We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay - staff excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb stay - staff excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This was mostly intended as a golf trip but also a short relaxing break. We were told that we would like the hotel and the golf courses (3 x 9 holes) and we certainly did. From arrival into reception in the hotel to our departure we couldn't find fault with anything. The hotel was splendid with comfortable rooms vast facilities and friendly, efficient staff. Breakfast buffet was tremendous you certainly felt well nourised after it. The clubhouse was more relaxed with a log fire burning and equally friendly staff. We got great golf rates as we were hotel guests, we had a top class lunch there including a drink for EUR10 and everything the golfer might need was available. If you are not a golfer there are indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, indoor games room and I'm sure other features that we didn't have time to discover. A fantastic trip well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ireland2usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    327
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
232
314
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We've stayed here for 3 nights. It has a great indoor swiming pool and beautifull gardens. I loved the breakfast with great variety and quality.
The staff were very polite and always ready to help us. Definitely to repeat

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xoaninha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels , Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Ideal for golfers, next to the practice and to the golf courses , nice and big rooms , large terrace and bathrooms.

Food and services has been declining within the last three years

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acidtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I've just come back from 6 days of golf and relaxing with 3 lads at Vila Sol. I've read some of the other reviews (negative ones) and a lot of them I don't get. We had a fantastic trip there. The hotel is very roomy and spacious in the communal areas with a large pool outdoor and an indoor pool and jacuzzi in a separate building. The golf is first class although the buggies were extra with our package which made it a bit pricey (€40/buggy). Saying that, they all had a good GPS system built in which other courses we played didn't and charged more for (Millennium Course at the Oceanico Resort - €50/buggy).

Breakfast was excellent, a true 5 star buffet with theatre kitchen to cater for any special egg/omelette requests, made fresh to order. Outside of the golf there is a tennis court, table tennis, pool and arcades and a purpose built spa area.

We stayed in an apartment which was a 3 minute drive or 10 minute walk but the hotel were excellent at coming to pick you up and drive you to the club house or hotel area - just dial 8 and request a pick up.

Downsides to the area (for some) might be that yes it is a bit of a way from the Marina/town but the hotel have a free shuttle to and from town and a taxi was €17 which isn't bad between 4 of us. It was very quiet on the complex but I loved that, millionaires golf really.

We paid £250 each for accommodation including breakfast so all in all fantastic value. Was it 5 star? possibly not quite but it was certainly 4 star deluxe. If you aren't into golf, why on earth would you go to Vilamoura to begin with, it's hardly the capital of culture (?!) but if you want peace and quiet by the pool in the sun, get on that plane!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotting30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, could not fault anything - service was excellent, breakfast very good - anything you wanted could be had, did not try other restaurants on site but the surroundings were inviting. We wanted a complete rest and found it here, yes it was quiet but it was out of season, weather superb. Used the hotel transport to Vilamoura daily and taxi's at other times which worked well for us as we did not want to hire a car. Accomodation very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryparticularperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Myself and the Mrs visited the hotel last year and decided to return for weeks R&R.

We liked the hotel when we stayed last, the location is not fantastic but when you hire a car it doesn't really matter. The staff are really helpful and the service in the pool area that had been an issue the last time we stayed had been resolved. The room (in the main hotel building) was fantastic, spacious, clean, great bathroom. I have to say we had a fantastic time.

One negative was the booking process. When trying to book through the hotels website I rang the number on the site and ended up having to deal with Tee Times Golf Agency. I have nothing good to say about this company, in fact I have many bad things to say.

Anyway, all in all a lovely relaxing stay. Thanks to all at the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibble999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Please dont go to this hotel expecting it to be 5 star service. Breakfast is nice. Rooms are comfortable stayed in garden view suite bed very comfortable. Staff not interested so no feeling of luxury or pampering. Extremely quiet when we went no atmosphere. Was it an ok hotel yes does it make you feel 5 star luxury sadly not. Location very out of the way. So would I return no would I recommend it no.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing