We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cegonha Country Club
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday ever!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We were here in September this year and were delighted with our stay. We usually do one city break and one beach/pool holiday a year. The rooms are very spacious and the pool is huge for the size of place. There is nothing here! It is wonderful, an 8 € cab ride takes you to Vilamoura or a 20 minute bus ride to Albufeira . We will be returning next year and will hire a small car for convenience but to be honest I could cheerfully stay by the pool :)
The management and staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you, with spotless rooms and public areas this is a must! We even had our own garden with table and chairs.
Please do not book till I have secured my apartment!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bevanson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

What a fantastic holiday! I travelled here with family, and although we booked a (very) cheap deal, we were given a complimentary upgrade upon arrival from a T0 (studio) to a T1 (1-bedroom) apartment, which appeared to have been recently decorated in a simple and tasteful style. It was immaculately clean and serviced daily throughout our stay. The kitchen was fully-equipped - dishwasher, microwave, oven etc - but a little short on crockery. The location is quiet and reasonably private, as it overlooks countryside.The pool area was pleasant (and again, very clean) and still warm enough to swim in early October.

I used to live in this part of Portugal, so I had a good idea of the area before I booked and I absolutely did not want to stay in the really touristy areas, but I knew that I wanted to do a bit of travelling around. This was a great location for a quiet holiday while being within easy driving distance of the airport and the main central-Algarve areas, as the EN125 is only a few minutes away. If you stay outside the main tourist complexes in the Algarve, you will need a car, and this is no exception; there is very little within walking distance except for a petrol station and a large nightclub (which was inaudible from the resort). If you enjoy staying in a bustling tourist hub, this may not suit you, but if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday, you will love it.

The only point that disappointed me is that wifi costs €5/day, which is unexpected these days. However, free wifi is available in many restaurants and cafes - and it was quite nice to mostly switch off for a week. Generally, the resort far exceeded my expectations, and I will travel there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Briony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a great place to go and relax.
The apartments have everything you need with spacious balconies.
The pool area is spotless with a bar for drinks and snacks a gorgeous infinity pool and kids pool.
The staff are friendly and helpful and is this was our second time (the fact its our second time says it all) remembered us from our previous visit, which is always a nice touch.
As for it being in the middle of nowhere, there is a bus service to villamoura for €2.20 or alburfeira for €3 and a taxi into villamour marina is only €6
All in all it is great value for money

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manchestercityf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It is quite a way out of Vilamoura/Albufeira (you definitely need a car) but accommodation was good and very quiet. The pool is good and suitable for toddlers as well as adults. We were in a one bedroom self-catering apartment which was clean, spacious and well-equipped. It had a full sized dishwasher, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer. We had a baby, young child and two adults in the apartment and it wasn't at all cramped. Any staff we came across were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29AcaciaAvenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I went on a short break to the Cegonha country club whilst on leave from the army, and while I was not shot at during my stay otherwise it was a home away from home. I know there is a saying in business "if you can't fix it feature it" and this is certainly true of this resort as I suppose it is called Country Club because it's in the middle of nowhere. There were, it had to be said, several things that could have been fixed that were not! The positives included some extremly friendly wild cats who we struck up a friendship with and who on certain occasions were rather more insightful than the staff in so far as they provided a modicum of pest control. Vilamoura itself is decently equipped with nightlife, however I have never understood the Portuguese prediliction for showing football in restaurants all evening. I suspect this is a nod to the visiting Brits but is not entirely appreciated. Restuarant food standards vary wildly and again reminded me of the army in that they are very hit and miss.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevieboy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very quiet location as was quite a distance from Vilamoura town centre, but we knew this when we booked. Walked into Vilamoura one day and it took an hour. We were self catering which was perfect as we were out and about most of the time. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Had no problems. Room was very spacious and tidy. It was cleaned daily and towels and bed sheets were changed every day. Made use of the tennis courts and swimming pool which were also in good condition.

Room Tip: Ensure when booking that you have a one bed apartment as the studios are tiny and only have a tiny s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEVN30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First impressions very good, we had a lovely apartment just overlooking the bar by the pool area.
Bars were not open until june, we were there in May.
Mini market is not what I would call it, all we could see was a back room by reception, few tins of food, few bottles of wine, not much else.
Luckily we knew the area so found some good supermarkets.
Hired a car in Vilamoura for a very good price..
It also said guests could use the facilities at the nearby hotel, which we did find down the road but it had been closed for years.
A good holiday all round but some holiday sights about this complex need t update there information.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
308 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#16 of 36 in Vilamoura
349 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cegonha Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cegonha Country Club

Property: Cegonha Country Club
Address: Estrada de Albufeira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cegonha Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cegonha Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cegonha Country Club Hotel Vilamoura
Cegonha Country Hotel Apartments
Cegonha Country Club Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing