We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for golf holiday in Vilamoura”
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good base for golf holiday in Vilamoura”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

If your going away for the weekend to play golf or for a stag party this hotel is ideal. The rooms are very spacious and have everything you need for a self catering break. There is a good size swimming pool and the grounds are well maintained. I would recomend a room above the 5th floor due to noise during busy periods as there are a few bars close by. The breakfast isint great, just a basic continental choice but there are plenty of better options near by. If your playing golf most courses are about 5-10 mins away and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus.

The hotel is very central and has everything you need close by. The hotel is set one street back from the Marina where there is a wide variety of bars and retaurants. There is a great bar called Figo's where you can watch every football match on TV and serves good food. There is also a good restaurant called the Mayflower, a bit pricey but very nice. If you fancy a flutter in the casino it a short 5min walk away. If you are a beach person then that too is a 5min stroll away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th floor due to potential noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    100
    110
    44
    29
See reviews for
72
93
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you are going with friends on a stag weekend or just a few golf buddies getting away then this is bang on. Lizzy who owns the bar downstairs is great and the hospitality shown by her was fantastic.

The location is second to none and the rooms were huge and really clean.

Room Tip: one facing the pool is best for quietness, other side for those who don't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinbarAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

very central to the marina,good choice of breakfasts.the rooms were good size and lovely views from the balcony.the apartment needed up dating,the bathroom was ok but old fashioned.the staff were pleasant and overall a good spot to acess all that that villa maura has to offer.lights that work on the landings after dark would be good!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I was on a golf trip so my requirements are pretty basic and the hotel covered most of them. The rooms are large and clean, the bathrooms were clean but getting old.

But I have a couple of irritations. Why should I have to pay for a safe key? People going to a hotel will have passports, cash, etc so a safe is up there with toilet paper for me. And secondly the soap and shampoo were never replaced and new towels provided.

The hotel is basic. I assumed it was 3 star. Doors are made of metal for instance. Breakfast was ok and pool area was nice. The reason people cannot find the lights is that the switches are halfway down the corridor not by the lifts. Strange.

Massive selling point of the hotel is that it is right in the centre of town. I would guess the hotel could be noisy but cannot imagine that this is the place for a quiet break.

I wouldn't go for a break with my wife but in a group where you want to use the nightlife it's spot on.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

very central hotel, close to all things nice, pity the money in my room could not be left alone,how safe is a safe, the rest you can figure out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank minsk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I feel I have to write a review as I was very nervous before our trip having read such bad reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Luna Olympus. But having read the reviews we asked for a high floor at the back. We got a 4th floor overlooking the pool and were very pleased. I'd say a room in the first floor is very noisy as there are bars underneath which are open until morning. The location is brilliant as its near shops, restaurants etc. Having said that I would rate it as a 3 star. But its perfect for a relaxing holiday and good value for money

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed at hotel for a golf weekend with a group of friends. The rooms are a good size with seperate lounge/kitchen but a little dated The staff some were friendly some were not so friendly. Buffet breakfast was included in our price which was basically consists of thin bacon sausage egg of the day, some fruit and cereals.The coffee from the machine was poor better off having tea also the juices were just squash, so if you slept in you did not miss much at one end of the hotel there a couple of bars and if you at that end of the hotel it could be some noise late at night . Location was good for marina and beaches The hotel uses the free joint shuttle buses with the local golf courses just go to reception 30 minutes before and will order them for you. The time of year we went this hotel is only good for groups as it can be a bit of noise. Also i would avoid the indian resturant under the hotel as they try to over charge for example trying to charge 2 euros each for 90 poppodums when it was not even that amount and they were actually 1 euro in the menu.

Room Tip: rooms an the right hand side are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Property: Luna Olympus
Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing