We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noise control” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“noise control”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

A group of us 24 in total golfers stayed here from the 3rd October for 4 nights.
Like everyone else i had done the usual research and was well aware about the noise issue.
I also requested rooms on the higher floor and this is what we got except for one group who got the first floor.Yes i still heard noise even on the 7th floor so closed the patio doors put in the earplugs and soundly went back to sleep.This hotel is central next to a main road bars underneath and a nightclub in a great location for the marina.Every hotel i have stayed in has noise of some description or other.Do your homework if it is still the place for you deal with it and accept it.The hotel staff do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible they even opened the breakfast room early for us so we could have breakfast before 8.00am.The rooms are adequate, some are better than others with having 2 bathrooms and the breakfast could have more selection.For us as a big group it was fine and the hotel staff were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor overlooking the pool.It was for 4 guests and was a corner room with an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Raymond J,
Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay at Luna Olympus.
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Vilamoura and in the Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus (olympus@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    93
    106
    38
    26
See reviews for
67
83
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

first of all this is quite a nice hotel albeit a bit dated. but it is let down by the noise generated from the downstairs bars/disco while these bars do have sound proofing it does not stop the people outside from making a row. on my last night i had the pleasure of a portugese couple having a loud discussion right under my bedroom at 6;30 am!!i was aware of this problem before i travelled so i emailed the hotel requesting a room on the upper floors but this was ignored.all i can advice is to ask for a room higher than the 3rd floor.
breakfast was good apart from the missing teaspoons?
pool area is nice but we didnt use it much as it was raining!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms above the third floor if you want to have any sleep the bars/discos are open until 6 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potter1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear potter1962,
Thank you for your comments about Luna Olympus.
Vilamoura is one of the most lively areas in the Algarve and the hotel has a great location just next to the Marina. Sometimes it can be a bit noisy and we can only apologize if you could not rest properly.
We hope this experiece does not keep you from returning to th beautiful Algarve and should you return to the Vilamoura area, please feel free to contact me directly at olympus@lunahoteis.com.
Kind regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have visted the same hotel three years in a row - very central and although basic was good in the past -now it is so badly needing a refit that it is quite awful. The room was on the first floor and the noise from both the poolside and the bars below the hotel went on from early evening until 5am most days then the noise of furniture moving around as the bars were cleaned was as bad and went on til 6am . The room was falling to bits - we had a repair man in every day at least once , apart from the three days we booked another hotel to get a sleep. Staff were friendly enough - except the big blonde receptionist who was abrasive to say the least . What a pity it was a real disappointment - dont go there

Room Tip: Top floor may be less noisy - but just chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmartin174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was very clean but needs updating. We requested marina view and a high floor due to trip advisor review about the late night noise, it was futile. Woken up by late night/ early morning revellers in the local bars. Would recommend room overlooking garden and pool which hopefully will be quieter. Staff friendly and helpful. Central location with so many bars and restaurants to choose from.
Be advised that when eating in the local restaurants it is common practice for staff to give you "couvert" even when have not ordered it. This is like a "mini-starter". You can be misled as we initially believed it was complimentary...it is not...you will pay for it !!!! If you don't wish to eat it ask the staff to remove it and make sure you are not billed for it.
Braganca Mar restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. I feel sorry for the management, as the location is great, but due to local nightclubs and bars, the nights can be noisy. We have been on the eighth and seventh floor over the last couple of years, but you can still hear the club-goers singing/shouting (and drumming....yes, drumming!!!) on their way back at 5am - 7am in the morning. Just be aware of this problem, and prepare yourself for it by buying ear-plugs for a good night sleep.
The rooms are basic, but very well maintained and kept very clean by the daily cleaning service. WIFI is free in reception, and available in rooms for a fee. Breakfast is good, although the coffee machine is not as good as the one last year. Our children missed the Hot Chocolate drink this year!!! Never a problem with sunbeds, with the pool and gardens being well kept, tidy and clean. It was great to see a kiosk selling refreshments and ice-creams this year - very popular with my family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed in these apartments with my mum and sister for a week (all adults). After reading the reviews on trip advisor I was a bit worried about being placed on a low floor near the bar, and luck be it, when we arrived that was exactly where we were placed. We decided to give it a go as I never fully trust anything which is written on here as everyone has different opinions. However they were right this time. We were placed on the 1st floor and although the room was very clean and spacious the noise from the bar below was very very loud. So loud until 6am that I did not get any sleep the entire night. Given that we had come away for a relax, in the morning we went to reception to request a room change. The staff were very helpful and polite and arranged our new room for the same day on the 4th floor with a view overlooking the marina which was lovely. Although we slept much better and could not hear music from the bar below we were still disturbed by people walking home at 6am chanting outside. I realise this is no fault of the hotel, simply people being inconsiderate in the early hours. This happened every night and I eventually bought some ear plugs from the pharmacy down the road and then slept fine the rest of the time, as I am a very light sleeper. My sister slept fine though. Noise aside the location of this hotel was fabulous. 5 mins walk to the beach and the marina. The breakfast was lovely with outside seating to the rear of the hotel where there was opportunity to bird watch aswell. The pool area was clean and the gardens immaculate. There was wifi available in the rooms for a fee or for free in the lobby reception. The rooms were big, spacious, comfortable and cleaned daily by the maid. It was only half an hour taxi ride to the airport costing roughly 25 euros. Whilst there we went on a dolphin safari and saw dolphins in the Atlantic sea surrounding our boat. There were lots of boat trips and excursions from the marina that were reasonably priced. We also caught the bus to albufeira one day. The bus stop was just near the tivoli hotel. It cost about 4 euros each way. All in all we had a great time in vilamoura and our stay in the olympus was enjoyable. I would return to this hotel but request a high room to the rear of the hotel where it would be quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Please anyone thinking of staying here DONT.
Thankfully i only stay here for 2 nights. Rooms not bad, pretty clean.
Was in room 105 and believe me i have never heard noise like it in all my life. This went onto 5 in the morning. Complained to night porter several times through out the night but you would be better talking to a brick wall.
As for management in hotel , a few courses on how to treat there customers is def needed.Staff are soooooo rude and not helpful at all.
NEVER would i return here and no one else should even think about booking this place.

Room Tip: Best tip i can give anyone is stay well away from this hotel !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Property: Luna Olympus
Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing