We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lake Resort”
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Excellent Hotel in a quiet location close to the marina. Rooms are spacious and very clean although I would advise that a lake view is selected. Our 'side lake' view could have been better.

There are three good size swimming pools in (possibly because it was outside peak season) a very calm and quiet area beside the lake.

Reception desk is very efficient and was very helpful in prebooking our golf courses and courtesy buses. The first bedroom that we were shown to had a strong smell of cigarette smoke and we were offered a change of room before we had even asked. All the staff were extremely pleasant and gave the impression that they genuinely want guests to enjoy their stay.

The three restaurants offer quality food and diversity.

Vilamoura offers a number of very good golf courses. We played and enjoyed Vila Sol & Pinhal.

The Ocean course at Vale do Lobo was probably the best course that we played but was heavily overbooked. We were about 15 minutes late in teeing off and the round took just over 5 hours. As the more expensive of the three courses it offered the least value for money.

Overall an superb holiday.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    292
    60
    22
    9
See reviews for
401
639
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

we stayed at the lake resort from 28th september until 2nd october.the reception staff are very helpful as we have a 5 month old baby, i had requested an early check in we got our room within 15mins of arriving which was great,however i had requested a kettle which was not provided.i had brought a small travel kettle just in case and i was glad i did. i can't believe a 5 star hotel has no tea and coffee facilties in the room.also anyone else travelling with a small baby the nearest supermarket is about 15 minute walk away,not an awful big distance but when you arrive and need water for bottles etc. it can seem a bit longer. we stayed last year in the tivoli marinehotel and found everything more at hand.the breakfast was ok but again we found tivoli was superior. a plus for the hotel is the super grounds and pool areas lots of sunbeds and great beanbags for our 5 month old which she loved.there is also a super play area for children.a few other points was the lobby computer was broken for 5 days and seemed slow to get fixed also the tv channels were very limited and the movies were not available the whole time we were there. these may seem trivial but we had a couple days bad weather and would have appreciated a decent movie to watch.we were very impressed with the spa it was great and you can use free of charge.overall the hotels grounds are 5 star the rooms are good size and beds are very comfortable. we still enjoyed our stay and vilamoura is a lovely relaxing place to go.

  • Liked — great pools
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lufcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Nice hotel in a nice area but you need a second mortgage or a very large bank account to eat and drink in this hotel. The swimming pool and the out side area are very pleasant. Breakfasts are superb with a large selection to fit everybodys diet but the plates are cold which cools a hot breakfast very quickly. Staff are very friendly and helpful but the hotel could do with a tourist advisor to help people who have not been in the area before. The rooms are of a high standard with a good degree of comfort and well looked after by the staff. Overall it is an average 5 star hotel that could do with being a little more tourist friendly and needs fine tuning to bring it up to the standard that guests expect of a hotel that charges top rates.

  • Liked — Nice rooms and pleasant surroundings
  • Disliked — The price of food and drink
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

I have just returned from a week at the Lake Resort with my partner. The hotel itself is only two years old and is quite stunning and has all the amenities you would expect for a 5 star hotel.

However, the prices are incredibly expensive, e.g. 24 Euros for two drinks from the bar. We only ate in one of the hotel restuarants once (there are lots of good restuarants to choose from only a five minute walk from the hotel to the marina) and shared a turbot which alone cost 90 Euros, drinks, side dishes etc were charged on top. Also, anything you had as room service had a 10 Euro delivery charge. Having stayed in many hotels around the world both for leisure and business this is an expensive hotel by comparison.

The weather for our first two days was unseasonably wet, alot of places suffering flash floods. The hotel itself had areas where water gathered quite significantly. One area was near two electronic games machines used by children. These were not unplugged and the water was not mopped up.

Additionally, all cushions from the outdoor chairs were removed because of the weather, however 4 days later when the weather was incredibly hot and sunny with no prediction of rain these still had not been replaced.

Also, one of the days we wished to use the tea room ( a feature proudly shown on arrival) however it had been closed off for use by external delegates on a conference even though there are dedicated conference facilities.

We also wanted to eat in the Fusion restaurant one evening however we arrived to find that it was closed with nothing to say why.

Overall, the hotel rooms are nice, the hotel facilities good and the location great for both beach and the marina. However, it is expensive and better bargains are to be had at other equally good hotels close by, i.e the Tavoli Marinotel. I suspect that as this is a relatively new hotel the prices have been hiked to get the maximum return on investment as quickly as possible. This is borne out by the fact that the hotel only had 40% occupancy while were were there with all other hotels in the same area fully booked.

  • Liked — New, clean and well designed
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank scartilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Just returned from a week at the Lake Resort Hotel. Hotel is a fantastic hotel and lived up to the 5 star rating. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Breakfast buffet was fantastic - a chef on duty each morning who would cook you any type of eggs you wanted, lots of breads, fruits, cereals and hot foods.
Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Did not eat any evening meals at the hotel. There are lots of restaurants on the Marina to choose from.
Cocktails in the bar are a bit expensive though. Pools and gardens are beautiful. Hotel was a bit quiet at this time of year.
Overall really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — Reception called me a taxi to go to Albuferia - cost twice as much than the one I got home as one I got home was regular taxi, taxi hotel called was a luxury taxi so be careful!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Null31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Just returned from a week at the Lake resort with a friend. (Taxi from Faro airport about 32 euros).

First impression, really beautiful hotel. Entrance stunning, large white pillars, white voile and a large glass table adorned with white lillies. (My kind of hotel). Your luggage is taken straight away whilst you check-in and you are then shown to your room. The decor and surroundings are beautiful and spotlessly clean. All good so far.

We did not have any trouble getting sunbeds in the morning as we like to be around the pool at around 9:00 am. However, beds are being reserved at this time and some are not used until late afternoon. There are also some comfy poolside bean bags and some people reserved these in addition to sunbeds. Really inconsiderate and unnecessary. The pools and decking area were again spotless.

Across the other side of the lake are 4 or 5 four poster beds, with white cushions and floating voile. Perfect for the 6:00 evening sun, bliss!!

The Spa was something else. My friend and I frequently visit spas in the UK and this was one of the best we have been to. Blue spa has water treatments, different showers, turkish, bath, roman bath, sauna, which is all free to guests. The Green spa has a vast array of treatments. We had two each and they were wonderful. (Check the website, it is as it looks). Bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Now for the bad. The food quality was really poor and expensive.

Poolside Bar - Usual burgers, sandwiches, salads etc, but each day we ate there you would notice food being returned, either wrong order or food not hot.

The Gustatio - This was usually an evening buffet. Menu on display looked OK. We booked our table for 9:00 pm and the main meal was barely warm. 45 euros each, really expensive for what it was and did not eat there again.

The Mare Nostrum - Fish restaurant on the lake. Really nicely located but really overpriced for what you get. About 53 euros each.

Fusion - Stunningly presented restaurant. Gorgeous starter. Main meal was awful, badly presented, could not eat it. Dessert again as per the starter, really nice. 58 euros each.

The best meal we had was on the last night when we ordered room service. Really good menu, presented well again, tasty and more importantly HOT!

To summarise, in appearance, service and facilities this is a beautiful five star hotel. However, the food quality is far from it.

  • Liked — Decor, pool,
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cassie_Donn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Just returned from two week stay at Lake Resort with our 3 children. The setting of the hotel is great for the marina, and the 2 bed apartment was OK. The Spa is fantastic. The pool area overlooking the lake is beautiful, but Lake Resort is far behind other 5 star resorts I have stayed at. Firstly the apartments are painted a different colour from the hotel and look shabby next to the hotel, the furniture on the balcony was of very poor quality, varnish peeling off the table and chairs ,and the chairs were so flimsy that we never risked sitting on them. The balconies in the hotel also seemed to have the same cheap table and chairs, unless you had taken a suite. But the biggest problem everyday was by the pool. Before 9.00am every morning all sunbeds had been reserved for the day. Some days beds that has been reserved since early morning were not used until late afternoon by the guests, whilst other families could not get sunbeds. Overall the hotel was ok but I don't feel like I've just returned from a luxury resort and that we should have spent our money elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overcrowed in August
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BarcelonaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
742 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,516 reviews
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing