We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out hotel, great location”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Have just spent 5 nights in Vila gale ampalius with husband and friends. We have stayed here a few times before and have never been disappointed. We usually book a junior suite although superior rooms are quite sufficient. However would highly recommend seaview. Staff in general are excellent under the silent supervision of a gentle pleasant manager!!! Breakfast very good. Will definitely return. One small "downside" noise from nearby beach club if you are on low floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just spent a week here with my OH and his elderly father. Lovely hotel (although perhaps not the most attractive building from outside) which is spotlessly clean. The staff are efficient and friendly, but never intrusive. We had rooms at the back of the hotel (without balconies or sea views), but they were well equipped, clean and comfortable. Efficient plumbing, with plentiful hot water. (One of my bugbears is loos that don't flush properly and showers that go cold half way through!) We all enjoyed the buffet breakfasts - there was so much choice. We alternated between the hotel pool and the beach. Easy to get a sun bed round the pool as I think a lot of people are out playing golf. The outdoor pool was too cold for me though, so we would finish off the day with a swim in the indoor pool and relax in the jacuzzi. We enjoyed the hotel's putting green as well. There are also tennis courts, so something for everyone.
The marina is a short walk and has loads of restaurants and bars. A lot of the restaurants in the marina sell the usual holiday fare and I found the food indifferent and expensive. However, the Japanese restaurant was very good, and there is an excellent Thai opposite MC Donalds up on the main road. Prices are more competitive away from the marina.
All in all, a relaxing week in the sun without any problems.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from vilamoura having spent yet another week in this hotel. We have stayed there a number of times and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff including new ones so pleasant and so nice when a manager recognises you. The restaurant has had a facelift with new hot food section and a varied entertainment programme this year both very welcome. Add to this a week of unbroken sunshine and very warm temps lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojo4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the new show cooking at the Restaurant.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the best hotel we have stay in , we had a junior suite it was like a 1 bedroomed flat the staff where great special mention for Nuno on reception who helped us when we had a problem not to do with hotel .He even used his own phone

Room Tip: Get a junior suite we were on the 6th floor Best eating out Parkys at the end of marina great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were given a 'partial sea view' room. The view was stunning! This is a lovely resort - the marina and beach are beautiful. Peri-peri chicken and gorgeous seafood in abundance. They play some great music by the pool in the day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the music near the swimming pool

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough, lovely hotel and we got an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival which was very nice. Room was so spacious with a living area, kitchen, 2x balconys and 2 bedrooms with bathrooms plus a shower room. The room was very clean and the maids came in every day to clean the room.
The only negative was the hair dryer - it looks like a hoover!! its a tube on the wall and if you have thick wavy hair like me then this made drying it hard work..

There is lots of choice for breakfast and you can also have sparkling wine to help you with your hangover!!!

Some of our group stayed round the pool while the others went to the beach which is just in front of the hotel so very easy to go between both. The hotel has lots of golfers who stay there so the pool wasn't very busy during the day which meant everyone just spread out. We had lunch at the pool bar a few days which was nice, menu is a little limited but very reasonable.
The marina is only a couple of minutes walk so there is plenty of options for lunch

On Friday nights they had free wine tasting in the lobby which was nice. We would have a few drinks in the hotel bar where most people met before heading out so was a good fun atmosphere.
There are plenty of nice restaurants around the marina and there are a few nice bars which stay open late until about 3 am - 19th hole, atlantic bar and the cabin. There is also a casino next to the hotel which is open late.

The only time we used the spa was on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening so before we left we went down there to use the showers and used the facilities.

Really recommend this hotel for your holiday in Portugal, great atmophere, fantastic location and a lovely hotel - I will stay here again

Room Tip: if you like to blow dry your hair, take a hair dryer with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLWx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stay there for two nights that was enough , situated beside the beach , the pool area and music very good ! , however , the bar lacked efficiency , rooms very basic and the music was very load , age group over 50+ !! , rooms very basic and small on the first floor !

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £64 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing