We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice room, with champagne and fruit with chocolate at our arrival. Very good breakfast by the pool. We parked the car for all weekend in a near free park, and walked to Marina and the surroundings. See the show at the Casino!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday at hotel Vila Gale Ampalius. It is a fabulous hotel in a great location. 2 mins walk from the beach and 5 mins walk from the marina. Bus stop to zoo marine at hotel. Staff v helpful. Breakfast was amazing, great selection of anything you could want. We went to two of the organised nights with buffet dinner and entertainment. Great selection and v attentive staff. Entertainment was v good. They even had a parrot show for the kids. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff were lovely. Pool gorgeous. Even had Zumba lessons in the pool. :-) We can't wait to go back. We would highly recommend it. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely location with all local amenities. Hotel staff very helpful. Great views make sure you get high floor and beach view. We didn't have to book as upon arrival we asked if we could have this and the very nice guy on the front desk organised this. Really fab breakfast. Loads of sun beds available very close to the beach which was very handy. Evening entertainment limited but not bad. Really good entertainment around the pool during the day including massages quizzes and yoga. Would go back and recommend for all.

Room Tip: Check out the fab sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzinbee2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff at reception at this hotel are definately 4 star plus, they are calm and helpful and knowledgable.The staff in the breakfast room are 3 star, no eye contact or good morning, just rushing around a little under pressure. The ambience layout furnishings etc are 4 star, just about. We arrived at 12.00 noon and decided to relax on the balcony for a few hours. This was not possible due to a man at the swimming pool below calling out bingo numbers on a loud speaker. The hotel is built in a U shape so noise (children's playful screams) from the swimming pool echoes up the floors. Staff at the swimming pool play loud disco beat music all day. This is a noisy hotel!. No English/Irish standard tea, just little bags with strings with some obscure brand name and hot water from a vending machine, the tea did not taste good. They probably cost more than standard tea bags so someone in management needs to understand better the requirments of UK/Irish customers. Tea in a teapot is a not too onerous task for a 4 star hotel I would have thought. The price was €980 for a twin room with balcony on the 8th floor for 7 nights. I rate this a 3 star hotel. We will not return.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On arrival we were met with a not very friendly and very rushed check in and breakdown of where our room was.
We were a bit dissapointed to be on the second floor facing the back of the hotel (no sun whatsoever) and no Balcony. We had asked the holiday company for a high floor and sunny room.We were not advised about the room safe so had to go back to reception to pay for acceess and at the same time I remarked on my disappointment but was met only with a shrug of the shoulders. However, that apart, the facilities were excellent.
We were half board and I was surprised at how few peaple were booked for evening meals. (Cost of meal outwith, arround the Marina are expensive).There was always a very good and wide choice of food and the salads and cheese boards are worth a mention. Staff were very attentative and friendly.
The main pool, sunbed area was large with an additional grassed part which also had sunbeds
and surrounded the smaller childrens pool. Although the pool rules stated no reserving of sundeds with towels being removed, This was never seen to be done by any staff.
The indoor pool was infrequently used and my wife and had the pool and Jacuzee to ourselves one afternoon ourselves, which was nice.
There is a Happy One Hour at the bar but it is only a 20% reduction. If you go outwith the hotel you will find happy hours in many bars that are for up to three hours and are two for one.
Room cleaning is up until 5pm each day and unfortunately we must have been at the end of the line (room 246) as when we returned each day at about 4.30 pm, having been out all day, the room was never cleaned which meant we had to to go out again and return after 5pm.
The hotel could not be closer to Marina or the beach, unfortunately there is not a section of the beach attached to the hotel.
The Vila Gale being right on the seafront lends itself to a pleasant stroll to Guarteira which is well worth a visit during the day and in the evening.
Buses to the market near Almancil (Llidel bus stop) on a wednesday is very good and has plenty of bargains and places to have a refreshment and something to snack on. Bus stop is within a hundred yards of the hotel and is most welcome on your return. Same stop for the bus to Faro which again is good for a day visit.
We hope you enjoy Vilamoura as much as we did.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony, stipulate facing the pool/sea view and ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ezeegoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Vila Gale. We have stayed in Vilamoura on several occasions but usually in a villa. This time we decided on a hotel as we wanted to be a bit closer to the marina and all it's lovely restaurants. After reading the previous reviews we decided on the Vila Gale. I was a bit concerned about some of the previous reviews that mentioned the noise levels but thought how bad can it be! Well if you want a peaceful holiday don't go to this hotel the disco across the road from the hotel could be heard even through our closed windows and on one night they had a live artist on who I actually thought was singing on our balcony it was that loud! The noise went on until the early hours of the morning.
It was such a shame as the hotel had lots of positives. It was clean, the sea view junior suites where an excellent size and we even had our own kitchen area. The breakfast had an excellent choice of food. You definitely need to take your own hair dryer as the one in the room is just not fit for purpose. Also take your own kettle as there isn't one in the room.
The pool area again is lovely with plenty of sun beds and pool towels are provided as well.
Unfortunately you have to pay for wifi in the room which to me should be provided in a 4 star hotel and you have to keep logging in as well which was a nuisance.
Overall the hotel is lovely but we wouldn't return as the noise levels spoilt our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a junior sea view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones

About the noise we are solving the problem with the authorities and we expect that will be solved as soon as possible.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions . We find it good value and ideally situated, a stones throw from the beach, and within walking distance from the marina and numerous restaurants. We play golf at the many courses nearby and a big plus is not needing a car as there is a courtesy coach transport to many of the golf courses. Breakfasts are very good with a wide choice.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have large balconies and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgetM767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £66 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing