We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of Prado do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prado do Golf
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I booked this holiday last minute for my partners 30th Birthday, but because it only cost me £100.52 for the both of us for a week, i was abit worried about the accommodation. When we arrived it was quiet due to the time of year, but the 1 bedroom villa was ideal. It had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. The marina is not really in walking distance, so we hired a car for the week and saw the rest of the algarve. There is a shop close by just a 5-10 min walk. We are definetely going back. Had a great time we didn't want to come home. If your looking for a cheap holiday stay at this complex.

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Not many currency exchanges around nearest one is in the marina.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    16
    5
    14
See reviews for
36
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

Got probably the cheapest deal ever online for a 6 day trip to Portugal, and booked the Prado Do Golf on a mixture of price and comments on Tripadvisor. So glad I did!
Arrived late evening after a flight from Gatwick, hotel is quite difficult initially to find, although getting out of the airport onto the main Vilamoura Road is the biggest challenge, so print plenty of maps off before you set off. On arrival, keys were left under the mat as we appeared to be the only people in the resort, a welcome letter was sellotaped to the window of the reception area! Novel, but great!!
Had a spacious 2 bed "villa" in the complex, Number 32. Lovely double bedrooms, great sized bathroom with both bath and shower, and huge living area with open fireplace, tv with plenty of channels, and well fitted kitchen. Ok, so the furniture was a little bit dated, but it was fine for a 6 day stay, and the place was spotless.... In the morning, discovered we had a private little patio area with table and chairs and Dora the friendly on site stray dog to feed!!
The few little niggles we had that (a) the hot water ran out during showers, albeit very long showers, so go easy. You can get two decent showers before it runs cold, then have to wait on the tank reheating, and (b) when we ran all the electric heaters in the evening (as it was very cold outside), the electric fuse wire melted in the electric cupboard, and looked very dodgy! We reported to the the reception, and glad to say it was sorted and repaired quickly and efficiently, we just were more careful about what we switched on at the same time in future.
There is a decent size pool outside, shared by the rest of the units, although we had this entirely to ourselves being off season and literally the only guests in the place. That aspect was brilliant, though the water was way too cold to go into, but it was sunny and warm enough to lie out beside. There was one on site bar/snack bar, but this closed while we there there, the owner/chef explaining he couldn't keep it open with no customers which seemed fair enough.
All in all, a very pleasant positive experience and I'd definately recommend it to all, for a quiet relaxing break. You will need a car, no doubt about that, as there is nothing close enough to stroll to, and the marina is a good 3km away. You'll find eating out at the Marina is very expensive and the quality of the food is not great. Avoid the Indian restaurants, the curries reminded me more of Irish Stew, not remotely spicy, and that was a Vindaloo! The best meal we had was at the Thai Restaurant, you can't miss it, it's opposite the McDonalds..... It wasn't cheap, expect to pay between 80-90 Euros for a meal for two with wine, but the food was great, the best meal we had there.

  • Liked — Size of rooms
  • Disliked — Heating in winter
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomthetank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Just returned from a week at this complex.
Had an apartment which was very big & comfortable, but was also a bit 'tired' and in need of some TLC. Kitchen cupboard doors were well used, the balcony furniture needed a good clean, the living-room furniture was well-used, and the whole place was in need of a lick of paint.
Also had a bit of an ant problem so would not recommend leaving any food out. Receptionist offered us another room, and eventually a can of Raid bug-killer.
Pool area was very clean, and not too busy during the day. Pool bar/bistro was quite expensive for what you got but, due to the remoteness of the complex & general area, they did have a fairly 'captive' audience.
Aside from other hotel/apartment complexes with their various bars & restaurants there is nothing around that area aside from the supermarket. This, also, is quite expensive compared to similar shops in Vilamoura itself.
Taxi's are recommended if you want to go to the marina at Vilamoura, and these range from 3 to 5 Euro's each way. Tried walking it once but not recommended due to the heat & distance (not helped by the fact we got lost).
Cannot say enough about the staff on the reception. Very helpful booking trips & taxi's, friendly and could not do enough for us.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Remoteness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacman1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Stayed here between 3-13 September 2007 and enjoyed my stay very much. We had a 1 bed villa, which was very clean and had everything you needed for your stay.
Area is quite quiet so you should always be able to get plenty of sleep if you need it, and the Marina is not too far away. A taxi there is 5 euros, but it is just about within walking distance (~45 minute)
Pool is good, well maintained and plenty of space around it for sunbathing.
Mini supermarket is only 5 minutes away, which bakes fresh bread all day long.
Would definitely stay there again.

(one piece of advice - if you are planning on visiting any Waterparks, book them with a tour operator at the Marina instead of booking a transfer from the hotel - the park bus services all stop directly outside the hotel and you will save yourself a lot of money)

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tarnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Stayed for one week at these wonderful appartments in July this year. Booked Prado Do Golfe and ended up in Hotel Do Golfe. Studio appartment was comfortable, Roomy, & cleaned every day. Staff were attentive food was good. Only slight trouble having to wait quite a while for a taxi to the marina on an evening.
Would definitely go back

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank jasonWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

Having booked a great value package on Expedia, I was a little dubious about the quality of the accommodation, but I am pleased to say that Prado Do Golf was superb

We had a two bed room villa (having booked a 1 bed apartment), which was spacious, well equiped with all the basics, and spotlessly cleaned.

The bar was basic, but very friendly staff, cheap drinks and great food which was cheaper than anywhere else we ate...so what more can you ask?!

Pool was also well maintained and clean.

I would not hesistate to recommend Prado Do Golf to friends and family, and I would certainally return there if visiting the algarve again.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank R.Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2006

Stayed here April 2006. Apartment was badly in need of being modernised and had a musty smell - particularly in the bedroom. It was reasonably clean though not spotless. The kitchen had the absolute basics and to be honest I wasn't too comfortable cooking in it, but we ate out every night anyway. The beds were awful - really hard.

This place is located at the Old Course, about 40 minutes walk from the marina. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool area has bar complete with pool table, "Pepsi" tables and chairs (tacky) and played music all day, although it wasn't too loud.

If you are on a very tight budget then this place might be OK, but it is not quite at the standard I have previously experienced in Vilamoura. There are lots of places to stay in Vilamoura - you can afford to be fussy.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.8 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rio Apartments
Rio Apartments
#22 of 36 in Vilamoura
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#16 of 36 in Vilamoura
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scalabis Apartments
Scalabis Apartments
#31 of 36 in Vilamoura
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prado Villas
Prado Villas
#21 of 36 in Vilamoura
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prado do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prado do Golf

Property: Prado do Golf
Address: Avenida do Parque, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-404, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prado do Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prado do Golf offers guests a relaxed and calm base for a self catering holiday, ideally located in a peaceful corner of the stunning resort of Vilamoura, Algarve. Families, sports club groups, couples and independent travellers all agree that the quiet and pleasant surroundings, alongside the value for money ensure Prado do Golf is a popular alternative to booking into a larger hotel. Prado do Golf has 44 units of one and two bedroom apartments and villas (standard and deluxe) with off road parking, that are spread amongst the attractively maintained gardens. The heart of the complex is the large communal pool (not heated) with surrounding terrace and sun beds, besides which the bar and bistro terrace offers alternative areas to enjoy the sunshine and extended balmy evenings. This social and secure area is a sheltered haven for sunbathers and where parents can easily keep an eye on their children as they play and make new friends. Prado do Golf has a local bus stop outside the entrance for convenient transportation around Vilamoura, popular with those who do not wish to hire a car. At Prado do Golf, Vilamoura guests choose between one or two bedroom apartments and villas, the apartments are in blocks of 4 with 2 on the ground floor and 2 on the 1st floor. Those with restricted mobility are advised to inform staff at the time of booking to enquire about availability of the ground floor units for their convenience. The standard apartments and villas offer basic, comfortable, spacious open plan, value for money holiday accommodation, with plenty of space in the living areas for families and well equipped for self catering. Each apartment and villa offers:•1 or 2 Spacious bedrooms with twin beds and fitted wardrobes with drawers•Bathroom with a bath with a shower, bidet, toilet & sink•A well equipped kitchen including oven, hob, fridge/freezer, kettle, crockery and utensils•A generous open plan lounge/dining room with defined areas including dining table and chairs and relaxed seating to enjoy the cable TV•A private sun terrace or balcony outside opens through sliding doors from the lounge, with table and chairs. Additional features include:•A safety deposit box (2 euros per day)•Full length mirrors in the bedrooms•Hair drier•Ironing board and iron•Shutters on the windows•Maid service is twice a week, change of towels mid week (pool/beach towels are not provided), change of linen (more than 7 nights). Some guests prefer to upgrade their holiday and spend a little more to secure one of the deluxe apartments or villas which offer more contemporary furnishings with the added luxuries and convenience of: air conditioning, microwave, dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Prado do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prado Do Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Prado Do Hotel
Prado Do Resort
Prado Do Golf Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing