We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza, when we got it, fake free drink and leaflet tout prices”
Review of Pizzaria Romana

Pizzaria Romana
Ranked #123 of 193 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice pizza, when we got it, fake free drink and leaflet tout prices”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

How long does a pizza take ?
Leaflet tout on street showed lower prices than subsequent menu.
Much made of a FREE DRINK, that actually then was charged !
Pizza was actually very tasty, we give them that.

All the smiles & friendliness were to get us in there.
Once in, and said we weren't actually interested in the starters (which were an example of absurdly pressuring salesmanship) it went downhill. We weren't even offered a 2nd drink when we'd finished ours half way through food.

Paid and left. Miserable faces on staff standing next in front door all the way through meal seemingly in case we ran off ! Very very strange atmosphere.

We vowed to alert people to our experience so others can be warned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Place!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Been 2 days in a row and had a take away, so speaks for itself! Fab pizza, chicken great too and gorgeous tropical salad. I'm sure we will be back again before we leave to go home. Toilets very clean too!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plains01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire, UK.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Slow”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Service was a bit slow. I ate here a couple of times for lunch but the 3rd time I left as i was fed-up waiting for service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeAnnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Have been visiting this little Italian restuarant for a number of years now. Very unassuming from the outside this little place serves great food at a very reasonable price with excellent service. The owner of this small restaurant is always very welcoming. Just along from the Caddy Shack, close to Dom Pedro Golf certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank damasust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Family run restaurant”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We ate here twice whilst staying at the Dom Pedro Golf. After being out all day we were too tired to walk to the Marina area restaurants and thought we would try it out. The owner is very friendly and helpful - even gave my husband his Wine Suppliers brochure to read all about the wines on his list. The food is very good and if you are meat eaters do try the lamb cutlets - big portion and scrummy ! The people on the next table to us had Pizzas and they looked yummy too. On the second visit we both had fish and the lemon sole was huge and cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. The other element we liked was, although the large TV Screen which seems to be a must everywhere in Portugal, was on the sound was off. Not everyone wants football whilst they are eating ! This restaurant is quite small and the tables quite close together, but the food is lovely and the menu and wine list reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzaria Romana also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Pizzaria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing