We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vilamoura's Prostitute Den”
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Vilamoura's Prostitute Den”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June with my family and what an experience. Staff simply not interested in giving you any service, but the worst was still to come.
The Hotel was full of golfers that would arrive in mini buses in the late afternoon after their golf and sit around the ground floor bars and get smashed and loud before going up to their rooms. Surprise surprise after taking the family for dinner in the marina, just across de road, when we come back to the hotel, we found ourselves going through a night life ambience that we did not expect. After some questioning of the receptionist and some observation we discovered that we were in the wrong place...
On the ground floor of the hotel there is a night club called Cat's, with two bouncers outside the door that's frequented by dozens of prostitutes, Brazilian, Romanian and others that happily go up and down from the bar to the rooms with the falling over themselves golfers, the hotel's clients.
So, if you into that scene, this is the perfect place, but if you coming over with your family please stay away as the place is really degrading, noisy and dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank planetvirtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear SS T,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We have taken good note of your comments which we will take in great consideration.
The bars and restaurants next to Luna Olympus are situated outside of the Hotel and are certainly not part of Luna Olympus. Nevertheless we pride ourselves of the high standard of services, safety and respect that we always will provide to our guests.
We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future and that everything will meet your expectations.
Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus (olympus@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    100
    110
    44
    29
See reviews for
72
93
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

stayed with my family and two little cousins,the pool is ok but freezing cold and very empty, the rooms are very good and spacious and a quite location with a beautiful marina..nothing at all to do in the apartments and if you want a drink at the bar you have to ring a bell to get service as the staff are that bad. I can not stress enough how unhelpful the staff are,I was so shocked at how little they knew..definitly stay in villamoura but stay in different accommodation for a better experience,hope this helped!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy19914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Luna Olympus, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Amy,
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us at Luna Olympus.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have taken good note of your comments which certainly will help us to improve the high standard of services we always want to provide to our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Hotel in a near future and that you will find everything at your convenience.
Kind Regards, Liliana Martins, Front Office Manager, Luna Olympus (olympus@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just came back from Vilamoura. Stayed in the Luna Olympus. Had a really good time. The apartments certainly were great. Good size. Staff were fantastic and didn't have a problem dealing with a crowd of sixteen drinking golfers! I think if you are a couple or a young family, then I would suggest you go to one of the better hotels like Tivoli or crown plaza. Not for any other reason than it gets quite noisy at the bottom of the hotel as there are a couple of bars and a night club. If you are a golfer and looking for a hotel to base yourself......this is the one! Close to the marina, so it's perfect for bars and restaurants. Supermarket only 5minutes walk! All courses are a stones throw from the hotel so it's all good.

Room Tip: Great for groups, especially golfers! Higher floors are quieter and have fantastic views! Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonholidayJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbride, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel with our 17 year old son. Chose an apartment rather than a hotel for the extra space and we certainly got this. A very spacious one bedroom apartment with well equipped kitchen. Good air conditioning and very good shower. Daily maid service kept very clean. Good position in relation to accessing the marina, many restaurants and the beach. The hotel has two pools in a nice garden setting and whatever time of the day we went, there were always beds available. On the negatives. We were on the fourth floor marina facing, this was not high enough to be able to see the marina and the noise from people coming out of the night club was very noisy at times. The breakfast was ok, reasonable choice but poor quality fruit juices and only two cereals. The hotel I don't consider to be four star and is in need of updating. Sunned Towels are available from the reception but don't rely on these. The first time we asked there were none left so we just used our own.

Room Tip: Garden facing and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really lovely hotel. Beautifully designed rooms. Some rooms over look the fantastic marina.
Breakfast menu was not exceptional but definitely adequate. A nearby steakhouse outside the hotel bu within the precinct was occasionally rowdy but not overwhelmingly so.
Laid back unflusstered atmosphere. 15 minutes free wifi but then you have to pay - instructions not altogether clear about wifi charges.
Rooms were spacious - but only one sofa. great decor and colour. Good kitchentte and utensil supply. The only drawback was the shower - with its limited water supply from the boiler. Water pressure was also low.
Genrally clean. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking marina are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at the Olympus for 10 days recently. Our apartment was spacious,well equipped with fridge/freezer, microwave and kettle. Full bathroom with loads of hot water and nicely decorated. We were on a bed and breakfast deal. The plus points of the Olympus are indeed the spacious apartments, large garden with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The Olympus is very conveniently situated 5 mins walk from the marina and beach, with a good choice of cafes and restaurants. Not quite sure how they have achieved 4stars as the bar was only open until 10pm and one night the bar staff had left before 9pm. On one occasion we wanted an icecream , there was nobody to sell us one and we went to the shop. The reception staff just shrugged their shoulders and told us to go to the shop. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss with staff hiding in the kitchen , having to be asked to replenish many of the dishes on offer. We did enjoy our stay in Vilmoura but the breakfast and bar areas could be greatly improved with a bit more organisation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for a quiet night as one of the bars is open until 6am!! To get a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsW8620LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The 4 star is the problem here, I think if it said 2 or 3 then everything else would be fine. Very basic, noisy on the first floor rooms and breakfast distinctly average. I would recommend for stag dos or golfers who don't enjoy creature comforts. Appears clean but in need of a major facelift - just disappointing and not what I was expecting - but then again we only slept there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Property: Luna Olympus
Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing