We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”

A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos
Ranked #124 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Read reviews on her and decided to try. Excellent food. Beer in large iced metal tankards. Meal for 5 with wine 80 euros. Access for wheelchair rubbish, but we managed to carry it down steps. Not easy, but food was worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    30
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Don't miss this unassuming restaurant!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stopped by chance one evening for a drink, we ordered 2 large beers and they arrived in large cold metal mugs - the mugs kept the beer cold and were something different. We looked at the menu and decided to go back the following evening, so glad we did! We had covert to start with which was a soft round warm bread served with fish pate : Sardine Fillets (floured and fried, very light and tasted amazing), Goats Cheese - a young cheese so quite mild, Fried Cuttlefish - tender and very tasty, Special Iberian tenderloin - we thought this would be a parma type ham but it wasn't, it was a light stew and delicious and then we had the Chorizo - wow this tasted amazing, it was flamed at the bar before being served, it was meaty and chunky (my favourite). The waitress was lovely, she suggested a bottle of Vaz de Carvalho which was perfect. I wish we had gone there on the first night rather than the last.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howie603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic food for groups”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

As a couple we struggled with the size of the tapas portions. The food was excellent but a bit salty. The service was wonderful and if there is a bunch of you going out then this is hard to beat for quality and value in Vilamoura.

Helpful?
1 Thank HolbrookeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
697Filipa, Gerente at A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your opinion, are waiting for you in a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple sublime”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

At the first view you just think is a snack point or something else.
But, afterwards, when you come inside, you feel looks likes you are in a real Portugal, that simple one and the best one. Cosy and charming.
A rustic place with big tables (inside), likes a big family, where you can go with friends/family and eat the delicious they prepare there.
Isabel was the person whom attend, she is very simpatic and friendly.
You can choose a variety of tapas (kind of omelet), of your preference, all good portions and a nice and cold pint of Sagres beer (national product).
I went two times for a dinner, very easy to find, is just at the corner of the marina.
Enjoy!!
Tchau Portugal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
697Filipa, Gerente at A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your opinion, are waiting for you in a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of Vilamoura”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a fantastic little restaurant. We had read the reviews and been recommended to this small authentic Portuguese restaurant and when we managed to get to trying it, we were most definitely not disappointed.

Traditional Portuguese food in a great little restaurant with very attentive staff and excellent value for money.

We look forward to being able to return in the not too distant future and will most definitely be recommending this little gem to our holiday rental guests and friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quintsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
697Filipa, Gerente at A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your opinion, are waiting for you in a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to A Taberna - Casa de Petiscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing