We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just back from a week in Vilamoura and the Vila Gale Ampalius. We booked through a travel agent's website only around 3 weeks beforehand but still got a good deal.

It's ideal for the beach which is literally a couple of minutes walk away. Shops, restaurants and marina are all very closeby also.

Hotel facilities are perfectly good - large airy lobby, free internet access on PCs, and wifi (in lobby only), excellent breakfast (we queued one morning around 10am but were seated fairly quickly), room was fine (aircon, fridge, nice strong shower). We had barfood during the day a couple of times - from toasted sandwiches to more substantial meals, there was plenty of choice.

It was generally noisy outside at night time into the early hours, and even around 7am some mornings particularly the weekend. Possibly due to proximity to Puro Beach club. While the noise is not the fault of the hotel, I had emailed them in advance asking for a quiet room.

Some days our room wasn't serviced until 1630 or so, not too much of a problem if you're out and about for the day but we came back early on a couple of occasions to find our room untouched or in the process of being cleaned. Any staff we dealt with were very nice.

There was a relaxed atmosphere to the point that there was no problem to go from beach to room with sand still in your hair :)

I had a lovely facial in the spa also.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    656
    241
    53
    27
See reviews for
422
619
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for a short break of five nights from 17th July and had 3 nights of the Seven nightclub closing!! - Lots of people walking past shouting and with car music systems blaring - This all starting at 5:30 - 7am. No police present to stop this shows a disregard for the true holidaymaker - As the nightclub is in the grounds of Tivoli (one of the most expensive hotels in Vilamoura) it would be horrendous staying there and does smack of money before all else

Having said that the hotel Ampalius is fine although pool area small but when we stayed there was always beds to be had. Breakfast typical for the area but a good selection of fruit and it suited us. We stayed in a Junior suite and I read that some of these had a samll kitchen area which we did not have - it does seem that not all rooms of the same type are the same. Indeed the non sea view rooms have no balcony - a throw back that shows the hotels age.

All in all good hotel but to return I would ensure the opening dates of the clubs and be particular about room selction

Room Tip: Higher floor - Junior Suite good size so at the right price good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfcsccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

For the past 3 nights I have been woken early by noisy revellers. Sunday morning was horrendous. It started around 6am & continued through to 7.30. Our balcony door was closed, yet it made no difference. I genuinely thought there was a street party taking place! I suspect that main thrust of the disturbance is the crowd leaving the nightclub 7vilamoura. It opens seasonally (18th July onwards) & this is when problems started. The club closes at 6am & until then there wasn't much real noise. The Pura Beach nightclub is across the road, but this closes at 2. It may present a problem as the music can be heard, but it would depend very much on your domestic circumstances & when you get to bed!
Generally speaking this a nice hotel & good location, but would not recommend you stay here unless you are an insomniacs or night owl! There are too many others to choose from & without these issues.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanycM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

First class location. 2 minute walk to beautiful beach. 3 minute walk to bustling Marina. Fabulous view of beach, sea and Marina from our suite.
We had a junior suite for 2 adults and 2 children. There was plenty of space and a large balcony area too. We had a small kitchen with a fridge, cooker, kettle etc. which enabled us to make our own lunch and snacks. The room was cleaned daily and whole hotel was spotless. Breakfast extensive choice and good quality.
Vilamoura was great and we enjoyed all the restaurants and the 'Aquashow' waterpark which is a 10 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianembrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our service excelent.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Ampalius or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked this through Easy jet,only booked 2weeks before we went.Read a few reviews first and thought we'd give it a go despite a few negative comments.I am not the type of person to criticise everything and I look at the overall value taking all things into consideration.The location is perfect just 2 mins walk from the Marina.Our room was a good size,very clean,maid service was good.Breakfast was very good,plenty of variety,attentive staff.Entertainment was not really that good but quite honestly we went out to the marina every night and there's plenty going on down there so the hotel entertainment was not a great issue for us.We had a room at the back of the hotel and this was fairly quiet,I believe that the rooms on the front of the hotel could be affected by the noise from the Purobeach club opposite,I am not sure how much this would affect things but some comments would suggest that it can get pretty bad at busy times.
I found the pool area clean,plenty of sun beds although some had seen better days but a bed could be found any time of day.i didn't find the spa until the day before I went home but this looked pretty good although I didn't use the facility..
I found the hotel to be excellent value and the staff excellent too,if I wanted to find fault I could have but taking all things into consideration it was very good value and I would certainly return for another visit,slightly off season when prices are a bit lower than peak weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location, right on the beach and short walk to marina. Large comfortable hotel, free wifi in the reception area with ample comfy seating for caching up on those e-mails etc.
Rooms are large enough with good functioning air con and TV, fridge could have been cooler, but that is true of every hotel fridge I have used. Beds comfy, slept well every night.
Wide balcony, overlooked the casino gardens to the left, the pool area and beach. (7th floor)
Laminate rather than carpet floor. very clean, regular towel changes.
Worth mentioning that the "hairdryer" is a pipe that blows warm air. Take your own if you want to actually do any styling.
Although sunshine all day long, found myself using the very good spa, Steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, pool and massaging overhead jets. Very good indeed. As Vilamoura is a golf orientated resort, that leaves plenty of loungers and space for the sun worshipers, never had a problem finding a bed.
Location is good for those that like a beach, out the back security gate and you are on the beach. Nice.
Have to say Playa Falasia on the other side of the marina is nicer, but is a 2k walk round the marina.
If you want to mix with the locals Quataria(?) is just a short walk to the east. fascinating to see a fresh fish market in full swing.
For the summer months Puro Beach is up and running in the evening. This operates in the grounds of the Tivoli Marina Hotel. May or may not be an issue if you are on the west side of the Ampalius Hotel.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from round the marina. We mixed it up both eating in and out. The hotel puts on a weekly BBQ (Friday) Very good but mother nature decided to turn up the wind that particular night, but still enjoyable. Given the price of the restaurants the hotel food represented good value. Plenty of choice and good quality.
Not all the waiters spoke very good English, but then I do not speak Portugese, French, German. Italian, Spanish or anything else, so who am I to complain.
The noddy train (as we call it) parks up right out side the hotel this can be used to get to Praia Falasia. 3.5euro for the round trip. This allow sfor getting off once and back on at the same place. For 5 euro you can use it all day getting on and off as you like.

To round off would I use this hotel again? Yes, happily.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. Any where on the curved part would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed for a few days in Vila Gale Ampalius in Vilamoura. Overall we were very happy with our time there.
- definitely take a room on a higher floor with a sea view, its well worth it. We were on the 9th floor and had a brilliant sea view. You hear sounds from the street, yes, but we weren't bothered except for one or two occasions when a loud bike/car drove by. The room had everything you need, but furniture felt a bit outdated. It was cleaned nicely every day.
- the hotel has a great location 1-2 min walk from the beach, a few minutes walk to the Marina.
- hotel has a nice pool, which we never used (why would you if the beach is 1 min walk), Sauna, massage, gym (the gym was rather small, don't expect much there)
- breakfast was very nice, lots of tasty things, big variety
- stuff was friendly, with a small exception. I also felt that the crew didn't inform you as properly as they should. I asked them what kind of activities you could undertake in the area and they didn't really say anything. We saw a huge aquapark on the way back to the airport and this is something, which the hotel should tell you about.

Room Tip: definitely take a room on a higher floor with a sea view, its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buccanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing