a noticeable lack of entertainment in the evenings, but it was early in the season.

Overall we had a great time, the kids want to go back later this year!

Room Tip: We booked off weekend, Tuesday to Tuesday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankles1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were the last week of may 2011 in the ampalia.Nice setting,gardens ok,clean swimming pool with a lot of worn sunbeds.The rooms are quit well with real good views on the harbour.But,this restaurant is build under the hotel so lightly and clear is it not at all, but still worse is that in the evening,when the sun is still shining,you are obliged to eat inside and this with all the curtains closed.I warn light depressive people not to go there.This hotel rule should be due to a lack of staff..About the food they serve:it is very easy and simple,bread and vegetables are quit ok but the rest is directly out from the box(do not expect fresh sardinas,neither caldeirada)and ther rest of the food comes from the deepfreezer(pastries) and to mask the poor quality of the frozen fish they serve them deep fried. A really deeply disappointing experience.At the other hand their heating counters are totally insufficient so that food must be eaten raether cold than warm.......personnel are really doing what they can and are not responsable.Typical:the hotel has a good putting green but the grass is too long because of the lack of personnel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmbrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

food above average, only one toaster for whole restaurant.Service good reception staff good. Room good size kitchen locked view stunning.Problem with maid service ,lost 60 euros over two occassions from my wallet which was on bedside table while we were on the balcony during the maids visit,reported to duty manager, only concerned with reputation of hotel,carried out investigation complaint unproven.Did not offer to call police.Will definately not be using this hotel again despite previous satisfactory visits.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthEast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is our 4th time at this hotel and can find no fault. We returned this time with our 2 young children andhave read some negative reviews which we don't understand.
It is a beautiful hotel, in the best location we have ever stayed in, in a hotel and we have stayed in plenty. The staff are always really really helpful and pleasant.
Do not hesitate to book this hotel and you will not be disappointed.
We recommend the junior suites with a sea view, fantastic spacious rooms.
We read a few reviews about muggings but we saw no trouble anywhere in vilamoura. We can only give this hotel a glowing report and will definitely be back next year, when we will have another baby, so there will be 5 of us next time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_GingerNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stopped here some years ago with my in-laws,wife and 3yr old son. The hotel was fantastic.
I returned last week, 20th May, to find that the standard of care was equally, if not better. the staff were extremely helpful and despite the stories of mugging in the immeadiate area, we saw no trouble at all.We were given a room opposite the Casino, but we had no trouble with noise etc.
My friends and I are looking to book for next year, but as the flights are not yet available we'll have to wait.
Jason j6758

Room Tip: Just ask the staff if you can upgrade!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonj6758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed for 2weeks,hotel spotless,rooms spotless,all staff very helpful and friendly.5 mins walk to marina.We booked bb the food was realy nice good variety,we ate dining room 4 times in the evenin,and we were not disapointed.Bein early in season pool not so busy,felt the pool area was not very big 4 the size of the hotel.We had a balcony facin the casino, we never realy heard the boom boom of the disco till our last mornin as we were up early to catch our flite.Some of the resturants at marina high priced.We had nice food at the atvicat at marina, my husband had the catiplana,it would have been enuff for 2 but i dont eat seafood.Beach 2 mins away .We had a lovely stay,and had a happy holiday. Also the staff in the shops at hotel were delightful,also hairdressers,a very nice lady hairdresser,who gave me a good haircut.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing