We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna Olympus
Nearby Hotels
Vila Gale Marina(Vilamoura)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vila Gale Ampalius(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$113
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$247
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Old Village Apartments(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$281
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
38
108
114
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
108
114
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrap around balconylow floorbit noisy at nightpool area was nicebreakfast roomeighth floorseparate bedroomrooms are largeself cateringfridge freezergolf tripperfect locationreception areayoung familyplaying golfthe hotel offersfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having read previous reviews we contacted the hotel direct to request a room on a high floor. We were given a room on the 6th floor with a great view of the marina, however, we could still hear traffic noise, early morning revellers & music from the bar below the hotel which stayed open until 6am!

The room was comfortable but basic & the kitchen facilities very limited. The best things about the hotel was the location & pool area but the rest of the hotel was in need of modernisation.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to request a high floor room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear DianeAndy,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Luna Olympus. Vilamoura is one of the most lively areas in the Algarve and the hotel has a great location just next to the Marina. Sometimes it can be a bit noisy and we can only apologize if you could not rest properly.
We take all reviews very seriously to improve our services and facilities, and we look forward to welcome you again so we can show you our progresses. Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus (olympus@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This dump really has to be the worst place i have ever stayed at, upon arrival we stood back and said to each other this is not what was advertised.
Our rooms were directly over the bars and restaurants on the 1st floor, these were open until 06.00am every day, sleep was not on the menu.
On the surface the room appeared clean, however one day we returned early and found the cleaner still in our room, her trolley just outside with a huge cockroach on its back next to the trolley, when i showed it to the cleaner she simply smiled.
Breakfast was bad, the juices were not fresh, everything seemed stale we did not eat anything except toast,
The staff were rude and unhelpful, the hotel generally is very tired, the best part of he hotel is the garden area adjacent to the pool, the pool itself was too cold to swim in with loose tiles in the area i stood in.
We were a group of four golfers and in our 'suite' was a room with two singles another with a double and the kitchen / living area with a sofa bed, when asked to change the double for another two singles the staff simply refused.
Unfortunatly there was so much wrong about this place i could be writing for days, in short, an absolute dump that i would never go to again, it shows one needs to check trip advisor instead of relying on the travel agent

Room Tip: you need to be overlooking he garden areas and ensure you have a room at least 3 floors up
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickM2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear MickM2310,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very sorry about your disappointment towards Luna Olympus. As we have had complaints regarding the bars downstairs, we are trying to solve the situation, but it does not depend entirely on the Hotel. Our two-bedroom apartments consist of two single and a double bed, and it is not possible to change the layout of the rooms. As for the cleaning, the apartments and public areas are cleaned every day as thoroughly as possible. Regarding the breakfast, we can only apologize if the food served did not meet your expectations, as everything is freshly made.
Hoping that this experience doesn’t keep you from returning to the Algarve, should you return to the Vilamoura area, please feel free to contact me personally at olympus@lunahoteis.com. Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Arrived at this quiet hotel - until 2 days later a team of about 30 children from the age of 10 upwards arrived with their parents/manager?. They were not allowed to play with a ball in the beautiful grounds...but they did! and then the noise! There was not only these children but younger children in the families with them as well - they were from Northern Ireland and the parents did not supervise any of the children at any time! We als found that the accompaning adults were just as noisy as the children - especially in the grounds and tennis court!

Now the hotel and the holiday - I had read the reviews, good and bad but found the hotel to be as I expected - clean, all personnel polite if not particularly friendly, but too noisy for me. I was wih family on the 2nd floor and could not sleep because of people talking loudly in the corridor, banging their doors when entering their rooms. Also, at 5-6 in the morning there were a number of chairs down below being scraped along the floor - tiled or wooden floor I do not know, but they did not lift them and this went on every night for about 15-30 minutes. There was not any radio in the bedroom as expected and the tv on occassions was a very poor picture. The cleaning staff were in as expected and were quite efficient, changng towels etc. I liked it that we were able to have meals in the room when able but the facilities were not too good. Only 2 hobs and the saucepans were to large for the size of the hob, no cooker, and not enough utensils/cooking pans for the hob or microwave. We did not take advantage of the breakfast on offer.

We were at the back of the hotel which is supposed tobe quieter with a good sized balcony and overlooking beautiful gardens. Overall th hotel was good and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear PatriciaFlew,
Thank you for sharing your opinion from your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the noise by other guests – particularly the younger ones –, but unfortunately that is something that we are unable to control.
We take our guests reviews in consideration to improve our services and facilities and we would be delighted to welcome you again in Luna Olympus, so we can show you our progresses. Should you return to Vilamoura, please feel free to contact me personally at olympus@lunahoteis.com. Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Probably this hotel was once good. The Reception staff (except for Joachim and one lady) were rude, arrogant, and unhelpful. Only one of the lifts was working regularly, one worked some of the time, and the third didn't work at all (but see tips). Be sure you check with the hotel and your travel agent EXACTLY what rooms you have booked: my party was four golfing males and we got a double bed and two twins in our suite: Reception delighted in saying we could either rent a second room, or someone would have to sleep on the sofa-bed! We were on the sixth floor, and did not experience any noise from the nightclubs below the hotel, so suggest go for an upper room. Our cleaner was very thorough, efficient, and helpful - to be fair, the hotel was as clean as any recently visited. Breakfast was edible - just - but we went to Figo's on the harbour five days in the seven, which should tell you all you need to know! Two menu's - alternate days: one day fried eggs, scrambled the next. Restaurant staff polite and helpful, though. If you just want somewhere to lay your head, this place is adequate: otherwise, pay a little more and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on an upper floor. On ground floor, as you face the lifts, look to your left: there is a single glass door. Open that door and there is the service lift. The staff don't tell you about it, but don't stop you using it either. It is bigger and faster than the main public lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Geoff S,
Thank you for choosing Luna Olympus and for the time spent sharing your experience. We improved our lifts and they are now fully functioning. During your stay one of them was probably under intervention, so we can only apologize for the inconvenience caused. As for the apartments, our two-bedroom apartments consist of two single and a double bed and we did not have the possibility to upgrade.
We will take in consideration your suggestions and hope that in your next visit you will find everything at your convenience.
Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus (olympus@lunahoteis.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is basic and serves the purpose if you want to be close the marina in Villamoura. Otherwise, it's not somewhere that we'd ever revisit.
The cleaners and one girl on reception were lovely, the rest of the staff had chips on their shoulders.
1 from 3 lifts worked.
A bar downstairs stays open playing loud music till 6am and drunken English louts really ruin any sleep you may plan to have whilst you're there.
The apartment we had had fantastic views, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was horrid, but bearable.
Villamoura itself is not that inspiring either.

Room Tip: marina view is lovely, but costs extra.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews