We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great golf and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I've just come back from 6 days of golf and relaxing with 3 lads at Vila Sol. I've read some of the other reviews (negative ones) and a lot of them I don't get. We had a fantastic trip there. The hotel is very roomy and spacious in the communal areas with a large pool outdoor and an indoor pool and jacuzzi in a separate building. The golf is first class although the buggies were extra with our package which made it a bit pricey (€40/buggy). Saying that, they all had a good GPS system built in which other courses we played didn't and charged more for (Millennium Course at the Oceanico Resort - €50/buggy).

Breakfast was excellent, a true 5 star buffet with theatre kitchen to cater for any special egg/omelette requests, made fresh to order. Outside of the golf there is a tennis court, table tennis, pool and arcades and a purpose built spa area.

We stayed in an apartment which was a 3 minute drive or 10 minute walk but the hotel were excellent at coming to pick you up and drive you to the club house or hotel area - just dial 8 and request a pick up.

Downsides to the area (for some) might be that yes it is a bit of a way from the Marina/town but the hotel have a free shuttle to and from town and a taxi was €17 which isn't bad between 4 of us. It was very quiet on the complex but I loved that, millionaires golf really.

We paid £250 each for accommodation including breakfast so all in all fantastic value. Was it 5 star? possibly not quite but it was certainly 4 star deluxe. If you aren't into golf, why on earth would you go to Vilamoura to begin with, it's hardly the capital of culture (?!) but if you want peace and quiet by the pool in the sun, get on that plane!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotting30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    327
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
232
314
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, could not fault anything - service was excellent, breakfast very good - anything you wanted could be had, did not try other restaurants on site but the surroundings were inviting. We wanted a complete rest and found it here, yes it was quiet but it was out of season, weather superb. Used the hotel transport to Vilamoura daily and taxi's at other times which worked well for us as we did not want to hire a car. Accomodation very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veryparticularperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Myself and the Mrs visited the hotel last year and decided to return for weeks R&R.

We liked the hotel when we stayed last, the location is not fantastic but when you hire a car it doesn't really matter. The staff are really helpful and the service in the pool area that had been an issue the last time we stayed had been resolved. The room (in the main hotel building) was fantastic, spacious, clean, great bathroom. I have to say we had a fantastic time.

One negative was the booking process. When trying to book through the hotels website I rang the number on the site and ended up having to deal with Tee Times Golf Agency. I have nothing good to say about this company, in fact I have many bad things to say.

Anyway, all in all a lovely relaxing stay. Thanks to all at the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibble999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Please dont go to this hotel expecting it to be 5 star service. Breakfast is nice. Rooms are comfortable stayed in garden view suite bed very comfortable. Staff not interested so no feeling of luxury or pampering. Extremely quiet when we went no atmosphere. Was it an ok hotel yes does it make you feel 5 star luxury sadly not. Location very out of the way. So would I return no would I recommend it no.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This wasn't our first trip to Vilamoura, but it was our first stay at the Vila Sol Golf Complex.
We stayed for 10 nights in one of the apartments, which was very spacious, clean and tidy, with all the essentials/facilities you could ask for.

The kids absolutely enjoyed the whole holiday, with so much to do!
Vila Sol has a number of swimming pools around the complex, which were very family friendly. There is a pool table and table tennis in the hotel aswell.
Around the area there is an Aquapark, Go-Karting, crazy golf etc,.

We done a couple of boat trips from the Marina, which are well worth doing!!
One was a speed boat, very exciting for the not so faint hearted members of our family, and then we had a late afternoon boat trip along the coast to some caves, where if you wanted you could take alook inside the caves and then dive off the boat for a swim in the sea.

Vilamoura Marina has so many restaurants to choose from, we tried a number of these, and everyone was good in their own right. The marina is buzzing with such a good atmosphere!

We also ate at the Vila Sol golf club for many lunches and dinners, a very good menu and service they provide! Each evening had a set dinner theme night, such as......
Pasta, Burger, Pizza, Steak and Bar-b-que evenings. We really enjoyed this eating place, with lovely scenery over the golf course.

We managed to get all the essentials in the supermarket on the complex, there is also a deli, which does delicious fresh bread sandwiches and lovely cakes and pastries.

We very highly recommend this complex, we all had a fantastic time and would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sexysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed at the Vila Sol spa for 5 days, in one of the hotels 2 bedroom apartments overlooking its own pool. We arrived sunday evening and after unpackaging our suitcases we call the hotel who immediately came and picked us up and took us back to the main hotel. It was no problem that it was late on the sunday evening and they provided us with good bar food, well cooked, and fair sized portions. Later on in the evening they drove us back to the apartment. This they did on a regular basis, althoughout the day when ever necessary. It was also possible to get a free bus into Vilamoura and you were usually collected on the way out - we did this a couple of times int he evening and then got a taxi back, which varied from 7 to 10 euros.

The apartment was nicely furnished and very clean, maids came in every day and were happy to return if you were not ready for them to come in. The apartments were all you could ask for, everything home from home and for those with a family i would imagine it to be ideal, with washer, drier etc, full modernised kitchen with fridge freezer, mw etc We had a couple of occasions to contact reception for guidance and someone was sent out to attend to you within minutes.

We went out as a surprise for my husbands birthday and the hotel on receipt of an email had champagne, birthday cake, dipped strawberries and a card signed by the staff at the desk on duty to the apartment on the day - which was a nice surprise.

The pools were clean and attended.

We would certainly go again although possibly look to have a car, for a little more freedom, there is a spar within distance to walk but its choice although adequate is limited if you wanted to cook for a family - we eat out every night and we felt costs were comparable to the uk, and certainly cheaper than other parts of europe. Villamoura has all sorts of restaurants for everyones taste, and price range and is ideal for older folk who like a nice walk in the evening with no hills to negotiate.

We are thinking of looking to go back next year with grandparents and other family with young children for a break as we think it is the ideal location, not far on the plane, near to the airport, lots of sun, sand nearby, plenty of restaurants, pools and golf for the men.

Only downfall we could have stayed a couple of days longer if commitments allowed, my son did play golf but not to well, so should have taken his own clubs as hiring them made the game a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I thought there would be Jacuzzi, and some free use of Spa (as advertised during reservation), however, there was only a hot tub (and the pools of course). The hotel was clean elegant and lived up to the 5 star standard with 10 star service from its employees - esp the receptionist who got to know me by face/name/room number. Being muslims they knew we didn't eat ham (as expected halal/kosher is not easy to find in the area) when they were packing breakfast (as we weren't going to have buffet breakfast) for us as we had a early morning whole day tour planned. Bus service times did not include a late service which I think should be there. Overall one of the best relaxing holidays in a wonderful area with great staff and definitely recommend to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the serenity we were looking for.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zkashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing