We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel lovely, massively over-priced, processed food in the bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Le Biot, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel lovely, massively over-priced, processed food in the bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

On the plus side: hotel was lovely, rooms and bathrooms great, lots of swimming pools, separate adult pool area, breakfast was fabulous, great spa, staff very friendly and willing to assist (e.g. got a late check out). Great family resort.

However, making this an average rating was the following: Nothing out of the ordinary/special for a 5 star resort, it was very over-priced (the spa, food and drink at the hotel), lack of availability of water (could buy small bottles at a huge price), there was only one place to eat during the day with a horrible menu filled with processed foods at excessive prices (I therefore came home feeling ill due to the food), it's location is out of the way which is fine as they supply good shuttle buses but it means you are stuck with the pool bar for lunch every day if you are at the hotel unless you want a big journey to get something else to eat, there is no free wi-fi (it costs €9 a day). The staff at the poolside bar for lunch were friendly, but very poor with service (e.g. it would take 30 mins for a drink to arrive and they kept forgetting, food would be brought out that we hadn't ordered) and items kept being added to our bill that we hadn't consumed or asked for - although this happened outside of the resort too in the marina, so be careful and check your bill!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    616
    185
    54
    18
See reviews for
821
959
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long Girlie Weekend. We enjoyed the luxury from the moment we checked in. The staff were very friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless, well appointed ( plugs, mirrors all in convenient places!!) The lighting in the room was better than the average hotel ( quite important for us ladies getting ready in the evening!!) The beds were so comfortable I wanted to slep in longer. Breakfast finishes at 11 so there was no rush to get up in the morning. I can honestly say that breakfast here is wonderful. I stuck to the healthy options but enjoyed every mouthful. There is an hourly shuttle during the day to the beautiful uncrowned private beach, and a beach bar which sells food. There was never a problem if the bus was full, the driver would come back to collect the extra passengers. In the evening there is a one way shuttle to the Marina. Nothing was ever a problem. It's a shame there was not a supermarket nearer the hotel, as water etc quite pricey in the hotel. I think we paid 5 Euros for water to take back to our room. I'm sure if we had been there longer we would have found a small shop, but we were only there three nights so it wasn't a problem.I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We are just back today from a week at Hilton Vilamoura. We are family of four with 2 children under 6. When we arrived the hotel was pleasant but glad we left today as it's now overrun with people and in my view, just too many around which made pool and breakfast too overcrowded. We only stay at 5 star hotels, so my expectations are always high. This hotel is excellent on cleanliness (top of my list) and staff helpfulness, but not all staff have great command of english. I have to commend Rui the waiter in the buffet restaurant for his friendliness and helpfulness. Fine for a week to re-charge, but don't go at peak times, you will not be relaxed with so many people around!!

Room Tip: Opt for a green view and not a pool view as you might have noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BELLABELLA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just back from a lovely one-week stay at the five-star Hilton in Villamoura. I must say that's it's unusual for a hotel to be as good as all of the reviews but they're right - this hotel was top notch.

Arriving into Faro, it's about a half-hour taxi ride to the hotel (cost E36 + tip) in Villamoura, a lovely quaint town. The hotel was great - marble lobby, spacious, exceptionally nice and friendly staff (particularly Carlos and Hugo at reception), big rooms with great a/c, super bathroom, big comfy bed with flat screen tv, and a bigg-ish balcony.

There were a variety of pools which catered for the variety of clients - couples and families. The poolside bar was great, as were the pools, and the staff there were very nice.

The town was a short ride on the free shuttle bus service run by the hotel, but we walked each night, only about 25 mins. A taxi home was about E4. The restaurants in the town were great, lovely food, friendly staff, and good value. Exceptional ice-cream!

Good bars, good music, and it was SUNNY all the time!

All-in-all, this was a lovely holiday in a great spot with a super hotel - can't fault it.

Oh, got the hotels car service back to the airport (E34), very nice and friendly Ukrainian driver - easier than a taxi and would suggest using this service in both directions.

Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have been here as a couple and subsequently with young kids and keep coming back as we know exactly what we're getting and are happy every time.

The rooms are clean, we usually get a 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and washing machine, great with kids, especially since we end up being indoors during kids' nap times. We always get complimentary water, soft drinks etc upon arrival but usually walk to the nearby supermarket to stock up on essentials for kids.

The staff at the kids club are great and obviously love children. We usually go to the 7-Spa daily to use the indoor heated pool, get massages and facials. Our favourite therapist there is Able.

We usually sign up on check-in for the breakfast buffet deal which is worth every cent. The food is varied and caters to every taste. We are very thankful to the Food and Beverage General Manager who always tries to entertain our son giving him balloons, or offering him special meals (though he's a great eater so we've never actually needed a special kids meal for him).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are quieter so probably better for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snath012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here as a family, for a short 5 day break in late may. From the one moment we arrived through the door, until we checked out, the service was truly fantastic. A huge thanks must go to all the staff we met, they were thoroughly polite, charming, and helpful, everone one of them from the reception staff upon check in and check out, to the maid, the breakfast staff, the bar staff (both in rubi, and around the pool).

The hotel is located off a main road, so you shouldnt find sleeping with the balcony doors open a problem as their is little traffic using it. It also has many swimming pools of various sizes to cater for all. From a baby pool to keep the toddlers happy, through to a main pool for all and a slighty smaller one with a waterfall which was set away from the kids if you need a little relaxing time. They also have a heated indoor pool which is ideal if the weather was cooler (thankfully during my stay it wasnt needed.

The hotel serves its typical Hilton Buffet breakfast, which has just about every possible thing you could ever think of!! and would normally fill you up untill dinner. The bar (Rubi) is also excellent, serving beautifully made cocktails, and a good selection of wines on offer. The decor is modern with a relaxed feel to it. I tried the restaurant for dinner one night also (again its a buffet) but was of high quality and there are daily changes (themes) to the dinner, so i would imagine its hard to get tired of the same food.

Room service was equally as good, and the portions of food delivered larger than you usually get in other hotels ive experienced.
The two rooms I booked were of a very good size (one was on the 1st floor facing the side entrance, looking towards the Golf course, & the other was on the 3rd floor facing the main pool) I loved the contempary look and the clever idea of how they merge the bathroom - bedroom area's together. Looks cool. But has a curtain to close off in needed. The maids did a fantastic job cleaning the rooms and after returning after a day out or around the pool was always immaculate.

I Really shouldnt give a special mention to any staff as everyone one of them were truly fantastic, but a personal thank you to Hugo at the reception desk, Stephaine around the pool.

I can honestly say, this was a fantastic stay, and are looking forward to returning soon in the future, and would'nt consider staying at another property after our experience.

Room Tip: If you want to explore outside of the hotel, hire a car to explore the many beautiful beaches and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattitouk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed at the hotel in May for 4 nights. It was a fantastic break - the hotel is stunning and our room was very contemporary with a really luxurious bathroom. Pool areas lovely and breakfast was one of the best we have had on holiday.
The only slight downside is the cost of food & drink but I suppose you have to expect this in a 5* hotel. There isn't much in the immedate vicinity but the marina is easily accessible via the courtesy bus that the hotel runs. There is however a fabulous portuguese bar/restuarant within easy walking distance called O'Pirata to which a visit is a must.
We got an early booking deal at the Hilton and wouldn't hesitate to return if we could stay at this price again as it was fabulous.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brijo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
15.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing