We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisey”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Paid extra for a sea view which is nice but every morning between 06:00-07:00 am we were woken by drunken louts leaving the night club across the street and on that basis I would not return to this hotel, don't get me wrong I enjoy a good time like most people but after spending all week listening to singing, fighting, shouting it can get a little too much, on the plus side the hotel is nice, breakfast was lovely, pool area is also lovely, a few of the staff are nice but the some of them are very rude (reception) and don't want to to know you unless you are from Portugal, rooms are cleaned daily and to a good standard, so in summary good location, nice hotel but the noice levels in the early hours would put me off going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PCF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently stayed here in a junior suite. Great hotel in terms of location so close to resort centre.

Breakfast was great couldn't get enough of the freshly made pancakes with various toppings.

Clean rooms, cleaners are great just spotless.

Pool area was nice and always got a bed. Only inequality day was bad when a gang of loud mouth hens descended for weekend.

One gripe one of the spa staff was rude when I enquired about using inform pool and treatments.

Finally the nightclub across the road is noisy so sleeping with patio door ajar isn't possible.

Room Tip: Avoid room overlooking nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

3rd time here at this hotel. Great staff and excellent breakfast.Close to beach and also the marina where most of the nightlife is, Also enjoyed the buffets in the evening. Will defiantly be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Drummer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Vila gale is a clean modern hotel. The location is perfect, close to shops, pubs, restaurants and next to vilamouras large casino. The food is plentiful and tasty, dining area large. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool area is large and clean, with no rush for sun beds in the mornings. Indoor pool is good but gym is small. Rooms to the front of the hotel can be noisy due to nightclub from different hotel. Bar area large and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trish130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our 2nd visit to this hotel. Love everything about it,from location across from beach and close to Marina and lots of restaurants and bars.nice pool area. Lovely breakfast variety. Recommend that you stay in sea view room as the views are spectacular. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggieKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean modern hotel right on the beach with a short walk to the marina. As previously said not quite a 4 star but it met our needs no problem.
We were B&B but ate out a couple of mornings as we felt it was a bit chaotic at the breakfast buffet although the food was ok.
Alternated our lazy days between the pool and beach, nice pool area with plenty of space and loungers (still the same old selfish people though that felt they had to reserve loungers with towels-no need!!)
Pool bar prices a bit steep but then we felt Vilamoura in general was a more expensive holiday, maybe too keep the single sex groups away?
Nice spa downstairs too with a pool, jacuzzi & sauna which was free to use which was a nice touch.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location a few minutes walk from the marina. I booked a superior room with a sea view but l was extremely disappointed by how tired and shabby the bathroom and kitchenette were especially after reading very positive reviews. The shower is above an old bath and it was one of the worst l have experienced in a long time as water leaked from a hole in the showerhead. The hair dryer is not fit for purpose. The bathroom and kitchen need to be refurbished to bring this hotel up to a four star standard. I would also expect free wi fi and a free saftey deposit box. Our room was on the 7th floor and the sea view was lovely but the balcony never got the sun apart from one hour in the morning. We asked to be moved but the staff did not want to assist. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice. The pool area is lovely but the bar area was dull and there was never more than a few people in it. The hotel is mainly used by large groups of golfers for short stays. The marina area is lovely and the indian restaurant is well worth a visit. Overall we enjoyed the stay but we would not rush back unless the hotel has a makeover.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor have best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank deborah7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £62 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing