We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value...but you need to hire a car!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Comber
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value...but you need to hire a car!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, but somewhat remote. Granted we were there in May and the hotel shuttle bus was not operating, but this is the only negative point. There is a supermarket and a couple of restaurants 15 minute walk away, which was good exercise.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was too much bother. I have read a few criticisms about the food but we found it to be of the highest quality, my tip would be to go for the three night meal deal. We were on bed and breakfast but ate in the restaurant for dinner on 4 occasions it was that good. The meal deal was 27 Euro per person, 3 courses and as much wine as you drink. As for the food, it was very very tasty.

We had a garden villa and the room was of the highest order, especially the massive bed. The hotel was clean as where the pools.

One bad point was the drinks prices in the pool bar, yet the wine was a very good price in the main bar inside.

Other than we would recommend this hotel to anyone, but hire a car, more so to see the rest of this lovely country and people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrissyOComber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    337
    106
    32
    29
See reviews for
240
323
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just back from our 1st trip to the Algarve and our 1st stay in the Pestana Vila Sol Hotel. I have absolutely no reservations about highly recommending this hotel for individuals, couples or families. The staff are all very welcoming and go out of there way to make your stay one to remember. We stayed in a garden suite (which are separate to the main building) and the bed was excellent and enormous! 7ft across which I believe is an Emperor size bed. The air conditioning in the room was also fantastic which came in very handy as the temp outside was over 100 for most of the week. We went half-board and the breakfast and dinner was very good, the continental side I would say is better than the full English side due to the lack of taste in the sausages & bacon although the choice was excellent. The dinner menu was somewhat lacking on the children's side as it did not vary for the entire week and by the 4th day our son was tired of the repetitive dinner menu.The hotel was spotlessly clean and this extends to the pool areas.

The main thing you need to know before booking a stay at this hotel is it's location..... YOU WILL NEED A CAR as there is very little close by although the hotel does run a free service to the Vilamoura Marina and nearby beach about 3 times daily in the summer months.The nearsest mini mart / supermarket is a good 25 min walk from the hotel and the price of drinks in the hotel is very expensive.

Overall this is a very good hotel and we have had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GREG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Revisited in May and have to say we love coming back!

We hire a car and once you do this the location is no issue.

Service issues experienced in previous reviews have been rectified and although breakfast remains a bit weak it is still a great value and lovely hotel.

Would highly recommend, especially through Expedia for under £400 per person per week inc flights.

Room Tip: Main hotel building on the 4th floor (crane your neck for sea views!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jibble999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I only stayed here for 2 nights as part of a golf weekend. I chose this place for the location as I was playing at Vila Sol. For this it was perfect.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the service at reception was great. I forgot my Toothbrush and I called Reception and they brought me one to my room free of charge within 3 minutes.

The breakfast was neither a hit or miss with me. If you want an English breakfast then it was terrible! But continental or local breakfast was nice.

Although the place was perfect for what I needed it for I would say it is a solid 4 Star Hotel, not a 5 dtar place. I have stayed at many 5 start hotels and this fell well short of the 5 star comforts I have enjoyed elsewhere. Bed wasnt very comfy (Nice Pillows though). The Bathroom was big but dated, the TV was a flat screen but small and lacked good channels (Not that used it much).

Another negative for some people might be that its not on the beach or marina. You need to get a taxi to go to the Marina for a night out (not a problem for me but some wouldnt like this).

In summary, if you are going to Portugal to play golf then this place is perfect. If you are going for a beach holiday then I would suggect that the Tivoli or Crowne Plaza down by the Marina would be a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britinluxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a former Marriott 5* star hotel who was taken by Pestana some years ago, after being left by Marriott. It has “hotel rooms” and “garden rooms”, that look like villas. I stayed in one of the first, which was spacious, with a nice comfortable bed, good bathroom with toiletries.
Pestana management is professional and courteous. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beakfast is good, plenty of food to chose from. Never had a meal on the hotel, so I can’t comment on that. Pestana is doing insistent discount campaigns (at least in Portugal and in their site) for this hotel, so the cost (except for July and August) is in the 4* range.
Originally a “golf hotel”, Pestana is doing some effort into turning it into a “family hotel”. It was a small indoor pool with jacuzzi, for the cold months of the year. This is OK, in my opinion. If is some 50 m from the main building, and this is the only disadvantage. It has a nice outdoor swimming pool, and of course is close to a golf course. I had lunch in the club house, and it was ok.
Location of the hotel is good, but a car is needed to go to the beach (except in the summer, when the hotel provides a transfer bus). I was there in the end of May.
The Vila Sol SPA didn’t belong to the hotel, but to the whole resort. It is now closed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and his friend just returned from Pestana Vila Sol. The golf course was in great condition, the starters and marshals were very flexible in your tee times and making sure the golf flowed along effortlessly. The hotel and staff were first class they could not do enough for you, especially the front desk, they even made a birthday cake for my golfing friend. The food and service at the clubhouse was also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linedancer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Positives - Reception staff very helpful, changing our golf reservation times to more suitable ones when we arrived - very large and comfortable bedroom with spacious balcony - lovely swimming pool - 200m to Vila Sol golf course.
Negatives - No free internet in public areas, air-conditioning in bedroom struggled to cope with 34 degree heat. Bar and restaurant rather soulless & pricey - most people voted with their feet and went off to Oscars pub (2 kms away past the supermarket).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing