We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful with lovely frogs sounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Peaceful with lovely frogs sounds”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had a wonderful holiday from start to finish. Our balcony room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. Breakfast is nice but had an inexcusable fault for a 5* hotel: there was no natural orange juice. We try to order it, and paying as an extra, but they did not have it available. Big and good outside pools and rest areas but unfortunately no free internet spots. The location is a bit far from the beaches and village center so you have always to use the hotel shuttle-bus or your car. For us this is not a true 5 star hotel but even so we had a great stay on it. Recommend.

Room Tip: Far, far away from the frogs area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coutito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    351
    120
    38
    35
See reviews for
263
349
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Got a great deal through Expedia - flight and 4 nights hotel stay for 500quid. As a last minute get away, we couldn't say no.
We were after a relaxing and quiet break, with some sun, and we got exactly that.
We stayed in the 'hotel' rather than the 'portugese style villas' , which was much more us, and the furnishings in the hotel rooms are modern, clean and simple. They also include balconys overlooking the driving range at the hotels golf course, and a small lake with water fountains providing a peaceful background noise (they are turned off at night, so won't keep you awake).
We stayed here last week (13th June '11) and the hotel was V quiet, which was a bonus, meaning the pool area was chilled during the day, but on the converse side, also meant that the bar and restaurant were a little on the quiet side in the evening. We ate in the restaurant 1 night (along with only about 3 other parties). The food was good.
The remaining nights we took the free shuttle bus (although last bus leaves the hotel early - 5.30pm) into Villamoura marina - which was a lot more bustling with a wide selection of bars and retaurants to suit most budgets. Taxis back to the hotel were about 10euros.
All in all, a great relaxing stay, for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had been expecting rooms in the hotel but were given garden rooms instead. We did find our garden rooms very comfortable and clean although the decor was a bit cheap looking. The pool and grounds are well maintained and the facilities are of a five-star standard. Staff were friendly and helpful and we made full use of the shuttle-bus in to the marina as it is too far to walk. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. While the hotel is not at the top end of the luxury scale it is comfortable and quite laid back and we got our rooms for a very good price around 60 Euros. Soft drinks at the bar were a bit expensive but that was to be expected. Light meals from the pool bar were excellent and plentyful. I would travel back here if in need of a relaxing stay. We had one colder, dull day and made full use of the indoor pool which was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyLaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is our 2nd time to stay here but our 1st with 'Pestana' as the new owners. Staff are very friendly and pleasent. As per location you do need a car for this location but the location is worth it. We ate mostly in 'Oscars Traditional Pub' which is a 3-4min drive or 20min walk. Back to the hotel, this time we stayed IN the hotel (last time was a garden suite - Chalet). The hotel room was VERY spacious with very large marbled bathroom. A large balcony with 2 sunbeds and smaller circular table and chairs were also attached to the room which was great. Internet is available in the room but is CABLED. You can get 30mins /day for free or you can buy 3days for €15. HANDY HINT: I bring my own poctet router which converts the cabled broadband to WIFI) and it works a treat. WIFI is available in the hotel but only in the main lobby. Oscars Pub I mentioned earlier has FREW WIFI for it's customers.

Only gripe I had on this stay was on checkout, they tried to bill me for '1 can of Pepsi and a bottle of Golfers Wine' from the room fridge. We never opened these and in fairness the hotel didn't labour on this and accepted our word on it.. We don't even drink wine. So in closing we did enjoy our 5 day break at this hotel and would hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dauphin_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. I was not there for a golfing holiday so it was a little far out from the marina for me. Taxi costs 10 euro to the marina from the hotel. All in a great place with lots of first class facilities. My room was directly opposite the pond and the frogs were making quite a noise. I had no issue with this due to the AC going but others may.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We have been to this hotel many times in the last few years. We used to go to Dona Filipa but wanted somewhere more modern and Vila Sol is a great alternative. If you have a family then the garden suite is perfect. We have a 6 year old and the garden is perfect for him to play football, run around etc. The best aspect, I feel, is the staff. They truly cannot do enough. Alfredo Tavares, the front office manager has always been extremely helpful. It is also refreshing to return year after year and have numerous staff members remember us. Great hotel, great service, great breakfasts......

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JefferyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed at Pestana Vila Sol for a weekend and it was a trully good experience! The room was large and comfortable. The food at Club House was good with good views from the golf course. At the check in the employees were very helpful and friendly. The swimming pool was very nice also. The decoration of the villas is very nice and the lake at the entrance is superb! Recommended to a nice stay in Algarve!

Room Tip: Choose a Vila!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuno_Costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing