We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for luxury, good quality, amazing service, delicious food in a brilliant location just next to Vilamoura marina- this is the place to go! If we had to pick a negative, it would be the fact that we had to pay for kids club which we weren't expecting.. But a brilliant holiday in a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    282
    58
    22
    9
See reviews for
392
623
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in a third floor room. Great view- overlooking the pool area.

The decor throughout is stunning. Public areas/restaurants are very tasteful & chic.
The room is gorgeous, with an unusual bathroom which opens out into the room (shower/bath/sink) the toilet separate off a dressing area. Pillows were a little flat, but they delivered firmer pillows on request.

3 Pools gorgeous, especially the sand bottom pool! Lake gorg, took out pedalows, you can also take canoes!

Pleanty of sun loungers, day beds and cabanas*! Really enjoyed these!*

Food excellent. Especially the variety. Breakfast 1st class. The restaurant offers different food every night. €35 each- all you can eat/drink. Absolutely perfect

On the whole- 10/10!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights at this lovely resort. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros (in no particular order)
- Pool towel system - you get a card at check in to swap for a towel which ensures no over bagging of beds, no non-hotel people and there are always enough towels even for a refresh during the day.
-There are always enough sunbeds and the pool guys will ensure you get a bed whatever time you arrive. It's worth getting up early though to get the better located beds or big daybeds.
- Breakfast is exceptional. There is plenty of food which is varied and fresh.
- Staff are excellent. There are always enough staff whether you are by the pool, in the bar or at breakfast. Fabio was exceptional and made us feel very welcome. Thanks Fabman!
- Kids club is good but we had to pay. But it's worth it. The staff are lovely in there especially Kiko. They could do with a cover over the outside area.
- The 3 different types of pools provide choice and variety.
- It is walkable to the beach (few minutes) and marina (5 minutes). Our kids took scooters which kept them moving!
- The bedroom is a good size and kept clean
- The bathroom is well stocked with toiletries. There is a separate shower and bath. And the toilet is separate.
- Our 5 year old son slept free as no extra charge for the campbed.
- The fridge in the room has enough room for personal drinks.
- Great beds - they are huge and comfortable.
- General setting is lovely - flowers, garden area etc

Cons
- Gym - old and dated equipment and its not air conditioned so I had good intentions but it was too hot and there wasn't enough equipment for everyone who wanted to use it.
- Pool lunch food is limited choice, not best quality and very expensive
- Would prefer one swimming pool that was heated a little more
- Buffet. We wanted to eat at Fusion one night as we had had a day trip out. The adult price is 35 euros which is acceptable but it's half that for kids from the ages of 4-12 which seems ridiculous for the younger ages. There response was that that they would lose out if they priced it less for younger kids. However that didn't stack up, as we decided not to eat at the hotel on any night and they lost out on 4 adults who would have also bought alcohol. And I guess we would have eaten in the hotel at least 3 nights.

Overall - lovely setting, lovely staff, great breakfast and super location. We would go back !

Room Tip: Sea view arent worth the extra as you are some distance from the sea and the garden view is better f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 10 days at the Lake Resort. On arrival, our luggage was quickly whisked away while we were being efficiently dealt with at reception. The entrance certainly creates a very good first impression - spacious, bright and spotlessly clean.
Our room was very nice with a lovely big bed, lots of storage space and a good view over the garden and pool area with the sea in the distance.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with all tastes catered for. It was very busy around 10 am but the staff made sure tables were cleared and reset quickly so we never had to wait. Also supplies were being continuously restocked so there was always plenty of everything. The only problem was the temptation to eat far too much!
The staff throughout were polite, helpful and always immaculately presented.
We had dinner in the hotel on three evenings, twice at the buffet and once in the fish restaurant Mare Nostrum. I thought the buffet was quite good value at €35, given the range of dishes on offer. There is also entertainment in this restaurant on some nights. The Mare Nostrum has a lovely location on the lake and is very sophisticated.
The majority of the guests were families, so if children running around irritates you, be warned!
The hotel is quiet in the evening, with most people gravitating to the marina.
Our only gripe, which has been mentioned by other reviewers, is the reserving of beds by the pools. The hotel had a written policy of removing guests' towels and possessions from sunbeds if they are unoccupied for more than 2 hours. However we saw no evidence of this being enforced but plenty of cases where people 'booked' beds early in the morning for the day but actually spent very little time there.
Overall, however, the Lake Resort is a wonderful place to relax in comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulfmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Is our second visit and couldn´t be better!
Lake resort Hotel has an excellent locacion, on the beach and on Vilamoura Marina. Is the best 5 stars in Vilamoura, lovely and big gardens, 3 pools, one of then is a sandy pool, many sunbeds and parasols, towles pool/beach servive on the pools, pool bars with nice lunch meals, drinks, snacks all day and with sunbeds servive, nice SPA with indoor pool, kids club, excellent breakfast, lovely buffet service at dinner time with tematic foods and live music a few evenings, very nice atmosphere and enought quit for relax holidays, educated and cordial customers, friendy and helpfull staff, very security and lovely rooms and apartments. Is the paradise in the midlle of the buzy Vilamoura marina!
Foods and drinks are a litle bit expensive but is the current price for a 5 stars hotel in Algarve.
Is only 5 minutes walking to Vilamoura marina plenty of nice and good restaurants, bars and shops.
Lake resort hotel has direct acess to the beach by the gardens or is 3 minutes walking by the road.
Free car parking for hotel guests.
We will return next year!

Room Tip: sea or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have probably had too high expectations going to The Lake resort. I would barely rate my experience as average.

There where screaming kids everywhere - so if you like a little piece and quiet, this is not for you (on the other hand if you have kids, there were some good facility for them).

The beach is quite far away (you have to cross a road), not very nice and deck chair will cost you 20 eur per person and day. We didn't even try. Pool at the resort looked nice, but water in it was freezing temperature. Of course this was a main playground for the screamers so even if you don't mind cold water, swimming is not going to be very enjoyable.

Food was very average and very expensive. Service (apart from occassional lack of English) was OK.

Marina in Vilamoura was another disappointment. Everything is there, boats, nice music, nice restaurants, but it somehow lacked atmosphere or me.

All in all, I would not return there and I appreciate the resort management let us leave early and waived the cancellation fee.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavelNedobity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

What can I say - our friend booked this hotel, amazing from walking in the front door, lovely communal areas, rooms are large and airy, wonderful views over the gardens, good balcony, lovely wet room, huge beds which are really comfy and are turned down each evening,
breakfast is fantastic, loads of choice, something for everyone, pools are great including the sand bottomed pool, staff very helpful and friendly. Top choice for a stay in Vilamoura.

Room Tip: You will be delighted with any room, we had a garden view which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,886 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing