We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, you have the potential to be a star, a little work required”
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location, you have the potential to be a star, a little work required”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile


Location... Brilliant, 60 yards Marina 5 mins walk beach, 150 bars, cafe's & restaurants within 10 mins ( high end to MaccaD's.)
Breakfast.... Really good choices, plenty nice light breakfast area.
Pool Area... Lovely pool and garden area sheltered from Any Breeze. Although the lounges need cushions, couldn't lie on them and get comfy.
Rooms... Fourth floor on front, sun in afternoon good view of Marina , bit noisy at night,(didn't bother us a bit, nice to hear people having good time) advice.. higher the better, back has more day time sun looks over pool, front better views late afternoon sun.
Beds bit hard, dodgy plumbing in bathroom, promptly fixed, maids/ cleaners EXCELLENT.
Nice roomy feel, good sized balcony
Lifts good.
Coridoors dark at night!!!!
And finally... Good job my other half was there as I could never unlock the room door, lock needed a nack to open, I never ever got the hang of it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob-Matvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    97
    106
    41
    28
See reviews for
70
89
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After a lovely week in this hotel with my partner I can truly say I highly recommend it. We were on the fifth floor and we had a one bedroom apartment!We had a balcony off the sitting room which looked out over the marina. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided. The staff were highly helpful and very friendly. The location was ideal only a short walk to the marina where all the restaurants and pubs were. Across the road was an off licence which came in handy to have a few drinks in our apartment. (bottles of moet were only 25€)! You could pick on any restaurant on the marina and it would be lovely. There was one Chinese down near the plaza hotel that was well worth going to. And also another one at the other side near O'Neills bar it was very nice! Shops are also lovely and the is a lovely boutique right across the road, Victor&victoria.

Room Tip: There is no hair-dryer provided in the rooms so i recommend you bring one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaydiva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here from the 23/08/12 to 30/08/12 , the hotel is ideally siuated for restraunts, bars and shops. Our room was basic but very spacious with a fridge, two ring hob, micro wave and kettle, the view from our balcony was stunning which overlooked the marina and out to sea. Breakfast was fine with a choice of continental fare or bacon and eggs, stay clear of the sausages yuk. keep your balcony doors closed at night if you want to sleep though, the road in front of the hotel is used by all the under 30 party goers returning from the night clubs to their respective hotels/apartments at 5 in the morning, not the hotels fault to be honest, the pool area was no never full altough we never used it as we much preferred to do the boat trips from the marina, late afternoon is a good time to sit on the balcony with a few drinks, buy these from the supermarket less than a five miniute walk from the hotel, e.g six pack of cristal 2.70 euros, botte of pinot grigot 4.99 euros, why pay inflated prices at the ponsy bars when you have the great view from the balcony, it served our needs and was comfortable, rooms cleaned/towels changed daily, will certainly go back

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B'ham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Awful hotel, in a great resort. Needs knocking down! Very well located for marina and great beach, staff friendly enough. Rooms had pubic hair all over them, towels never changed in 5 night stay.breakfast poor, reception dark and dowdy with a bad smell about the place. Swimming pool wasn't the cleanest and the worst most uncomfortable sunbeds ever. Basically just really rundown but cheap digs for vilamoura and suited to stag or hen weekends where most people are so drunk they don't notice how poor the place is.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in June with my partner. The location was 1 min from the Marina so a great base. As others have mentioned there are bars immediately under the apartments but if you get a high floor room this shouldn't bother you. Being there for the Euro games certainly added to the atmosphere in Vilamoura.

Breakfast was more than adequate, I was surprised given the reviews below! I stay in a lot of hotels for work and this was just right for the standard of the property. The pool was very quiet, lots of sunloungers and shade. The apartments are only a short walk from the beach too (on the other side of the Tivoli Vilamoura).

There were families, couples and golfers there during my stay and everyone was catered for. Overall I'd stay here again, but wouldn't rate it as a luxury stay. The apartment was well equipped and very roomy, totally fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed in a 4 person suite and found it to be clean & modern. This hotel is not the most luxurious but, as mentioned, the apartment was good. The corridors look a bit ropey and the door to each room wouldn't look out of place in a concentration camp. Having said that the breakfast is fine, the pool area is fine, the staff were friendly and the location is MAGNIFICENT - 1 min walk from the Marina & 5 from the beach. Bit odd having a Brothel under the hotel but whatever takes your fancy. Great place for groups of golfers but wouldn't stay there with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment, fabulous veiws in all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darth_Smithster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel/apartments a bit tired now but still a great location and views.

If you have a room over looking harbour it can be noisy into the early hours, but has evening sun on balconies from 4pm to 9pm - great to early evening G&T before popping out for supper.

Breakfast limited, continental, with small choice of eggs, bacon and sausages.

Groups include families and golfing groups.

Room Tip: Request a room with pool view as harbour views are noisy into the early hours. But harbour view has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wintles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Property: Luna Olympus
Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing