We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel in Vilamoura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We needed a hotel for a one night stay in Vilamoura prior to checking-in to our villa. This reeasonably priced hotel is in an excellent location (next to the Old Course), has very friendly staff and a good size pool. The one bedroom rooms are spacious and the pool is a good sized. The food wasn't particularly appealing but there are more than enough restaurants in Vilamoura itself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhysCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel is clean and basic, with beautifully maintained grounds and pool. The room was quite large and had all the facilities needed to prepare food. Our room was serviced daily and fresh towels brought in. The shuttle bus to the marina is quite handy, although the last one leaves at 5pm so we found that a little too early to go in for the night. Overall we had a good time, this place is so relaxed. The only issue we encountered was when the lady came in to clean one morning - I was literally only getting out of bed when she bombarded me about a towel and the few make up marks that were on it. She had very poor English so basically kept saying "no" at me. I found this extremely off-putiing. As any female will know, it is near on impossible not to mark the towel when drying one's face after wearing make-up, but it is simply removed in the wash. This incident was a little bit of a spoiler of that day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMG186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is a hard hotel for me to rate. We went there as my girlfriend had previously visited with a friend and had a great time. The room we ended up in was very clean and quite spacious, the staff seemed nice, the grounds well were-kept and the pool a good size, without being unduly busy. So far so good, and I would probably have given it about 4 out of 5 if this were the full story (it's nice, without being luxurious).

However, the problem is with the room we were given when we turned up. To put this in perspective, my girlfriend (having visited only a few weeks before), had emailed and asked for the same or a similar room. When we saw what we'd been given, we were pretty horrified. It was basically like a prison cell: the tiny balcony looked out directly onto a dusty road; the room was so small that you could touch the kitchen hob whilst lying in bed, and there were no work surfaces to prepare food (making cooking effectively impossible). The room was dark, dingy and a 2* standard. To top it all of, when we asked reception, they said that although we'd (very politely) emailed ahead, they couldn't always agree to requests. Fair enough, but putting someone who'd specially asked for something in the worst room possible seemed to be based either on spite or a total disregard for their customers.

Eventually, after much hassle, and having been told all the rooms were full, we were moved to a better room - in fact, incomparably better, as it was at least twice the size, with a proper kitchen, sofa, actual natural light etc. But I would definitely not go back, because I wouldn't want to risk ending up in the bad room or one similar again - it would have ruined the stay there, and was a 2* experience. Which is a shame, as the other rooms are nice, but be warned of the risk!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rf263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel was brilliant. Went for 1 week with my mum. Staff were really friendly and helpful, they booked are excursions and taxis for us. Mini bus to the marina and beach was always on time. Walked to the marina most evenings, takes about 50mins, then got a taxi back for about 6 euros. Hotel also had a nice bar which was reasonably priced. Nice pool with plently of sun loungers. Studio Apartment was big enough for two, had a microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and hob, hairdryer, clean towels every day. Already looking to go again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A friend and I wanted a tabbing break to escape the Olympics in London so picked the cheapest decent looking hotel online and lucked out! Self catering studio was spacious, clean, tastefully done, well designed and had a huge private balcony. Pool beautifully kept with lovely lawns to sunbathe on and lovely padded loungers. Pool bar staff friendly and food well priced. Receptionists helpful - one called around garages when I smashed my wing mirror (oops!). We had a problem with the bath plug and called reception - a maintenance man was with us in ten mins and sorted it immediately. Maids cleaned and mopped every day. The service was great.
We had a car so could pootle around the resort which was well worth it but to be honest we were pretty blissed out just sunbathing and pottering.
We are pretty fussy on some fronts and were so impressed as it was clean, classy, simple and friendly. It was not flashy and doesn't pretend to be so it's just a quiet, calm lovely place to stay.

Poked my head into a non self catering hotel room and though it looked nice not a patch on the studio. Supermarket two mins walk away if you don't have a car. Taxi to marina about seven euros. slightly irritating wifi arrangement in that you have to pay and can only get it in reception.

It's a gem, almost reluctant to give it a good review as don't want it to get too popular in case there is no space for me next year! X

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RjaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from staying at the Apartmento Do Golf. The complex is lovely with just a small selection of villas placed around a private pool, making it a very relaxing tranquil stay. The complex consists of a restaurant, bar, games room and internet, costing 1 euro per 15 minutes.

We pre-paid for accommodation with breakfast and evening meal which cost £450 pp for 9 days from June 26. The apartment was lovely, very clean with maid service daily and a luxury bathroom with shower and large sink area. Each room had their own balcony either overlooking the pool area, mountains or the nearest golfing area. The grounds of the complex were immaculate and the pool was cleaned every night.

The staff were very polite and helpful and the food was tasty too. Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of either a cooked English, french, fruit, cereal, tea and coffee or everything if you wanted, as it was self service. The evening meals were good too. A three course meal with a choice of two-three options from each section (drinks weren't included in what we paid)

The resort itelf is very very quiet with just a small supermarket, a two minute walk from the complex. There is an hourly bus service outside the complex where you can travel for just a few euros to neighbouring Quarteira Marina (10 mins by bus) or Albufeira (30 minutes by bus). Quarteira consists of bars and restaurants by the marina as well as a beach. This area is great for the elderly and younger holiday goers. Albufeira is much louder and fast-pasted, rather like Magaluff or Benidorm, in terms of atmosphere, but classier. It too has a lovely clean beach.

We both enjoyed having the tranquility of the apartment complex, but also having the opportunity to get buses to these other areas. It's definately a place you could go to for a week and see everything. A 14 day stay may be too much for those wanting to do something everyday
When we stayed, there were both youngish couples (around 25/30yrs) and elderly couples as well as young familes with small children.

Overall, the complex was wonderfully peaceful and we had a very relaxing enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here for a a week from 4 July to 11 July. Cannot fault the hotel, it was excellent the staff could not do enough for us. Very good for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris051183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#20 of 36 in Vilamoura
970 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,789 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos do Golf

Address: Volta Alto do Golfe, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-507, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £24 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos do Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmento Do Golfe Vilamoura
Apartmento Do Golfe Hotel
Hotel Apartamentos Do Golf Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing