We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel very quiet in January”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel very quiet in January”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short golf weekend in January. Very clean, good staff, breakfast buffet excellent, rooms well appointed. Pool and sauna were very nice. Very quiet in January and the hotel and whole town was lacking in atmosphere as a result.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    654
    241
    53
    27
See reviews for
422
617
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

just returned after spending twelve days at this hotel .this was our second visit..the staff are great and could not do enough for us .the new years eve party was fabulous the food was excellent.starting with soup. lobster .sorbet .f[llet steak..dessert.drinks beer .wine sparkling wine coffee cheese prawns fresh fruit.delicatessen. ...fireworks at midnight....entertainment all night...great holiday thanks to all staff...

Room Tip: if there is anything on the menu you dont like ask to change it the staff will do their utmost to pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bestefar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel for a short break in November and were extremely pleased with our choice and the location, so close to the beach and the Marina.

The Reception staff were were very helpful and obliging..

We had a Sea View room, and what a view we had it was fabulous, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The room also had a small kitchen with a fridge which was very handy for preparing little snacks and keeping our beer and wine cool.
The breakfast in the Hotel was excellent having hot and cold choices available together with cereals, fresh fruit and juices.
The sunsets seen from our balcony were stunning.
The bus stop near the Hotel allowed us to take a trip to Albufeira and the fare of 4 euros seemed quite reasonable for the 45 minute trip.

The hotel is literally a stones throw from the Marina, which at night is a hive of activity and has a great selection of bars and restaurants.

There was even a unisex hairdresser on the premises together with the obligatory souvenir shop.

We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked to return in April and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view have sun on balcony from sunrise to sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CrawfordSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked a last minute trip to recharge our batteries, but were a little concerned by some of the reviews. We needn't have worried. The hotel was not brand new, but it was very clean, and in a great location. twenty minutes from faro airport and less than five minutes stroll from the Marina, and the old town square.
we had a fabulous seaview room with a large balcony overlooking the beach and the pool. The bathroom was a little tired and the hairdryer lacked power, but it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was excellent, and plentiful, and the staff in the spa were knowledgable, and the treatments varied and good value for money. An excellent trip and will definately return to the hotel.
Our November break was not disturbed in any way by noisy entertainment, and the warm sunny days were an added bonus.

Room Tip: third floor seaview rooms have excellent balconies getting the sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked a very late holiday at the Ampalius hotel , we had Never been to Portugal before so everything was a chance and really all the info regarding our trip was deemed from trip adversor.
We found the holiday on a hotel site the prices were good for the standard of hotel. And we were very happy with our choice we had read positive reviews through so were confident there.
The reviews on trip adversor about the Algarve suggested to give the shuttle services a miss as they are poor and taxis from Faro expensive so we chose a private transfer .we found there are lots to choose from but one kept being mentioned and getting good reviews- yellow fish transfers. so we went with it . We were suited with our choice , got a bottle of wine too and free wifi on board.
We visited the market in Quarteira as advised on trip advisor it was very Nice and atmospheric .
We went to the mountains as suggested , very pretty it was a Lovely day out.
Trip advisor also suggested a trip to Seville which we thouroughly enjoyed and would consider returning.
All in all we had agreat time and would lime to think everyone for there great sugestiones

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Was here for a business conference and some golf. Everything laid on by the hotel was great and cant fault the place. 5 mins from the port where there are lots of bars and restaurants as well as complimentary shuttles to the golf courses.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank open2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster u.k.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

just had a week in a sea view room, excellent stay, very clean, buffet breakfast good.
All area immaculate, very impressed. Only downside was the noise on 2 nights from the casino next door, which went on till 4 a.m. Did not put us of though and already sorting next years return there. The golf in the area good but pricey and the buggies were 45 euros a day.

Room Tip: sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing