We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel, very helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed for first time here for a week Sept/Oct 2011 in a Garden Suite with wife plus 3 year old and 8 month old kids. Having read reviews was unsure what to expect in terms of quality.
Would equate this hotel to a Marriott rather than some top luxury 5 star hotels, but the price reflects this - you can't expect it to be mind-blowing if you're paying what I would consider to be very fair prices.
Very little to criticise about the hotel. Great facilities, especially for golfers and kids pool was excellent (depth was only up to my 3 year old's knees, so could happily leave youngsters with only half an eye on them and read a book, which I'm not used to on family holidays these days !).
Fantastic buffet breakfasts, exery conceivable choice.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - couldn't do enough for you.
Happy to supply things like milk for our infant when requested with no charge, even arranged a pick up and drop off at a local restaurant at no extra cost (it was quiet season and I'm sure they were glad of the trade, but I was left with the impression the whole week that all the staff just wanted to be as helpful as they could be, not fleece you for every extra like some places can).
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as great value for money.

Room Tip: Would recommend the garden suites if travelling with family. Additional bed and cot provided at no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    342
    107
    35
    30
See reviews for
245
330
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife & I, an ex- golfer due to spinal problems, spent 11 nights here in Sept 2011.The staff were very helpful especially Flavio, who buggied us to & from the hotel/clubhouse where we ate most evenings-good food.
The flat screen in room TVs needs to better their reception & include more UK channels.The hotel bar needs to open more hours especially when major sporting events are on Sky i.e Rugby World Cup as there are sporting people staying in the hotel & 2 large TVs are in the bar turned off.
A fine place to relax, good pool & excellent weather with breakfast served until 10.30!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOALS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was our first time at Pestana Vila Sol and we couldn't have been more impressed! It was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

We did 10 nights from the 18th September - 28th September but could definitely have stayed for longer. All round this resort is fantastic. From the staff to the rooms, the pool to the food, we cannot fault the Pestana Vila Sol.

We were initially apprehensive about the weather with it getting towards late September but our fears were left behind as we had 10 glorious days of sunshine - temperature never below 25c.

The room we had was superbly presented and maintained by the maids, especially the king sized bed! The deck chairs on the large balcony coupled with the complimentary dressing gowns and slippers were a nice touch, in addition too the surround speakers in the en-suite.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful with an impressive spread catered to all tastes. A full- english with all the trimmings, a selection of continental meats and cheeses, various breads, cereals, fruit medley, the list goes on . . . . not to mention the designated egg chef who will poach, fry, boil or whip up an omellette should you so desire!

The two pools were perfect in size and depth - on the odd occasion a little cold but I suppose it was quite refreshing after basking in the sun for hours on end.

A special mention to Ligia and Mariana on reception who could not have been more helpful! Good service really makes a difference!

We made full use of the regular shuttle to and from Vilamoura Marina - very helpful, although a metered taxi one way was roughly €7.35. Our only suggestion here would be for a later shuttle back to the hotel after dinner/tea.

I could sit and praise the Pestana for hours and hours but its late and I have work in the morning! Trust us here, the Pestana Vila Sol will not disappoint, worth every penny and we miss it already. I can only assume the people dishing out one-star reviews on here must have stayed in the pool pump-house : )

Written by a young-couple from Cheshire - Yeah lurd.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main Hotel are presented with a very Modern Interior whereas the Garden Villas are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LidandGid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Recently visited Vila Sol Golf & Resort Hotel for the third time. Its a very nice facility and a pleasant place to stay. The garden rooms are very nice and are located within the extensive gardens, complete with small man made lakes. Some of the garden rooms actually have their terrace directly onto the lake. There you can sit and feed both the ducks and the numerous small carp that inhabit the lake. The rooms are very nice with lovely comfortable beds and nice crisp bed linen. The bath rooms are also very well laid out with every facility. The A/C in the rooms works well. Breakfast is feast with every conceivable item one could desire. There is a Chef (sometimes two) on hand to cook eggs in all their forms as you require. Even though this hotel is part of a golf resort there are a lot of non golfers as guests. The bar is a bit expensive but there is also the Club House within a few minutes walk which serves nice food up to 7PM and also of course drinks all evening. The hotel has been taken over recently by the Pestana group and they seem to making efforts to update. The pool is one item that needs attention as there are missing tiles in a few places. Apart from that the pool is well kept and there are staff in attendance all day. I should also mention there is quiet a large childerns pool connected to the main pool via a waterfall. There is also an indoor pool complete with sauna and Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Most of Block 12 has rooms with terrace directly onto the lake. We stayed in room 1218 and there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was our second time at Vila Sol. Our previous time it was still a Marriott, and we loved it.We wondered if the cange of ownership might spoil it, but not so. Still beautifully kept, clean and well-managed.
A few tips
1. Look on Ebay for vouchers at about £315 for 5 nights in a lovely Garden Room- inc excellent breakfast- we have paid more at average B and Bs in the UK.
2.VS is a way out of Vilamoura ( which is not the most interesting of Algarve towns, being really a modern creation- but better than Albufeira!) .The hotel runs a free shuttle bus three times a day, but if you want to go in the evening, you will probably need a taxi at about 10 euros.
3.Yes, the pool is cold, but lovely.
4. The hotel restaurant is expensive and not very interesting.. a lot of people go to Oscar's pub, at the entrance to the Vila Sol complex, which is OK, and OK value, but dull and all English standard menu. Just across the main road, facing Oscars is a proper restaurant, called O Passagem, which is very good although more expensive than Oscars.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have own patio , loungers, beautiful beds and bathrooms, and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Unfortunately I only stayed one night as it was work break as i could have stayed longer.
I had one of the garden chalets which was beautiful inside with a huge bed, delicious pilllows and the most fabulous bathroom. The rooms are very stylish but struggle with functionality, its very dark in there so good luck putting on your make up or doing you hair. However its great for sleeping as its incredibly dark.
Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from.

The pool was huge with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas for shade. There's no pool service so you have to get your drinks and also clear away your drinks after. The pool is absolutely freezing but once you're in its rather refreshing as it was incredibly hot.

I did not play golf but the majority of my work colleagues did and said it was excellent. i didn't brave the spa as it was a 20 minute walk from the hotel and i think the walk back (uphill) would have undone all my relaxing and i would have burnt to a crisp if i was still covered in oil.

The staff were typical portugese people - friendly, helpful and generally lovely.

My only complaint was the lack of wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was extremely disappointed with my stay, we took our 1year old child, the pool was freezing and very dirty, with broken tiles through out the hotel, the staff were unhelpful on all accounts. Knowhere to wash before a late flight home, we were advised to use the pool side shower?! with a one year old?! interesting, oh and the gym facilities were not available as we hadnt used the gym, many thanks rubbish hotel!!! Complete waste of money, you will enjoy if your expecting a 2-3 star resort. The only place worth eating was at the golf club house, tasty but not 5 star!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing