We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hotel is brilliant. Only issue is it is too expensive to book again. Room was very spacious. After 3 days I noticed it had a small kitchen. Anyway I didnt use it anyway. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the marina. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.

Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    700
    257
    61
    28
See reviews for
462
670
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was there on a golfing holiday over New Year. It is a very large standard hotel. We had a bedroom with balcony and sea views which was nice. The bedroom was fairly spacious which I like. It had a little kitchen with fridge sink and electric ring. This was good for making snacks and hot drinks. I would say it is fairly standard hotel. There was a large buffet breakfast and a buffet evening meal, but you could order a La Carte. They were okay but nothing special. There were lots of facilities and shops attached but in mid winter they were not really functioning. The spa and indoor swimming pool appeared rather dark but again this may just have been it was winter. It is very convenient for the marina, the beach and the casino

Room Tip: SEa views and kitchen were goood
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 542Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.

Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

€7.50 for pool table for 1 hour
€2.50 per day for safe (didn't actually tell us this until we checked out)
Tried to get us (6 in our party) to pay €3 each for live music which had been organised by a large group staying in the hotel!
Didn't even bother to find out how much they would charge for tennis or table tennis.
Really not what we'd expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
We are very disapointed for not being able to provide you the service that you were expecting.

Best Regards,

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Really nice hotel situated right on the beach and only 5 minutes walk to the marina with all its bars and resturants. Food and service in the hotel is spot on, the rooms big and well maintained so can't ask for much more!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Ampalius.
Thank you for your wonerdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in mid-November. We had some decent weather and the views from our balcony were uplifting after the drab British climate. Our trip was exceptional value for money, a Travelzoo special, and our room, overlooking the beach, was spacious and well-furnished. Beds were firm, but comfortable. TV too small. Bathroom only average with a very narrow bath.

All the public areas were spacious and nicely furnished. Breakfast offered a wide variety and, although the hot food tended to be dried up, there was plenty of fresh fruit. Coffee was fine, although previous reviews hinted that it was undrinkable. Dinner was mediocre on the first night, but better thereafter and service was attentive.

The spa was pretty good, with a decent pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Gym was small. The problem was the changing rooms, far too small (why, when there was so much space elsewhere?), and the towel arrangement needs rethinking. And it didn't open till 9 am, so no pre-breakfast swim.

Staff at reception were helpful and the hotel was clearly well-maintained. It's well-sited, near beach, marina, shops and bus stop. This hotel offers good value for money. Not top-class, but comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexGeoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Ampalius.

Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 4 days in the hotel and on the whole everything was good. The first impressions were excellent The entrance spacious and reception staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was large, well furnished with a very big balcony over looking the sea. The bathroom was adequate, but not that well finished and a '4 in the bed' inspection revealed a not very clean bath. The bed was extremely hard, which suited my husband, but I found it difficult to get comfortable.
We were on half board and the first night's dinner was something of a revelation of extraordinarily weird food. I was dreading eating there again. Breakfast proved a lot better and the following evening meals were an improvement.
The swimmming pool,sauna and steam room are good, but the changing rooms are ridiculously small. The space between the lockers and the wall are tiny and with more than a few people in there at once its like playing sardines. Bath robes would be a good idea so that you would not have to use the changing rooms. I really don't understand why in such a big hotel with so many large empty spaces these changing rooms are so small.
The position of the hotel is excellent, near the beach marina and the bus stop. The outside areas clean , attractive and well kept.
I read somone elses comments about the lifts. The hotel was quiet when we were there it being late in the season. We found the lifts excellent especially the glass sided ones. Quick and with lovely views.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the curve of the building and you get a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
We are very disapointed for not being able to provide you the service that you were expecting.
We would appreciate if you give us the opportunity to return to our hotel and to show you that this was not our standard service.

Best Regards,

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited this hotel a few months ago and were thrilled with it's excellent location, as it's beside beach and close to Marina. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with location of our room when we arrived but this was sorted immediately and we were allocated a new room. Pool area was spotless with plenty of sunbeds to choose from. We had a large room with large balcony and lovely sea view. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Energy123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampalius, Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Ampalius.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

KInd regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing