We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor with amazing views of the Marina and the sea. We had a junior suite which was spacious and very comfortable (children 7 and 10). We all loved the buffet breakfast and evening meals - plenty of choice for all. The indoor pool was a hit for us all, but the outdoor pool was very cold and only the very brave ventured into it! The staff could not have been more helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment was a bonus we had not expected, and the entertainment reps were very friendly and welcoming. We did not want a hotel with Kid's clubs etc so it suited us very well. We would definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    634
    234
    52
    26
See reviews for
402
593
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good clean hotel. Half board option was very good. Restaurant can get a little busy at times but never a problem getting a table or food. Staff very helpful. Quite a mixture of people staying here although mainly golfers.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 4 with a pool and ocean view. Very large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueakyMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent the last week of May 2014 (half term) in this hotel with my wife and we have no negative comments.

Location - perfect. Just cross the road to the sandy beach, or a 5 minute walk to the lovely marina. Our room overlooked the beach and swimming pool from the 6th floor, great view. There is also a casino a 5 minute walk away which we went into for some fun (not big gamblers). They had poker tournaments and everything you could want plus very cheap drinks (pint of lager and glass of wine €4.50 for the two). It took 25 minutes to transfer to the hotel from Faro airport.

Room - we had a double room which had everything we needed. Comfy bed and no noise issues as other reviews have stated. Good shower, and large private balcony. The rooms were cleaned every day to a very high standard. There is a safety deposit box in the room and air conditioning (which we didn't need to use).

We stayed B&B and this meant we had a kitchen area, although didn't know until day 2! I opened what I thought was a second wardrobe door to find a very small kitchen. We didn't use it (apart from the fridge to keep drinks cold), but it was big enough for two people staying in the room. There was a hob, fridge and plenty of utensils, no microwave or toaster, and a kettle could be obtained from reception.

No iron in the room, but there was a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels changed daily.

Breakfast was decent enough, plenty of choice between cooked food, continental and fruits etc. It did get busy but never had to queue, just meant playing dodgems around other guests when moving around! It was much quieter if you go down earlier (open from about 6.30 to 10.30).

Bar area was pleasant, friendly staff, €4 for a pint, wine cheaper and open until 1am. Pool table there and had some entertainment although we didn't really think much of it.

Pool area is great, sun all day and a bar and clean toilets. Due to many people off playing golf there are never issues getting a sunbed. Pool a bit cold at this time of year, but fine once you get in. Food is reasonably priced at the pool bar but drinks were expensive (large bottle of water €3.50 so we took our own).

Towels are available if you get a card from reception (free) and can be used at the pool or beach. These are changed daily and there was no need for us to take our own towels. There is a spa area which we didn't use apart from having a dip in the indoor pool. Well worth it, lovely pool and can view the outside swimming pool, Jacuzzi etc there too.

I try to write my reviews thinking about the questions I want answered but will happily answer any others if you have them.

I would go back to this hotel for a relaxing break simply as the pool area was great, staff friendly (not slow service as I've read in other comments) and close to the marina. Considering it was UK half term, there weren't many children there, many other French and Spanish guests, overall very pleasant.

In the marina - 19th hole pub was good for an afternoon pint €3.50 or €5 for brands (Strongbow/Guinness), very good staff. Atlantic bar had excellent live singer, and the Bocca della Verita Italian restaurant was fantastic (just off the marina, behind atlantic bar).

Room Tip: Save on your luggage limit, don't pack towels, free ones available for the pool and beach every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the Vila Gale Ampalius. We were on the ninth floor in room 922. Great views of the beach and marina and late afternoon sunshine. The beds were comfortable and we both slept soundly every night. After reading reviews before I left I was looking forward to the breakfasts, and I have to say I was somewhat disappointed. The cooked foods were cold and generally tasteless. We tried going at various times but it wasn't any better. We ended up going out for breakfast on our last two days. The dining room was a bit disorganised and some staff didn't appear to know what they were doing. We had dinner in the hotel one night and this was an altogether different affair. We had a lovely buffet meal served hot and with lots of choices. Staff at night seemed more clued up on giving good service. Overall we had a good stay here but not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Plenty of golfers
around,but we had a four year old a,pity there wasn't more kids about for kids club ??.food was grand,could do with better variety, hotel and staff were very nice,def stay again in future,liz

Room Tip: 711 ,suite,fabulous,would sleep6 perfectk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cork_irelandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

Allow us to mention that we have special packages for families, if you need any information about it, please contact us.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fabulous hotel, well maintained, great facilities, food good and just a couple of minutes from the Marina. Nice and quiet with helpful friendly staff. Great base for golfers as you get picked up and dropped off by the shuttle service

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeTee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

Allow us to mention that we have special packages for Golfers, if you need any information about it, please contact us.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Travelled to Vilamoura for a week long family vacation, booked a private transfer in advance using yellowfish.com, (€50 return) great service. We were picked up in arrivals & a short 25 minutes later had checked into our hotel.

We were in a junior suite on the 7th floor, room 731, nice modern bathroom, generous wardrobe, dining table, small separate kitchenette and spacious bedroom area with a couch bed for our son. The balcony was large with a full view of the pool, beach and side view of the marina.

Pool & sunbathing area is lovely with plenty of sunloungers. Beach is just metres away & marina no more than a few minutes walk.

Breakfast was typical from our experience, decent selection of breads, cereals & hot food.

Overall loved this hotel, we had a fabulous stay & would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 731 has amazing views of beach & marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#11 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing