We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not 5 star”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Advertised as 5star but not that good. Possibly a good 3, or 4 star at a push. Menu not that extensive but what was available was fine, other than the deserts which were poor.
Saving grace was the staff who were great. We went to play golf and we're not disappointed, course in great condition if a little tight. Not sure that I would return to this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    352
    120
    38
    35
See reviews for
264
349
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived quite late due to delayed flight but we were met with smiles and humour; appreciated as tiredness had kicked in. Shown to our villa, bags carried - a great start.

Our garden villa was perfectly placed in front of the pool (block 10), wow! Spotlessly clean, flowers in the bathroom, plenty of towels and the biggest, most comfortable bed with crisp, luxurious bed linen. There were also towelling bathrobes and slippers, a nice touch.

Having our own sun terrace was a lovely addition, perfect for a teatime drink before changing.

The gym is well equipped, the spa however only has one employee, so a bit difficult to book treatments together.

The golf club is stunning, perfect view of the golfers coming in on the 18th but the service isn't quick. Having said that, the minute a managed appeared, they were soon running around!

With it being early in the season it was extremely peaceful, the staff were friendly and attentive, the hotel is amazing and we are sad we only booked a week.

Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading previous reviews I was slightly worried about the golf course and its condition. How wrong could I have been, what a fantastic resort, the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable. The golf course was immaculate, lush fairways, slick greens - but too many trees LOL!! A great challenge for any golfer. All 20 of our party had a brilliant time and would recommend to anyone thinking of taking a golf break here. We are already thinking about coming back next year.
my last comment - a previous reviewer likened the course to a "municipal", would love to play on the municipal courses in their area as this is one of the best courses I have ever played.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited for a 3 night break last week. We were initially put in a room in the main hotel, however due to noisy (very!) neighbours at 3 am - drunk golfers! we asked to be moved. No problem at all, they moved us into one of the more expensive bungalows in the garden. Glorious!
The staff on reception advised on restaurants to eat in the evenings we were there, Their choices were just perfect!
The golf was just great and I now need to buy new clubs to match the great ones I hired there. The clubhouse etc was perfect too.
Only complaint would be lack of tea and coffee making in the rooms - I need my cuppa first thing. However I had read about the lack of this facility and took my own with me along with my own water heater. Would be better if hotel provided it tho,
Other than that it was just PERFECT.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Six of us booked in for 5 nights with 3 rounds of golf on the Vila Sol course. We arrived late at night and shown to our villa apartment by a very helpful & friendly member of staff. Room was spacious, clean and everything you'd need apart from maybe tea/coffee maker. We had a patio area onto the garden with seating, table etc and were able to sit out and enjoy the sun. Golf course was in super order with every thing run very professionally and again, by really friendly & helpful staff.
Ate in the club house, bar and restaurant and all quite good. Best value and taste was the burger & chips in the hotel bar. As others did, we went to Vilamoura Marina a couple of nights for food with another evening spent in nearby Quarteria on the sea. Seafront is a bit run down but the town is more a 'locals' area rather than touristy.
Only downsides were odours in the bathrooms and that the resort itself is located away from other towns, restaurants etc. There is of course the other option of staying in Vilamoura itself and travelling to the course each day, either way works!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coimbra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

this is a five star hotel, that has different accommodation typologies. The rooms are modern and I do recommend the Villas, surrounded by the gardens. The breakfast is very good, offering a nice variety of items, from the hot dishes to cold items. The bar is very nice and the service here impeccable. The prices for the buffet dinner are attractive.

Room Tip: Choose the villas if you are travelling with kids or you want or need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoimbraAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOKING
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a weeks golfing holiday staying at this hotel. Eight of us in the party all accommodated in Garden rooms. Very nice. Cleaned every day. Nice and quiet during the evenings away from main hotel. Shame no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was the only thing stopped me giving it excellent rating. Plenty of choice for breakfast and had one evening meal. Not of that high a standard but adequate. Ate out in Vilamoura Marina all nights after first night(expensive but good quality food & service).
This hotel is situated on Vila Sol golf course. Fanatastic 3 x 9 hole loops. Good club house with food & drinks well served.
The hotel is also only 30 mins from airport and also within easy reach of many good golf courses.
Recommended for golf trips.

Room Tip: Ask for Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilW9616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: Morgadinhos | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Vila Sol is a 5-star hotel in Vilamoura, in the Algarve. It is perfect for those looking to take a family vacation and to relax with a round of golf or tennis, or simply take a dip in one of the swimming pools. It is located just 7 minutes by car from Vilamoura beach and 5 minutes by car from the marina. The hotel offers one restaurant and 2 bars. You can also make use of the gym, indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. For the youngsters, we offer a game room, a playground and a Kids Club available during the summer months. Each room includes a private balcony or patio and has Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing