We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at how many young children were there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprised at how many young children were there”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Lovely hotel in gorgeous surroundings only a 10 minute walk to the marina.We were really surprised at how many under 5s were in the hotel. As a middle aged couple we were expecting a quiet hotel , somewhere we could chill out and get away from the stress of our busy lives. I'm sorry to say that our peace was often shattered by screaming and crying youngsters at all times of the day and night. Our room was on the ground floor and our balcony opened up onto a grassed area near to the Fusion Restaurant . When in the room on an evening we liked to leave the door open but had to close it in the end as we couldn't hear ourselves think for the children screaming outside . I'm not blaming the children or the hotel but just point this out for the benefit of any older persons who may find this issue off putting.
There was also a problem with the housekeeping. After a few days we did complain as our room still hadn't been cleaned at 4pm.

There was an evening turn down service which was a bit of a joke as it was usually done just after it had been cleaned and it seemed strange coming in around 5pm to find the turn down , curtains closed and lamps on. The downside to this was that if we wanted a shower in the morning there were no clean towels as the ones left were used the evening before, Not sure why the turndown was so early. In my experience it is usually done about 8 or 9pm . Never this early !!
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Only ate at the pool bar once and it was average and lukewarm
Watch your bill on check out as they tried to charge us for drinks from our mini bar which we had never had and I overheard them doing the same to a fellow guest.
Would I return ? ..... Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    292
    60
    22
    9
See reviews for
401
639
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the hotel from the 1st to the 11th June 2013. The hotel in the main is very nice. The rooms are fine and the bed very comfortable. I personally do not like the sliding louvered doors on the bathroom. The balcony is very small and gives you no privacy at all. The food at breakfast was very good. We only tried the floating restaurant and found it was very expensive for what you got. The pool areas need reviewing. One pool is hardly ever used as it is very cold. As a result the other is very busy and despite the well published signs saying no balls, no inflatables and no diving etc these were ignored. No point in having them if you are not going to enforce them. The pools are too shallow to allow for swimming lengths. The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. Unless you really enjoy the company of lots of under 5's in buggies at all hours of the day I would not recommend it for couples. The worst was 22:35 one night in the bar trying to watch the Portugal - Russia game and having to give up because of children screaming and running around. There needs to be some adult only areas if couples are to enjoy the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a long weekend here, had the holiday feel as soon as we arrived. Super cool hotel, lovely pools, plenty of free loungers, helpful staff and tasty food at the pool bar. They even do a good Pimms! Big thumbs ip for the breakfast too. I love Praia Falesia so I love the location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a six night stay with my husband. We were looking for complete R&R and that is what we got. The Lake resort is a short car ride from Faro Airport. You are greeted on arrival and immediately in the large airy lobby feel relaxed. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Beds comfy, but the shower was a bit of a let down - no need to put in a rain shower if there isn't the water pressure to match. Staff are generally on the reserved side but are nevertheless helpful and we didn't have to wait for anything when we asked for it.

Some highlights:
Excellent breakfast buffets, including champagne
Fusion restaurant - excellent menu and all three meals we had here were reasonably priced and very enjoyable
Pool bar - again good standard of food and best cocktails at the venue (much better than their bar!)
Spacious - plenty of room around the pools, didn't feel in any way crowded
Lovely spa facilities
Location - very short walk to both the beautiful sandy beach and the marina

Some warnings:
Don't be tempted by the lure of their fish restaurant. Overpriced and nowhere near as good as other restaurants just a short walk away at the marina. It's a nice view but that's it
Wifi was flaky: be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mithu_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is my first real visit to this part of the Algarve and I have been pleasantly surprised. Expecting the remnants of the 70s concrete jungles many towns have rejuvenated their town centres and given themselves a facelift that embrace what a modern tourist is looking for.

The Lake Resort takes this to the extreme with its country club look and feel. Classical architecture and modern combine for a unique experience. Set at the end of the relatively new town of Vilamaoura and surrounded by an infinite number of golf courses, the manicured verges of the roadside and landscape succeed in making you escape to a land that is as authentic Portuguese as is Disneyland.

The Lake resort is a relative new build exquisitely done in a low rise development set amongst some beautiful gardens. The rooms are well thought out and imaginatively spacious. When all that I can find to complain about the room is the location and design of the toilet roll holder, you know that they have got the room right. Pastel shades and modern decor make the place homely whilst remaining functional.

The five star rating is well deserved. Complimentary underground parking and turn down serviceable included in the price. However the complimentary wifi is next to useless anywhere except at the hotel lobby. When you do manage to get a reliable connection you give serious thought to why you didn't pack the carrier pigeons for a faster delivery of your messages.

Staff are very friendly and helpful all the time. From the hardworking pool attendants to waiters and reception staff.

The three pools in the resort is where the guests can be found during the day. There are plenty of loungers to go round but you are going to have to get up at the crack of dawn if you want one of the lounger beds despite there being a ban on reserving. There is one heated outdoor pool but this a relative concept as the one next to it is positively freezing! The centrepiece of the resort is the unique sand filled pool, allegedly the only one in Europe. Here you will find parents with their children building sandcastles and the like.

And this is the resort's niche market... Parents with one child at toddler stage and another one on the way. We fell into this category but we could not believe how many other there are in the same predicament and how we all came to be in the same resort. So here is my warning to those thinking of coming to the resort, if you have an aversion to children thinking of a romantic break or are having difficulties conceiving, this is not the resort to choose. Having said this, the resort is ideal for haggard parents wanting to re-establish some form of normality, even this means bringing along the child-minders disguised as grandparents.

The resort does well in keeping you inside the walled gardens by tempting you with a good selection of restaurants. A lunchtime light food and snack bar by the pools. A wonderful fusion restaurant with great tasting dishes and a fish restaurant floating on the lake. The latter being pricey but worth it. Twice we went there. On the first occasion we paid EURO75 per kilo for wild Sea Bream for two and on the second EURO45 per kilo for Turbot. Both were cooked to perfection even though the market proce was no where near the real thing (a quick visit to Quateria market confirms the real price on those fish but they were truly exceptional!)

Two issues, the speed of service and children's menu. With a toddler having the patience of a bee I would like service to be ruthlessly efficient, to the point of being rude. Instead you get a very leisurely service which can try your own patience. If catering for children is your resort's main selling point then there must be a better effort at providing a children's menu that does not consist of processed chicken nuggets, fish fingers, pasta and pizza. The fusion restaurant did provide a fillet of sea bass which was magnificent for our child and that must be the way to go for lunch menus as well as dinners. (And parents… you will soon tire of drawing in the same same picture day after day, night after night.. some variety here please for the sanity of the parents… or bring your own colouring book!)

The spa is excellent. I got a deep tissue massage that made my eyes water, exactly as I wanted it and my wife got two treatments for herself. All of these were carried out by staff who knew what they were doing, in some lovely surroundings and at a reasonable cost.

If you do manage to tear yourself away then the tacky-but-trying marina is a few minutes walk away. Avoid the tourist traps and you can find a very authentic grilled sardines and Cataplana. A wonderful beach is to found on the other side of the wall. You will need a car to go any further and explore the lovely beaches and charming towns nearby.

This is not a resort where you will find washboard stomachs, fake boobs, tattooed perky butts in a g-string, this is much more classy than that. Men and women with wobbly bits having a great time with their very well behaved children, now that they got the hang of it, is the motto of the resort's well to do (mainly British) clientele.

Would I return? Probably but I still have to come to terms with a resort that is trying so hard not to be Portuguese with my choice to choose to holiday in Portugal. I could have gone to Florida and I would haven't been the wiser except for the room charges being in a different currency.

Room Tip: Sea facing, just because you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dparody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the lake, beach pool and green areas make for relaxing viewing. The service of the hotel is very good and the staff are all very helpful. Lovely spa area with pools, saunas and baths as well as massages (a little pricey). A great touch about this was the option to shower on check out in this area where towels, bath robes and slippers were provided in a locker for you. The food in the pool bar was basic but nice overlooking the lake. The floating fish restaurant was quite expensive, but the alternate fusion restaurant was 3 courses for €28 and provided much more option as well as better quality food.
The only down for us as a couple on a relaxing holiday (no fault of the hotel) was the amount of children and babies screaming and crying constantly. Not a place if you wish to escape children.
Excellent overall and would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just not got the 5 stars from me. Helpful staff but a for a few it's seems to be hard work.
The breakfast area is quite small and the selection of food seems to be a problem. One toaster is all they have and the cue was far to long to join. Had croissants and coffee for the time I was there.
Rather expensive for everything!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
742 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,516 reviews
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing