We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Visited with a group of golfers, and for us the hotel was fine. Good access to the beach - 2 minutes walk, and good access to the town/marina - 5-10 minutes walk. Rooms OK, with large balcony overlooking the marina/sea. Breakfast was pretty good, and plentiful. Coffee absolutely awful.
Lifts were slow and often broken down. Swimming pool area very tired, but fine for us golfers.
However, not a hotel I would take my wife or girlfriend to. Needs some updating. Good spa area, and had a very good massage, reasonably priced. Wifi only available in the lobby, and this was tricky to access.
One thing I must compliment the hotel on, is that when I emailed them to say I'd left a phone charging cable in the room, they posted it to me in the UK. Honest and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grit0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here with friends on a short golf break. On the plus side we were able to check in early and the staff were friendly. The location was good right next to the marina and the view from the balcony excellent. An excellent buffet style breakfast was included in the price.The golf transfers worked well and we had a great holiday. On the downside we felt the room looked a little tired, the bath was small and the internet cost money to use in the rooms, was of poor quality, frequently losing the connection and virtually impossible to use. We enjoyed our stay enormously but feel if a hotel is to keep its 4 star rating it really should have decent internet which is included in the price such as we have experienced in other European hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Ampalius.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good, clean, good large rooms, great value. Excellent for Golf groups as they cater for them, pool area nice, and just the perfect location for the Marina, beaches, bars, restaurant.

Bar a bit small, but really its best to get into the Marina for the bars,

Breakfast OK too, shuttle service to golf can be a bit hit and miss, but the drivers are great fun.

Not top draw 5 star stuff, but good

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxtrotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review as we were most pleased to find you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Gale Ampalius hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Vila Gale Ampalius in June 2013 for a short 4 day break. Th taxi driver from Faro knew the hotel and the trip cost 30 euros. Not bad.
On arrival the reception staff were friendly and we were in our room quickly. There aren't a lot of lifts for such a large hotel but we got used to that. We were honestly disappointed with our room. Relatively large but with a small window (we couldn't upgrade to a balcony room as the hotel was full) and a little tired although it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Definitely go for a balcony room though if you can - we could see into these as we passed on the corridor and they looked great.

Breakfast was included in the price but the queue was too long - we didn't bother. Pool area was great with comfortable beds but lots of children - this is very much a family hotel.

The location is superb only a short walk to the main Marina area with great shops, bars and restaurants. The beach was also very easily accessible and the funky but expensive Purobeach is almost opposite the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Book (or ask for) a Balcony Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Ampalius.
We would like to inform we have 6 lifts and 6 type of rooms, with and without sea view and familiy rooms.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just left this hotel on 3rd of November with my partner.

Location is very good, very near the beach and only a 5 minute walk to the Marina with all its restuarants and bars.

Breakfast at the VGA very good with lots of choice, buffet style. It filled us up substantially until our evening meal out at a different restaraunt each night.

The restuarants at Vilamoura all look the part, very plush, clean and inviting. Average cost, including a bottle of wine between 35 and 45 Euros total for the two of us.

The hotel has free sauna, gym, turkish bath, indoor and outdoor pools and pool towels on request.

The room was clean, well decorated, ample size and was 'inviting'. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area and restaurant.

The only complaint we had which didn't really detract from our break at all, was that the towels in the rooms are threadbare. They look good but do not dry well and the hotel should address this and replace them ASAP. Others have mentioned this shortfall too in recent reviews.

Apart from that we would recommend this hotel, staff, location and food to anyone considering it. We would stay again definately.

One small tip - for a very good restuarant, where the locals and tourists also eat and is fantastic value in price and portion size and taste is the 'Snack Bar Universal' situated on 'Odilia Coelho Martins salvador' - less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

DIRECTIONS:
...when you leave the hotel and turn right (away from the beach) there is a bus stand 100 metres away which you will see easily. Walk past the bus stop and cross to the other side of the road. Carry on a few hundred metres past a couple af small bars on a raised level. A little further on on the same side, 10 metres down the next side street you will see this 'snack bar'. It is not actually a snack bar and the name is obviously misleading but the food is great as is the prices. We wish we'd discovered this place before our last night. My steak was twice the size of any other in Vilamoura and the trimming equally generous.

Hope this review helps you out.

Room Tip: One small tip - for a very good restuarant, where the locals and tourists also eat and is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
We really appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Vila Gale Ampalius in mid October for a week. It's a really nice hotel in a great location. Right beside the beach, 5 minutes walk to the marina, close to restaurants, pubs & shops...oh and the Casino Vilamoura is right behind it...Had a couple of good nights there too!
The hotels public areas are all lovely, the reception, bars, restaurant & spa. There is also a hairdressers there.
We had dinner only one night in the hotel restaurant and it was lovely. No complaints.
The real gem for this hotel though is the staff. All of them were professional, but also friendly and enjoyed a chat & a joke too. Hope the hotel management appreciate the people working for them!!
The bedroom was lovely...great views of both the marina and the ocean from our room (824) and we only had to ask for a kettle and we had one straight away. The kitchen area is tiny, but who wants to cook on holidays anyway??!! There was a fridge, sink and a two-ring cooker.
We would definitely come back to this hotel again!!

Room Tip: We were in room 824...lovely view of both the marina and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormaOBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.
Thank you also for your wonderful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 4 nights in a junior suite on the top floor which really had the most excellent views from a very good sized balcony and also was a sun trap during the afternoon. On our second night of our stay the Purobeach located across the street hosted a table opera evening. Having listened to the rehearsals during the afternoon we actually caught the end of the show from the balcony after returning from dinner. It sounded superb and we would have loved to have known in advance and been able to attend and purchase tickets.

The room itself was spacious with a lounge area with a 3 seat sofa, an enclosed kitchenette with fridge and cooker and a full array of pots and pans. I'm not sure if anybody would want to use these facilities as you are completely spoilt for choice with the vast array of restaurants around the marina. Adjacent to the kitchenette was a dining area and there was also good sized wardrobes containing a room safe which was available for €2.50 per night whereby you purchase the lock from reception. Not too may hangers though. The bathroom had a shower over the bath which was powerful and also a bidet and our towels were fine and fluffy. No towelling robes but for a 4 star hotel we weren't expecting them. We would have liked a kettle in the kitchenette and maybe an ice cube tray but wondered if this wasn't provided in case the temptation to use tap water resulted in gippy tums. One small gripe was that the rubbish from this area wasn't emptied daily and in our case was only paper waste and bottles but would have been a concern if there had been fruit peelings or so forth.

We were surprised to find a baby cot at the side of the bed especially since this was a trip to celebrate a 65th Birthday and it did obstruct the means of getting into bed on the far side. We would have thought these sort of things are only placed in rooms upon request and otherwise kept in a storage room. However no great problem as we tipped it up on end and deposited it in the dining area since we didn't intend to use this part of the room as were eating out for the duration of the trip.

The chap on reception was courteous and efficient and all staff we encountered were polite and friendly and both check in and out was virtually instantaneous with no queuing. There are two banks of lifts with one facing on the outside of the building with a glass side which we found by far the better.

The breakfast had something for everyone and appeared to be regularly replenished. Ok it didn't have anybody cooking fresh omelettes but what was available was very nice and we thought a good choice was available. There was a little confusion locating the ordinary black coffee but after that we actually thought the breakfast service was good as you could sit where you wanted and eat what you wanted when you wanted and didn't have to queue or wait. Finished plates appeared to be cleared promptly and it seemed a very efficient way of providing breakfast especially when some people are on their way either to the airport or to play golf.

We had a few drinks in the bar over our stay and service was friendly and efficient at night and there was also entertainment in the form of a magician one night we stopped for a drink. We didn't eat in the hotel as were overwhelmed with the vast array of restaurants within a few minutes walk. However if the weather had been inclement we wouldn't have hesitated to have used the restaurant.

The outside pool area was quite pleasant but the day we sat around the pool we were pestered by wasps and retreated to the upper area of what is like a castle turrets and they weren't a problem there.

We looked around the indoor pool area which seemed quite nice and were going to have a swim and use the jacuzzi but on the day we went down this wasn't in use. This was a shame since we have a hot tub at home and like to use one every few days to keep back pain at bay.

We loved the area and found it ideal for walking and it is easy to explore to the end of Quarteira in one direction and towards Albufeira and the beaches in the other. The beach bar Maresia had a good ambience with nice music and good drinks which is located towards Quarteira. However be careful outside the hotel on this road as even though it may intitially appear to be a walkway it isn't and is used by cars - beware! All around the marina are plenty of opportunities for drinks, coffee, iceceam and watching the world go by. The vast majority of guests in the hotel appeared to be on golfing holidays but this certainly shouldn't be viewed as a prerequisite to enjoying the area. We would certainly recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We didn't see the size of the standard rooms but the junior suites were of a good size and we ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachseeker52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius or in any other Vila Galé Hotel,

Best Regards,

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £50 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing