We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 STAR HOTEL IN 4 STAR RESORT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5 STAR HOTEL IN 4 STAR RESORT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having not been to portugal before but a regular to MARBELLA I was interested to see the differance.
On arrival at the Hotel we were immediately impressed with the decor and in particular the friendly effecient manner in which we were checked in. We were alowed to view a few differant type of room , settling in the end for a beautiful suite.
The hotel staff throughout our stay were very effecient and polite.
For a 5 star hotel there were however two areas that did let the hotel down.
Firstly contrary to previous reports i had read on triadvisor , the breakfast is certainly not 5 star hotel standard. Limited freshly made omelettes , otherwise all "buffet" food was lukewarm at best every day.
Also although the hotel had a great choice of pools to use , the service around the pool , drinks and food was non exsistant , guests having to go to the bar themselves, again not what I expect from a 5 star hotel.

The marina , a 5 min walk , is very chavvy nowhere near as dressy as Banus , although there are a number of decent restaurants, shame nothing else to do after dinner as the few shops are most disappointing.

Having become a little bored with the Marina we ate in the Hotel at the Floating Restaurant which was very good. Excellent service and food , a little pricey but expected in a hotel a la carte restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms similar in size and facility , if you can get a deal go for a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750Davep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    264
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
368
585
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed at the Lake Hotel for a week, and overall we had a very nice time. The excellent service from the hotel staff has been mentioned in a number of reviews, and we would certainly agree with those comments. The rooms are well looked after and are quite comfortable, with decent air conditioning. The average night temperature during our stay was 22 degrees. Each room has a "balcony", that comprises a concrete ledge surrounded by iron railings, with space only for two small chairs and a little table. The balcony has no shade and offers no privacy, so was relegated to the place where we dried our swimsuits.

The hotel pools are fine, although the sandy-bottomed one is more of a gimmick than anything. A number of guests felt that the water temperatures were on the cool side, but we found that once we got over the initial shock going in, they were ideal for the weather. The hotel has a large area of gardens with decking boardwalks throughout, and the grounds are very nice to walk around. The lake is full of fish that love to be fed, and guests can use the pedaloes to explore it close up.

We were guided by our agent to stay on a B&B basis. This was the right thing for us. The hotel would have charged 35 euros pp per night to upgrade to half board, and this was excessive, given how close the hotel is to the Marina, which has a very wide selection of restaurants and bars to explore. In fact, the hotel's arrangements for evening meals puzzled us, as it consists only of formal waiter-service meals that don't start serving until 7.30. As a result, by the time most guests have had their meal, it can be quite late to move on elsewhere for entertainment. When we were there, there was limited entertainment in the hotel.

The reason for the absence of a buffet meal in the evening becomes clearer at breakfast - there is very little space, and the staff struggle to keep people fed. In the course of our stay, we saw the breakfast buffet run out of eggs, rolls, milk and even plates at times. The area is far too small, and seems out of proportion to the rest of the hotel. It is ironic that elsewhere in the building there are large areas for seating that were hardly used by anyone during our stay.

The location of the hotel is good, as it is only 10 minutes walk from the Marina in one direction and 10 minutes from the beach, Praia de Falesia, in the other. Both are well worth visiting. The sea temperature was 22 degrees (warmer than the pools?), and the beach was very clean and well serviced with cafes, restaurants and other facilities. There is a little tourist train that runs past the front of the hotel, which offers a round trip via some of the residential areas of Vilamoura, so that you can see how "the other half" live.

Overall, a nice place to stay, but the hotel needs to do something about its inability to offer an adequate buffet service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are not really worth paying extra for, as the sea is about half a mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socratesDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We are on the last night of our two week holiday here and it has been fantastic. We stayed with our two year old twins in a 2 bed apartment and I simply can't fault the resort for families with young children (and I am very hard to please!). Our apartment was spotless on arrival and very spacious with a huge, safe balcony looking out onto the lake and sea. The service is impeccable and the staff are great with the children. Breakfast was great and there was plenty to choose from and the pool bar was fine but we didn't eat in the main restaurants as we preferred to go out to the marina which is a 5min walk away. The gardens surrounding the lake have wooden walkways running through them so they are perfect for walking the babies to get them off to sleep at lunchtimes. The beach is about a 10min walk away with a buggy but we only went there once as the man made beach at the hotel and the 2 swimming pools were more than enough to keep the twins occupied. The Koala club worked well to get the girls out of the sun and it meant they had yet more things to do and many toys to play with.
The food and drinks are expensive but no more so than I would have expected to pay in a 5 star resort and unlike many others in Europe I do think this lives up to its five stars
The only thing I would say is that this is a family resort so if you don't want to be surrounded by babies and toddlers then I would choose one of Blue & Green's other resorts.

Room Tip: D12 has a great view and a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Lake Resort in August 2012 after staying at the Hilton As Cascatas last year. The location is perfect being 5 minutes walk from either the marina or the beach. However, the room was a let-down after the Hilton. My partner even joked if this was a 3* hotel. It desperately needs to be refurbished as carpets were fraying and fixtures had been carelessly repaired. The base of the shower had been obviously glued back together. Not really what you expect from a 5* hotel. Beds were huge and very comfortable.

Breakfast was good but nothing special. We also ate at Fusion which was very good value as drinks were included. We that the food with the exception of teriyaki salmon was rather bland.

The outside space is absolutely beautiful and there was plenty of sun lounger space for all guests. The spa facilities were also fabulous and truly worthy of the 5* label. I had an ayurvedic massage which was amazing if expensive. I was disappointed that they were not operating a concession at the beach as I much prefer to be at the beach than by the pool. Loungers and parasols at praia falesia were very expensive to hire.

I was so looking forward to staying here and it didn’t quite meet my expectations. On balance, I’d possible choose the Hilton although it was fantastic to just walk around the corner to the bars and restaurants at the marina. I’d happily stay here again but only after it’s been given a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here as two couples. The welcome from front of house staff was excellent. We were taken on a tour of the hotel. Breakfast had finished but our tour guide sorted breakfast out for us. The rooms were very spacious & very clean. The pools & grounds of the hotel are well maintained & again very clean. The staff are very courteous & friendly & were on hand to help with anything. I had a wonderful massage @ the spa. Food @ the poolside restaurant was brilliant along with the service. The same staff helped with breakfast as well, smiles all round. The Fusion restaurant was very good value with a great menu. Will definitely be back....thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just enjoyed a one week stay at The Lake Spa Resort.We had specific requirements as we were taking my daughter and son-in-law and their 5 month old baby boy.We wanted somewhere that had facilities for babies and were baby friendly,accomodation where we could share looking after him,and somewhere that we would not need a car to go out.This hotel fitted perfectly: we had a two bed,two bath appartment with a sitting room and well stocked kitchen in between plus a lovely large terrace overlooking the lake.The resort is massive with a choice of pools,even one with a sandy base,but what was impressive was the vast choice of seating areas,all with umbrellas that were spaced away from each other and included large canopied beds big enough for the five of us.Breakfast was excellent,and lunch by the pools area was fine,and just a 5 minute walk away is Villamoura Marina full of cafes,restaurants,bars and shops.Once we saw the size of the hotel,we expected that some parts would work,and others not.What we found is that in every area the staff were a delight,genuinely smiling and helpful.Any downside ? The walk from our appartment to reception was a good 5 minutes with steps to negotiate with the buggy- would not like that if it was raining ! Otherwise a really well run resort that does its very best to deliver.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 595fussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We came here to explore Vilamoura and enjoyed our stay. The hotel served our purposes and did everything it should. Check in, and out was highly efficient and friendly. The room was nice, a reasonable size, modern and with a small not at all private balcony overlooking the resort and the Marina. The hotel is quite sprawling but not unattractive within though the architect who designed the front exterior entrance needs shooting - it looks like a train station! The pool/area is fine but hemmed in with people, the grounds are pleasant and well kept and there is a good lively kids club and play park. We ate at Mare Nostrum, the floating fish restaurant. It was quiet but very good, the fish sold by weight was extremely fresh and simply served by friendly waiters. There is little in Vilamoura aside from the Marina which is touristy but full of lively bars and restaurants and perfectly enjoyable for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing