We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most peaceful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“most peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

love this hotel would go back in a heartbeat if your looking for peace and a tranquil holiday in vilamoura this is it its very clean fresh towels and maid service every day just come back sep 7th 2010 its popular with the golfers but you dont see them there out all day playing love it only down side is you have to get taxis on a night to the marina were all the bars and restaraunts are theres a free hotel bus three or four times a day back and forth but it last trip to marina is 5 o clock they will ring you taxis for free at reception dont take long about 6 or 7 euros but if theres other couples waiting we used to share with them same coming back at the taxi stand but i think if it was closer to marina it wouldnt be as peaceful good food on marina too

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginny12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    115
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
79
165
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We spent 1 week at Do Golf Apts which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The Studio Apartment was clean which was a main priority for us. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was larger than expected with 2 sinks. Kitchen area included 2 electric rings, kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge. Although we didn't cook in the apartment, I did notice the microwave had settings for various food types so you were not limited to just heating things up.

The apartment was cleaned everyday.

The balcony was fantastic with great views and was not overlooked by neighbouring apartments.

The food in the restaurant and snack bar was cooked to perfection.

All of the staff were friendly and courteous.

There is a room to store your luggage if your checkout is later in the day like ours was. We were unable to keep our room as is was needed for new arrivals. We were still able to use the pool and was offered clean towels and toiletries to shower in the pool locker room which we thought was a lovely gesture. We were pleasantly surprised as this area was spotlessly clean!

The pool and surrounding area was cleaned everyday. Sunbeds were available at all times of the day which were free of charge. The pool area was quite relaxing and never crowded.

There is a free minibus from the hotel to the supermarket every morning, and to the marina and beach at other times of the day as they are too far to walk. The supermarket is at the back of the marina so if you miss the morning bus, you are able to still get there on a later bus. Failing that you can get a bus from the bus stop at the top of the road or reception can order you a taxi. A taxi cost aprox 6 Euros to the Marina, but some charged up to 8 Euros coming back. This might have been because it was later - just like at home really!

The Marina was lovely day and night with plenty of restaurants, bars and a few shops. It does get very busy at night, but not too busy that you are turned away from restaurants etc.

Our holiday rep Whitney was lovely. Very friendly, good sense of humour and always willing to help.

The beach was clean and ashtrays were provided on the way in to keep it clean! There are beach bars available, toilets and a shower room. There's also tap water to wash sand off your feet after exiting the beach which we found very useful.

If we were to visit Vilamoura again we would stay at the Do Golf apts. Unfortunately there are too many other countries we would like to visit, so it might be a while before we can return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Myself,husband and 9 year old son have just stayed here for a week half board. Staff great,food great,pool lovely,fresh towels and room cleaned every day . Hotel felt safe,very relaxing place to stay.shuttle bus to marina/beach runs 4/5 times a day. we found vilamoura quite expensive,but the marina and beach are lovely. I would definately return to this hotel,as do the guests we met that have been coming here for years.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Just returned from a relaxing week holiday at this hotel we stayed in a studio that overlooked the pool, the room was quite big for a studio and very clean, the cleaners came in every day tidyed the room and brought in fresh towels.
When we booked in we were told that the supermarket the brochure said was 500mtrs away had closed and the nearest one was near the marina 3km away, this can be a problem if you are self catering as we were. The hotel has a bus that runs four times a day to the beach or the marina so we caught the bus to the marina found a supermarket called Jafers stocked up for a week and hired a taxi to take us back to the hotel.
The walk from the hotel to the marina took us about 50 minutes I'am 65 my better half 57
after around 1.5kms you can cross into the middle of the road and walk through well laid out parks that has benches fountains and lots of trees for some welcome shade.
The marina has lots of shops and restaurants but we found the best value places to eat and drink were often behind the marina, the O Colonial soon became our favourite, the owners Fernando and Isabel will often come to your table for a chat and to ask if you were happy with the food and service, it's not the cheapest place in town but well worth a visit. We found a Vodka bar on our last night in the same area as the O Colonial that was very friendly and not too expensive.
You can walk to Quarteira from the the marina just head for the Tivoli hotel keep it on your right go up the road a little way turn right and you will soon be on the beach it only takes about ten minutes and you can cool your feet as you go. Most of the shops in Quarteira seen to be on the seafront, but if you do walk over look out for a snack bar called Sandmania in one of the side streets and eat with the locals great food good prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themalt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Have just returned from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing holiday in clean and beautiful surroundings.
All staff were friendly (even in reception) and were very helpful at all times.
Was only about half full and it was lovely not having to fight for sunbeds around the pool as a lot of the guests were golfers and were out most of the day.
We were half board basis and the food was good and plenty of it - breakfast consisted of the usual continental selection and bacon, sausage and eggs - buffet style.
Evening meals were served to the table and there was always a choice of soup or salad, main course choice of fish or meat dish and then a choice of desserts. Not great if you don't like chicken or turkey (like my mother in law) but they made her an omelette on the nights where there was nothing on the menu she liked.
We hired a car for the duration of our holiday as we like to explore and you would be a bit stuck without one although the courtesy bus goes to the marina 4 times a day.
The supermarket near the hotel has closed down so the nearest one is in Vilamoura near the marina but if you have a car there is a LIDL about 20 min drive away at Albufeira.
Marina is expensive for food and drink but worth trying a couple of the restaurants for a change to the hotel food.
The hotel rooms are clean and although they are a little dated they are very well maintained and the towels are changed every day. Also has a pull out clothes drier on the balcony - amazing the little things that please me!!
We had booked a standard room with half board with Alpha rooms and then booked our parents in via another website but they had a mini kitchen in their room and we only had a fridge and kettle - enough for us but might be worth checkng if you need self catering facilities.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone with older kids or anyone who enjoys the nightlife but well worth a visit for anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Twice we have stayed here now,excellent quiet base,value for money.Could probably give better pillows in room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I have just got back from the hotel, and I don't think I have a bad thing to say about it! We had a lovely week, the apartments are really spacious, clean and has absolutely everything you could want. We went self catering but actually ate at the restaurant 3 nights as it was reasonable both in price and quality. The staff were lovely (with the exception of the reception staff funnily enough) and even left us an Easter egg yesterday morning! It is a very quiet hotel in a quiet area with nothing really within walking distance other than a small supermarket. We didn't hire a car, and just spent the week lazing by the pool or on our large balcony and it is perfect for that, particularly given the price. The courtesy bus was regular and helpful if you decide not to hire a car, as we had some lovely meals too down at the marina. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
722 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,654 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos do Golf

Property: Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Address: Volta Alto do Golfe, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-507, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#10 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apartamentos do Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmento Do Golfe Vilamoura
Apartmento Do Golfe Hotel
Hotel Apartamentos Do Golf Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing