We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's a nice hotel, probably not quite the full 4 stars but still great value for money. It's very clean, beds were comfy, apartment was huge & had an amazing view. We stayed on the 9th floor & had no noise disturbances at all from bars below the hotel. Staff were brilliant, always helpful and smiling. For sun-worshippers the pool area goes into the shade of the hotel at about 5.30 which is way to early!! Breakfast wasn't hectic but still you'll find something to eat, I got cereals & fruit, 'fry-up' looked unappetising. Would recommend for couples looking to be close to the marina area, maybe not families as the kids pool area was tiny & there's a lot of steps around the hotel for buggies etc.

Room Tip: Look for a room high up away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    95
    106
    41
    26
See reviews for
69
86
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I'm just back from holiday in vilamoura I stayed at the Olympus hotel with my wife 2 children rooms were nice. We had a lovely time like to mention this lovely lady lizzy we met who owns lizzys Cafe also lizzys bar. She couldn't do enough for us we would eat at her cafe also go to her bar at night for karaoke highly recommended lizzys such a nice lady. Next. Just something I would like to make clear to everyone people have said lizzys bar is connected with cats. Cats is a gentlemens club also bar next door is connected with cats lizzy is such a nice lady she Dosnt want people thinking she is connected with cats thanks for everything lizzy see you next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Luna Olympus for a week in April. 6th Floor overlooking the Marina. A bright spacious suite made for a lovely break. Would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles together but would certainly stay there again. It's not luxury but a reasonably priced, comfortable and well maintained apart hotel which we can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: As there are a couple of bars on the ground floor a higher floor is probably quieter. We had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you are golfing and drinking then the hotel offers all you could need, two minutes walk from the Marina with all its restaurants and bars. However the hotel is tired and much in need of renovation. The rooms are very spacious as it is really an aparthotel, but very basic, particularly in the bathroom. The plastic toilet seat fell off as did the shower curtain, and in our shower you had to run around to get wet. On the plus side the balcony was large, staff were always eager to help. Overall it did the job. The two bars situated below the hotel are distinctly different. Cat's is one of several "gentlemen's clubs" in the town but is discreet and has a doorman. You could not walk in there accidentally. Lizzy's Bar is lively and offers the perfect place to start/end your evening. Lizzy herself is lovely and the bar is run by her two sons plus several very competent girls. She also runs a bar/cafe in the same complex. Lizzy is at pains to stress that she has nothing to do with the activities in Cat's. Both places are open until very late but then again all the bars in the town stay open as well. We asked for rooms at a higher level and were accommodated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crowlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

When visiting Vilamoura my friends and I always,where possible,stay here.It provides a great central base for many of the best golf courses on the Algarve.The rooms are huge and has everything you would need if you felt you would like to cook for your self.But why would want to with all the eateries that are near.The rooms are cleaned every day and the towels are also changed daily.The staff are always pleasant and helpful.I never eat the breakfast because I am never up at that unearthly time of day.If all you want is for somewhere to sleep then you will not go wrong by choosing these apartments.One tip.When booking request an apartment that overlooks the swimming pool for a quieter nights sleep.Oh and give Lizzies bar a visit and tell them Paul and Dave said hello.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootallnmagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here beginning of March on a golf trip. The hotel is very close to the Marina and all the bars and restaurants. We were on the 5th floor and overlooking the Marina but didn't hear any excessive noise from the bars or clubs nearby. The rooms in the hotel are very big with a large sofa which you could sleep on without pulling it out into a sofa bed. The balcony is also very big and ideal for watching the world go by in the evening. The hotel only does bed and breakfast which had everything you could want to get the day off to a good start. You are close enough to all kinds of different places to eat so you don't need half board. The only drawback I could find was the hotel bar is not open all day but this might be because we were just out of season which starts at the end of March. The beer in the hotel is as good as you will find anywhere in Vilamoura and reasonably priced too. The hotel staff are pleasant especially the lady on reception who was very helpful and the linen is changed every day. To conclude this is a very central location with excellent rooms and service and we will not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: All rooms are big but corner ones give panoramic view. Need 5th floor or higher to get view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were on a Mature Stag Do for a few days, the groom was 45. Breakfast was included but it is only Continental style, most of the party did not indulge in breakfast anyway.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the facilities good but at the end of the day you will only be sleeping,showering and changing in your room.
The location of the hotel for the Marina is superb. Walk out the front door of the hotel, cross the road and then through a shop lined walkway is the Marina, maximum 100metres.
I normally advocate to go All Inclusive but not here in Vilamoura. There are hundreds of bars and restaurants round the marina. The ones facing into the marina are obviously more expensive and you might have to book for dinner. Investigate the bars and especially the restaurants on the back 'streets' large walkways. The food is cheaper but still very good value for money, but better service.
I have been to Vilamoura 5 times, with my girlfriend, in the same hotel with adult family and my last visit on a stag do. I have also stayed in apartments (1/2mile walk) on organised golfing trips.
It was my suggestion to go to Vilamoura and it was a good surprise that the organiser had selected the hotel I have stayed in before. You can get lost on the back streets but as long you head downhill to the Marina you can always find your way back, and that is without a drink.
I can thoroughly recommend Vilamoura.
Mike W.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, and the rooms closer to the beach, if you retire early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Property: Luna Olympus
Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing