We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ApartHotel”
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really lovely hotel. Beautifully designed rooms. Some rooms over look the fantastic marina.
Breakfast menu was not exceptional but definitely adequate. A nearby steakhouse outside the hotel bu within the precinct was occasionally rowdy but not overwhelmingly so.
Laid back unflusstered atmosphere. 15 minutes free wifi but then you have to pay - instructions not altogether clear about wifi charges.
Rooms were spacious - but only one sofa. great decor and colour. Good kitchentte and utensil supply. The only drawback was the shower - with its limited water supply from the boiler. Water pressure was also low.
Genrally clean. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking marina are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at the Olympus for 10 days recently. Our apartment was spacious,well equipped with fridge/freezer, microwave and kettle. Full bathroom with loads of hot water and nicely decorated. We were on a bed and breakfast deal. The plus points of the Olympus are indeed the spacious apartments, large garden with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The Olympus is very conveniently situated 5 mins walk from the marina and beach, with a good choice of cafes and restaurants. Not quite sure how they have achieved 4stars as the bar was only open until 10pm and one night the bar staff had left before 9pm. On one occasion we wanted an icecream , there was nobody to sell us one and we went to the shop. The reception staff just shrugged their shoulders and told us to go to the shop. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss with staff hiding in the kitchen , having to be asked to replenish many of the dishes on offer. We did enjoy our stay in Vilmoura but the breakfast and bar areas could be greatly improved with a bit more organisation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for a quiet night as one of the bars is open until 6am!! To get a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsW8620LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The 4 star is the problem here, I think if it said 2 or 3 then everything else would be fine. Very basic, noisy on the first floor rooms and breakfast distinctly average. I would recommend for stag dos or golfers who don't enjoy creature comforts. Appears clean but in need of a major facelift - just disappointing and not what I was expecting - but then again we only slept there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's a nice hotel, probably not quite the full 4 stars but still great value for money. It's very clean, beds were comfy, apartment was huge & had an amazing view. We stayed on the 9th floor & had no noise disturbances at all from bars below the hotel. Staff were brilliant, always helpful and smiling. For sun-worshippers the pool area goes into the shade of the hotel at about 5.30 which is way to early!! Breakfast wasn't hectic but still you'll find something to eat, I got cereals & fruit, 'fry-up' looked unappetising. Would recommend for couples looking to be close to the marina area, maybe not families as the kids pool area was tiny & there's a lot of steps around the hotel for buggies etc.

Room Tip: Look for a room high up away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I'm just back from holiday in vilamoura I stayed at the Olympus hotel with my wife 2 children rooms were nice. We had a lovely time like to mention this lovely lady lizzy we met who owns lizzys Cafe also lizzys bar. She couldn't do enough for us we would eat at her cafe also go to her bar at night for karaoke highly recommended lizzys such a nice lady. Next. Just something I would like to make clear to everyone people have said lizzys bar is connected with cats. Cats is a gentlemens club also bar next door is connected with cats lizzy is such a nice lady she Dosnt want people thinking she is connected with cats thanks for everything lizzy see you next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Luna Olympus for a week in April. 6th Floor overlooking the Marina. A bright spacious suite made for a lovely break. Would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles together but would certainly stay there again. It's not luxury but a reasonably priced, comfortable and well maintained apart hotel which we can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: As there are a couple of bars on the ground floor a higher floor is probably quieter. We had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you are golfing and drinking then the hotel offers all you could need, two minutes walk from the Marina with all its restaurants and bars. However the hotel is tired and much in need of renovation. The rooms are very spacious as it is really an aparthotel, but very basic, particularly in the bathroom. The plastic toilet seat fell off as did the shower curtain, and in our shower you had to run around to get wet. On the plus side the balcony was large, staff were always eager to help. Overall it did the job. The two bars situated below the hotel are distinctly different. Cat's is one of several "gentlemen's clubs" in the town but is discreet and has a doorman. You could not walk in there accidentally. Lizzy's Bar is lively and offers the perfect place to start/end your evening. Lizzy herself is lovely and the bar is run by her two sons plus several very competent girls. She also runs a bar/cafe in the same complex. Lizzy is at pains to stress that she has nothing to do with the activities in Cat's. Both places are open until very late but then again all the bars in the town stay open as well. We asked for rooms at a higher level and were accommodated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £78 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing