We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll definitely be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Setubal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very nice hotel with huge garden and surrounded by a beautiful golf course. We got a suite villa with a king-size bed and enough place for 2 extra beds for the kids. The AC system worked perfectly and it was very quiet. For a 5* hotel I think that the pool bar has less food and beverage offer as it should. The staff is incredibly nice and always paying attention to our kid’s needs! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfrcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    327
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
232
314
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent 1 week (1st-8th july) in a Very nice garden suite (2 adults + 1 x 11yr old girl & 1 x 16yr old boy). It Cost approx £1,000 plus flights at £560 for the 4 of us, for bed & breakfast .(This includes a 45 euro per night surcharge on my son because is over 12 yrs or age).
The kids were on campbeds in the lounge area, not a great problem for us but making the place seem cluttered.
Main Pool is very nice with plenty of sun beds,shades etc and towels are provided.
The pool is unheated so i think that unless the weather is hot ,it could be a bit chilly.
Breakfast is Fine with plenty of choice, although the egg cooking station is very frustrating and slow. Also the toaster is just a 4 slot pop up type that can have queues waiting for it.
Hotel Bar Prices for food and drinks are quite high but seem to be comparable with most european resorts these days. Soft drinks are 3-4 euros and burgers/sandwiches etc around the pool around 10 euros each.
The Hotel Shuttle bus is fine for trips to the beach and the marina, although you have to return in a taxi if later than the last bus at around 5.30pm (Taxi prices varied between 7-12 euros from vilamoura marina.
Prices in and around the marina are quite high for food and drink,although you can find cheaper options away from the water front.
We normally spent 120-200 euros for a nice meal with drinks for the 4 of us.
Golf is very nice but again pricey as we had to hire clubs and buggy etc.
The quad biking safari (Quinta Quads) is ace with richard and ruie running it and collecting & returning you to the hotel.
The local beach is nice but again prices are steep for drinks,food,sunbeds etc.

Overall: A very nice week with lovely weather in a good 4 star hotel/complex with no major gripes or issues and only 2.30 hrs flight away from stansted airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garylee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked our holiday through Groupon and although the voucher was valid for two adults and two children it was only my husband and myself who used it. The confirmation we received from Vila Sol stated a 14:00 check in time but our room was not available until 15:30. Having travelled since early morning it would have been nice to have checked in on time rather than hang about. Having said that, the resort was immaculate. The garden suite was wonderful and the only addition I would suggest would be a kettle to allow guests to make a tea or coffee. The air con was fabulous and the bed was the biggest I've ever slept in. The food and drink at the hotel was not that much different from that available around the Marina from a cost perspective. The food was good but the service was slow. All staff at the Vila Sol were very pleasant and would do anything for you if asked. The pool was fabulous. Perfect temperature and never more than 10-15 people in it at a time. Even the kids around the pool were not a problem. We were near a pond but not the lakes mentioned previously so the frogs didn't bother us either. Indoor swimming pool was tropical in temperature and rarely used by anyone. All in all I would recommend this hotel to others. I think it was probably more 4 star than 5 star but they are working on it. Benfica football team stayed there for two nights whilst we were there as well which gave some of the children a bit of excitement. The management would perhaps learn a lot if they actually deemed to speak to guests. I felt that the football team got all the attention and normal guests didn't even get a smile but that was only from the management and not the reception, waiting or bar staff. One problem was the speed with which the gardener zoomed about the paths in his 'golf trolley'. Far too fast for children to be on site.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almor1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

on arrival our room was not ready as we arrived very early the reception staff then gave us an alternative so we would not have to wait the hotel is amazing beautiful clean rooms(we stayed in the main building)the staff could not do enough for us .On my hubbies birthday staff wished him 'happy birthday' cake and champagne (complimentary)in the room.The views over the golf course are spectacular,meals are pricey but well worth the money.Shuttle bus into the resort ends at 5pm not so good but a taxi costs 8 euros will be back

Room Tip: supermarket 10 minute walk great for water etc if on a budget.the hotel offers a choice of different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel was the nicest we've ever been to on holiday - the room was so luxurious and the staff were brilliant! We really would recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay where you will be treated like royalty and the surroundings are beautiful. The breakfast had a good selection of food and the poolside bar had great snacks. We didn't dine in the main restaurant in the evenings so can't comment on it but we got bar snacks one evening and they were lovely. Although the prices in the hotel are a little more expensive than you would normally expect on holiday there are ways to make sure you don't spend too much - we made the most of the breakfast buffet and went to the supermarket for drinks and some snacks and the poolside snacks portions are very generous so we would often share something. And to be honest the prices are generally higher in Vilamoura so in comparison to some of the places by the Marina the hotel is actually good value for money for food and drink. Some people might not like that it's a little further out from the town but we loved it as you got the best of both worlds. There is a free shuttle bus that you can get to the Marina - the last one is at 5.30pm so you can save the cost of a taxi both ways by utilising it. There is a supermarket we walked to every morning to get water etc and Oscars restaurant at the bottom of the road which we used a couple of nights instead of going into the Marina every night. Its about a 20 minute walk but it was very pleasant. My brother and his wife have already gone on our recommendation as we told them how fantastic the place is and they told us we didn't even do it justice with our review to them! I can't emphasise enough what a great hotel this is. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seas0ned_traveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We also got the good deal with groupon for this holiday. The resort complex is very nice with quiet surroundings. We have two small children and they had a fantastic time especially around the toddlers pool. The hotel was very nice and quiet with loads of available sun loungers. It is a little isolated, a good 10 mins walk to the (very expensive) on site supermarket. The hotel provided taxis are very expensive 8 euros to the supermarket/pub. But a local taxi firm will do it for under 5, vilamora for 8.
If you are looking to fill the minibar up with your own beers and food a trip to pingo doce (local supermarket 8 euro in hotel taxi) is a good idea as some of the prices are under half the on site supermarket.
Next to the on site supermarket is oscars a busy traditional pub, food is good pub standard and ok priced, beer is cheaper than hotel, had a couple of good nights here, kids can run around in the back, it is more or less enclosed.
Opposite the pub is a Portuguese restaurant, paisagem. It looks like a British greasy spoon cafe from the outside but the food is to die for. Try the local dish- cataplana a massive dish of monkfish, huge prawns and clams the corriander rice is good too. 45 euro for two people, they also have budget dishes like BBQ chicken for 6 euro. Nice people too.
Maybe think twice about bus trip to zoo marine, the dolphin show and high diving were great, but the 1 1/2 hour transport was a joke.

Food in the hotel is ok but expensive, eating at the golf club in the evening was superb, the setting is great. We stayed for 2 weeks and it was great up until the end when we also waited over an hour for pretty poor food which was quickly comped when we complained.
This sudden lack of service coincided with benfica fc staying at the hotel and we have our suspicions that the best chefs were feeding the overpaid footballers.
Good live music at the bar, the frogs in the lakes were also in excellent voice (I dont think this is a problem unless you are a very light sleeper or amphiphobic.
I cannot praise the staff enough, they were very helpful and polite. Special thanks to Samantha on front desk who was extra helpful and kind to our daughters.
Overall a good hotel but very slightly flawed.

Boy I wish I had known about the free ram clubs, I would have played a few twilight nine holes but could not justify 30 euros plus the green fee!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had a lovely weeks relaxing in the Pestana Vila Sol Golf Resort,

The Garden Suite rooms were lovely and we happily spent a large chunk of our time on loungers outside our room in complete peace and quiet, though it was necessary to ask for a second lounger, this was delivered quickly to the room.

The swimming pool was great, just the right (cool) temperature and never too crowded, we never struggled finding a lounger in the shade and the hotel have a "non reserve" policy with the loungers - don't use it for an hour and they whip the towel away. They also were pleasantly proactive and identifying and evicting people who shouldn't be using the hotel pool who had come from one of the many private villas in the area.

The food was very good quality and whilst the restaurant service was friendly there was too much of a delay in serving the food and we were getting impatient by the end of the meal - the half board option is great though.

The prices were relatively high but this is billed as a five star hotel so was not surprised. Its worth signing up for the loyalty card which will get you 5% off all your food and drinks and earn you points towards free stays.

This hotel is not close to the beach or Vilamoura and in our minds this was a real reason to choose it. If you want a Beach holiday book a hotel by the Beach !

This is our second Pestana Hotel we have stayed in and have not been disappointed on either occasion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#26 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing