We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint it ain't” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Quaint it ain't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Given the many golfers staying in this part of the Algarve it is appropriate that the Hilton looks like a bunker, although sadly a concrete one.

But don't be put off by the dreadful architecture, you will see plenty of that on any trip to this part of Portugal anyway. And the rooms are spotless and well sized whilst the staff do their best to be friendly in this large and soulless venue.

There are the obligatory pool and spa facilities for non golfers and the Vilamoura marina is only a short cab ride away. Cabs in the western Algarve are extremely reasonable so for those worried about having too much to drink in the Marina then do not panic. Anyway, there are loads of people having too much to drink in the Marina- the focal point of British tourist activity away from the numerous golf courses.

For those who want to get some idea of life for the Portuguese then do check out some of the nearby towns such as Silves where small, family restaurants can be found and enjoyed.

  • Liked — First class bedroom, bathroom facilities
  • Disliked — Its looks
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    616
    185
    54
    18
See reviews for
821
960
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wbassett
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Hilton Vilamoura and unfortunately we were disapointed by the overall standard of the room and service offered by the staff. The room and bathroom are quite small and as we had our 9 year old son in with us it was extremley cramped. There is limited wardrobe space and we had to ask for additional hangers as only 10 provided for the three of us. We also experienced problems with having our room serviced sometimes it still was not done by 5pm when we were returning from the pool. They also start the turn down service early often before we had a chance to shower before going out for an early dinner. The service around the pool was not very good and the staff in the main buffett and pool restaurants seem to have a problem serving childfen, they left my son standing without serving him even though he had waited in a que for 15mins to be served ice cream. I was not impressed by this and complained but the waiter just said he should have shouted for them to serve him, I dont think so he has been brought up with more manners than that. There is something not quite right about the standard of service in this hotel it definately does not compare well with 5 star hotels we have stayed in in crete and cyprus but the prices are definately 5 star!! It almost seems like the hotel is run for the convenience of the staff and not the guests and it is not as child friendly as advertised. All the comments about poor food and lack of sun beds is true and the pool area is locked until 9am so no chance of an early morning swim, never experienced anything like this before not sure why. Would we stay again definately no, not while there are so many wonderful 5 star hotels offerring some much better service and value for money in other places.

  • Liked — glass wall in bathroom
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

My husband son and I have just returned from a fortnight's holiday at this hotel. On arrival the hotel seemed very clean and impressive and the staff helpful. The room was clean but very compact. Breakfast was very nice, although between 10-11 the queue for a table was right out of the door. We had a hire car so did not experience any of the problems regarding taxis into town.
The main problem which really got us angry was the lack of sunbeds. A five star hotel whether in high season or not should have adequate numbers of sunbeds to accomodate all guests. This hotel definately did not. There was a line of guests waiting for the pool area to open each day, and it seemed like survival of the fittest to grab a sunbed!! If you were lucky enough to get a sunbed, you were aprehensive to leave it to grab lunch as towels and belongings were swept away after half an hour of not being there! The poolside area itself was not too clean, tables should have been wiped the night before and we noticed that they were sticky first thing in the morning. I am aware that this is a new hotel and has not been open for long, but you do expect more than this when you are booking a Hilton hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

just got back from a 3 night stay at the hilton. Booked a king room with golf views. Arrived to find room was small overlooking a busy road. Complained and told the only room available in the hotel available was the president suite. Decided to take this as this was going to be my only holiday this year. Room was of execptional decor and space, with an execptional price. Booked room service for breakfast - turned up on time but stone cold.. Arrived back to roon later in the day to find room had not been cleaned, was then done at 4pm. The hotels location lets it down as it is a residencial area and no where near any facilities - other than a golf course. The spa is of of this world and its a great getaway if thats all you want, to spend most of the time in the hotel. It was a shame the 5 star service was not met, one hotel i will not be visiting again.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank badweatherSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

On balance this is a good new hotel with good facilities, but is inconsistent in the delivery of them and the services it provides. The good points: superb apartments ( we stayed in a two bed garden-facing room which was very well appointed), lots of pools, reasonably quiet location, good breakfasts (but expensive), minibus service to beach and the marina at night, private beach with inclusive towel and beds on a very nice beach just west of the marina. The bad points: apartment servicing was haphazard ( nearly every day we asked for shampoos etc as none left), the pool-side service was very slow and the "reserving" of sun-beds was a joke. Almost at no time did I see more than 50% occupancy of the sun-beds yet every one had a towel on it, presumably from people who were elsewhere but reserved just in case. The minibus service as above was a great feature but fell apart in the last few days of our stay as there were just too many people wanting to go the marina and despite a second bus it just didnt work. A taxi was only 4 euros but hard to get at that time albeit we did get a few on chance that were dropping off. Also for a five star hotel the restaurant choice isnt great. The best restaurant is going to set you back 50 euros a head without drinks, and with a teenager we gave that a miss.The main restaurant and where breakfast is served (23 euros a head if you arent on an inclusive deal) is ok but basically had themed buffets every night - these were 38 euros a head. Frankly I thought this pricey for what it was and despite the hassle a trip to marina is by far the best option where the choice is excellent, the setting superb, and the price less if you want it to be.
Anybody looking at Vilamoura might check out the Lakes Resort which seemd to have 2 great advantages on the Hilton, its near the marina but not too near and next to the beach. That said it seemed more expensive and the apartments possibly werent quite as nice as the Hilton

  • Liked — Great apartments
  • Disliked — Fell below the standards expected of a five star hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

My favorite hotel in the Algarve....2nd stay here this year. Just far enough from the marina to avoid the crowds (even in the high season), but close enough for a walk or short taxi ride when a little entertainment is needed. Very much enjoy the pools and positive, helpful attitudes of the staff. The restaurants are a bit expensive, but food is up to par (the poolside restaurant can be hit or miss on food during busy times) -- be sure to book a room rate which includes breakfast -- the buffet is delicious! Highly recommend for families and young couples alike.

  • Liked — Great Pools
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QShitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Hotel is clean but staff for a 5 star hotel were very poor and inexperienced . The evening entertainment is boring.
The hotel ran out of ice-cream and lollies for our last 2 days!
We had to queue for a table for breakfast everyday and then had another queue for a least 5 mins if you wanted cooked eggs.
You could not reserve sunbeds. The pool area is locked until 9am. if you go down to reserve a bed the security guard will take your towel if you leave it for more than 30mins and then after 11 it is impossible to get a bed.
The choice of food for lunch is poor and expensive 15.50 euros for a burger or 12 for a salad. a bowl of soup you could wait upto 30mins before getting.
The buffet at night is overpriced @ 40 euros pp again not enough choice,poor quality and more queues.
if you want to go somewhere else there is nothing in walking distance. so its taxis and this time of year it is a minimum 10mins wait from the hotel. the hotel offer a shuttle service to and from the marina but only after 7pm and it only fits 8 people in every 15/20 mins and they dont pick up from the marina after 10pm
on check out the hotel tried charging me for various mini bar goods despite the fact they emptied it on my first day.
For a hotel that is supposed to be so good and is very expensive to stay you expect a much better service and more facilities and entertainment for kids.

  • Liked — Check Out
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrMadchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
15.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Destinology, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing