We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, would return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just had a fantastic week in this lovely hotel, we had a garden room (1004) The room is a good size with a big comfy bed, no complaints there!
The gardens and pool areas are nice, I loved feeding the ducks and lone seagull every morning after breakfast! The breakfast is good, they serve until 10.30am,which is great after a late night in the port. I would recommenned the smoked salmon and prosecco, well thats what holidays are for :)
This hotel is not in the center but its only a cheap taxi drive away to the port of Vilamoura, the reception will sort that out for you. The staff are friendly and helpful, the prices at the bar are very reasonable alot cheaper than any other hotel I have stayed in of this caliber.
The clubhouse does a great lunch, with a great atmosphere.
A must is seeing the portugese dancer, its entertainment on one of the nights. Fantastic.
I would go back to this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Try to get garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diseySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

This place was more than what we expected. Everything was 5 star... service, breakfast, space, views etc. The bathroom was huge! The reception was always willing to help with recomendations and tours. We had rented a car, so getting around wasnt difficult, i dont think i would be happy catching the bus to marina daily... It certainly is not that central, but definitely worth it!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was awesome, just really far to walk to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel while visiting the Algarve. Although we found Vilamoura too touristy and overpriced compared to the more western towns on the coast, we did enjoy Pestana Vila Sol. Of the 8 hotels that we stayed in, It was probably the only hotel that would be worthy of 4* in North America. The rooms are large and clean with a nice view of the golf course. The bathroom is spacious with double sinks. The breakfast is very good, with an omelette station and plenty of fruits for the health conscious. The only downsides of this hotel are that 1) it is a bit far from the town and beach, but we had a car, so it was not an issue for us; and 2) Wifi was not free (incredible in this day and age!).

Room Tip: For couples, make sure you ask for a king bed or might get 2 twins pushed together by default.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHHHHHHHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our second tip to Pestana Vila Sol and I cannot fault it at all. We stayed in one of the garden rooms (1807), really good room size and amazing king size bed!! The bathroom was a lovely size with 2 sinks and a very powerful shower over the bath! Each room had a little patio outside with 2 sunbeds and seats with a table, perfect if you just want to chill in the room. The hotel itself is very beautiful, the pool is a lovely size, and the gold course next door seemed very popular. The food was amazing. We didn't always make breakfast in the morning so we had lunch at the pool bar everyday. Very reasonable prices, and always looked good when served and tasted amazing!!. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Each night the reception would book us a taxi so we could get to vilamoura marina. Taxis very reasonable, although the hotel must work with a slightly more expensive company as the local marina taxis back were cheaper. Really recommend the Marina, although slightly more expensive worth every penny. We spent majority of our nights here. Prime restaurant (steak house ) best restaurant on the marina!! Beautiful food and very very friendly staff.

For anyone that's thinking of booking this hotel, don't hesistate!! Absolutely amazing hotel and we shall be returning next year for our third visit!!!

Room Tip: Really recommend the garden rooms! But I heard the hotel rooms are lovely too with lovely views!! Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmzyWemzy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a 7 night stay at the hotel. I would summarise the hotel and facilities as follows:
ACCOMODATION - we were in room 421 - not great view but good room size, huge bathrrom fitted with bath and double sink. If you have ever stayed at a Raddison hotel the room layput and design is exactly the same - v corporate feel, but functional which is what we were looking for. Helpful tip- when booking request a king size room as the hotel sees double rooms and twin rooms as being the same - wehn we arrived another couple were complaining that they had booked a double room but have been given twin beds- they were told by reception that the room booking is for the no of people to be accomodated in that room not the no of beds!

a king size bed is massive - way bigger than a superking bed at home, plenty of pillows- spotlessly cleaned everyday

LOCATION - unless you want to stay in the hotel and be subjected to the extortionate prcies for meals and drinks, then having a car is essential - there is nowhere to shop or eat within walking distance. We hired a car and found getting around v easy once we got our bearings - there ar some nice restaurants in the areas nerby which are Vilamoura and Quarteira- we went to Quarteira where we obtained a local street map from the tourist info office (free parking along the beach front) and then used that map to locate nice local restaurants via trip advisor. See my review of La Cabane (restaurant)

There's lots of parking at the hotel

FOOD - at the time we went, only the pool bar was serving food during the day - on the first day we bought food from here - poor quality and extortionate price. Hotel put on evening buffet meals for the guest at a cost of 27 euros each not inc drinks- we can't comment as to the quality of the buffet, but food very nice places to eat for a fraction of the cost outside of the hotel

we stayed on a bed & breakfast basis - sausags and baco were of poor quality, but there were hot toms, eggs, hash browns, beanc and mushroom to chose from, and egg station, good range of cereals, fruits usual cheese/hams and breads. - we had a hearty breakfast everyday

INTERNET ACCESS- you have to pay for this in the room, but although not well publicised free access can be obtained in the club house and in th main bar - but you have to go and register with reception and obtain a password which allows 30 mins access each day

SWIMMING POOLS - in October - the main swimming pool was a little on the cold side but lots of sun beds, small baby pool is seperate which is great and the little known indoor pool was lovely. Because it is situated a liitle bit of a walk away (ie 2 mins!) harly anyone uses the indoor pool, which unfortunately isn't heated but does have a jacuzzi

STAR RATING - this is listed as a 5*, compared with some of the other hotels we have stayed I would say this is a passable corporate style 4* hotel- but no complaints which is always good

would we return? we never return to the same location, but if these is the standard then I would be happy to stay at another Pestana hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WWWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Vila Sol golf complex 2 years ago and loved it for our family holiday so much, we decided to return. We stayed for 12 nights in august at one of the sunset villas on the complex, right opposite the hotel, and the golf club, great location!
Due to a take-over by the Pestana group, there had been a few changes since our last visit,
but not too extreme. The supermarket had closed down, one of the deli's had closed, and one of the gift shops too. We ate at the golf club on numerous occasions, for lunch and dinner, the menu wasn't as good as before, but we still enjoyed the atmosphere and lovely scenery.
We also ate at Oscars one evening too, big choice on this menu, and it's very popular, it get's very busy and has entertainment on some evenings, but we enjoyed eating at the golf club better, but it's personal choice. Vila Sol is fantastic for a family holiday! Something for everyone, there was 14 of us in our party, ages ranging from 9 to 81 and we all had a fabulous time! Vilamoura marina isn't far by car, and it's a must to visit, with plenty of bars, restaurants, and great views. We went on another couple of boats rides from the marina, one visiting the caves and another to see dolphins....which was amazing! We also went to Zoomarine, some of it great and other parts not so great, but well worth a visit with children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel was quite modern to a good standard staff very helpful. We had a good room in the main hotel overlooking the golf course. The room was large, withva good sized balcony was well cleaned and the bed comfortable. From our experiences elsewhere we would say it was a good 4 star rather than 5 star but from the reviews before we went that is about what we expected. We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were very good, we only used the hotel restaurant one night and while it was ok we decided to eat out other nights as there was little atmosphere ( and in the main bar as well) and it did not seem to be well patronised. We had a couple of evening meals on the terrace of the golf club house which although it had a more limited menu was a bit cheaper and seemed better. Bar prices were expensive in the main hotel. We had a hire car which we felt was essential as the hotel was approx 10 mins drive from the marina at Vilamoura, which had plenty of bars and restaurants. Would we stay there again ? yes probably but would need to make more use of the golf course to justify it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 37 in Vilamoura
827 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
5,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Address: Morgadinhos | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £53 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Vila Sol is a 5-star hotel in Vilamoura, in the Algarve. It is perfect for those looking to take a family vacation and to relax with a round of golf or tennis, or simply take a dip in one of the swimming pools. It is located just 7 minutes by car from Vilamoura beach and 5 minutes by car from the marina. The hotel offers one restaurant and 2 bars. You can also make use of the gym, indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. For the youngsters, we offer a game room, a playground and a Kids Club available during the summer months. Each room includes a private balcony or patio and has Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), bedfinder AG, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing