We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent a week here end of March/beginning of April. Although the weather wasn't too great to start our holiday, the hotel certainly made up for it. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. The view out to the lake, gardens and sea beyond was perfect. Lots of places to sit and relax. Not far to the beach and what a beach it is - just fantastic. Breakfasts were fine and had everything you could possibly need. The staff were very good and attentive. Had lunch here one day and it was okay. The indoor spa area is a great area to chill out. The marina isn't far away with plenty of restaurants and bars etc. All in all a lovely place to visit and we'll definitely be back later this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Had_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    264
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
368
584
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant apartment , great location, pool area is superb, quality of accommodation fantastic. The marina is a lovely place to spend a family evening - everything anyone could wish for. Food was fantastic, and service was great

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The best hotel by far that we have ever stayed in, apart from in Thailand. Perfect paradise, staff are impeccable, friendly, can't do enough for you. Our room was central and overlooked the two pools and the private beach as well as the sea in the distance, I think all rooms overlook this sea view. There are vast grounds so you can go for walks inside the confines of the hotel. The hotel is much prettier at the back than when you enter the front, which is built of large arches and brickwork. We stayed in March, if you are going in the next month or so I would say take some warm tops for the evening, even a gilet or lightweight puffa jacket, and a scarf. The sun was around 75-80 degrees but there was a chill wind even in daytime. The marina is a five minute walk with plenty of restaurants. One of the best things about the Lake Spa is that the guests were 99% British, middle aged and honeymooners... no hens or stags. Breakfast to die for, lots of delicious fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cooked breakfast, cereals and nuts, just anything you could want. A vast choice of sunbeds in March, wonderful chill out beds, we could just take our pick. And no rows of towels left on seats, everything was at a laid back pace. No music around the pool which is a blessing, although the water was cold in March. There is an indoor swimming pool/spa with whirlpool, it was nice to sit inside, have a swim and relax. If you don't want the staff to knock on your door and disturb you around six pm to turn back the covers and leave a chocolate on the bed, just put the Do Not Disturb sign on your door. Beautiful soft clean towels every day and silky bedding. The only negative is that there is no tea or coffee in your room, if you want to have tea in the afternoon (for 5 Euros including little cakes or chocolates), they will only give you one teabag each. Needless to say there were plenty of spare teabags at breakfast.. If we were to return to Vilamoura, we would definitely 100% stay here again. The best thing about staying in March is that the hotel was very quiet, not a lot of people, but you have to put up with the weather being a little on the chilly side sometimes.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea views, but a good idea is to email the hotel before you go, to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaveTheBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the beautiful room and view, this place is honestly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
Our room was spacious and ambient and the view stunning. We enjoyed the lovely walk around the pools & lake and made good use of the bikes available to tour the area.
The food was fantastic, both at breakfast and the couple of evenings when we ate in Fusion. There was an extensive choice and the quality was always of a very high standard, as was the service in all areas of the hotel.
We made just one visit to the Blue Spa area and the hydro pool area was a delight, particularly the water jets which totally cured my aching shoulders.
I don't often like to visit the same place twice, however this hotel is definitely an exception & we can't wait to return in the near future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WickedTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, stunningly presented with every possible facility and staff who really 'go the extra mile' to ensure that guests are happy and well looked after at all times. I booked the hotel after reading previous reviews, as I had to travel for a short visit to the Algarve on business and was unsure of where to stay for a couple of nights. From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome and that everything would be done to ensure a brilliant stay. The facilities are superb (try the relaxation beds by one of the outside pool areas), breakfast unbelievably good (with good quality sparkling wine to compliment a stunning array of fresh food), dinner absolutely superb in terms of quality, choice and service (a full page of vegetarian options). The room was large, light, airy and spotlessly clean and well decorated. The spa area (free for guests) was peaceful and offered a comprehensive range of experiences and treatments. In short, I cannot think of one negative thing to say about this hotel, after almost 20 years of business travel and stays in luxury hotels, I thought that I had seen and experienced the best - until I arrived here. What a place - book now!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March for a week and loved it and Vilamoura as a resort.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, beds are enormous and by booking a sea view we had sun on our balcony all day. The only things I'd add to the rooms are an iPhone dock or mp3 player, a remote that matched the tv brand so it worked properly, and more hangers. You can order an iron up the room, and a kettle if you're really miss tea and coffee facilities. Housekeeping is hit and miss, they didn't notice tissues were empty, tidy up anything other than the bed and towels whereas I love it when you come back to all your makeup tidied and clothes folded - a little 5 star touch perhaps. The little chocolate at turn down was delicious!

The beach is really easy to get to and just gorgeous. Massive expanses of soft golden sand ideal for walking off the generous breakfast at the hotel. Loved the pancakes, fresh fruit and pastries, but be sure to ask for fresh pancakes as they go stale really quick if you're getting the ones they've laid out.

The staff are all very friendly but I have to agree with the previous reviewer, they weren't very attentive. With the pool bar closed for the season they should have been regularly checking on the guests for food and drink orders but were rarely seen. They certainly weren't too busy as the hotel was virtually empty. Even inside at the bar noone came to clear empty glasses or ask us if we wanted another drink.

We were told the pool bar and fish restaurant were closed but not also that the only evening restaurant open was only serving a set menu. The buffet was also closed and the bar snacks, whilst really tasty, were massively overpriced. Luckily the Marina just around the corner has an amazing choice of restaurants and cafes. We'd highly recommend Akvavit for an evening meal and lunch, and My Thai was excellent. Do check the couvert prices, and if you really want to pay 4/5 euros for a couple of slices of bread!

There were lots of sun loungers and we managed to get time on the fabulous large comfy chill out beds. We did notice the 'cabana snatchers' out in force though, despite the signs saying it wasn't allowed, their towels were down reserving them before breakfast and they left all their stuff all day even when they disappeared for a 2 hour lunch so noone else could use them. The hotel didn't seem bothered about following up on their warning towels would be removed so it was a shame to see other guests miss out. There were lots of other seating areas so plenty of space to relax.

Pools are great, a bit chilly for March, apparently only one is heated and not in low season, which seems odd as it's when it's colder you need the pool heating! The spa area was wonderful though, with warm jet pools, lots of beds to relax on, steam and sauna rooms. I enjoyed a really nice Mum-to-be facial and leg massage although had to ask to be sat up as I couldn't lie down that long. Not sure if they're really that experienced in prenatal spa treatments but the leg massage was wonderful. My husband used the gym a few times which had some good equipment but seriously lacking maintenance. He had to point out a bolt about to fall out of a weight machine which could have been really dangerous. Sea air and sweat is rusting the equipment, the heart rate monitors don't work and there were no free weights heavier than 10kg. Just needs some tlc we think.

The hotel offered no entertainment which surprised me for a 5 star hotel, and only football on the tv. The bar was therefore empty as the bars in the marina had great live music.

Overall this was a wonderful, luxurious holiday which was just what we needed before the next family member arrives. The hotel needs to work just a little harder to really be 5 star, but there is so little to fault it's a beautiful place to stay. Vilamoura is a great resort for relaxing, dining and people watching. Lots of places offering water sports galore too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book sea view as ours got the sun on the balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our stay was out of season (mid March), which made the hotel very quiet - which suited us well. There was no shortage at all of sun beds, and we even managed to get on of the lovely, large, comfy loungers adjacent the sand-bottomed pool every day of our stay. These are great - plenty of cushions and great to chill on!

The sand-bottomed pool is beautifully located, you can sit on the "beach" area, looking over the pool, and then the lake. During March, however, all the outdoor pools were a bit too chilly! The indoor pool and spa, however, was gorgeous - good sized pool, loads of water features (high-pressure fountains, waterfalls etc), good size jacuzzi, a sea-salt bath, sauna etc.

Breakfast was excellent, a good range of hot food, freshly cooked eggs if required, loads of cold food for the continental - pastries, cold meat, cheeses, fruits etc. Even champagne available (nice touch!).

Staff were friendly and helpful, and very professional. We did think, however,that as some of the facilities (such as pool-side bar) were closed due to being out of season, staff could have been more proactive in servicing these areas. They were more than happy to bring drinks and food down to the pool, but did seem to expect guests to go to the bar to order. Not a big deal, but as the staff outnumbered guests at one stage, it could have been done!

On our last day, we had an early transfer, before breakfast started, and we were offered a continental breakfast, on room service. This was a lovely treat to end on, and a great spread was provided.

Location is good - ten minute walk from the marina, and from the beach. Grounds are lovely to walk round.

We would thoroughly recommend the hotel based on our experience,however, we did wonder how the hotel facilities will cope when the hotel is full.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing