We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best HGVC service yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best HGVC service yet!”
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed here for a week during Thanksgiving (end of Nov) and the kids said it was their most memorable Thanksgiving yet thanks to HGVC (Hilton Grand Vacations Club) and the Hilton Vilamoura staff. We stayed in a beautiful 2 Bedroom Suite located right in the hotel (the timeshares looked closed for this time of the year). For only 2800 HGVC points (booked online via HGVC website) we got 6 nights of superb service with free daily room cleanings compared to only 1 mid week cleaning here in the states for HGVC members. The secure underground parking garage (easily gotten to via elevator from the hotel) was free to use as well. While only one of the 6 pools was heated the free pool use of the most beautiful SPA I have ever seen was well worth the trade off. There were several pools in the SPA with several different high tech water massagers. Out of all the HGVC we have stayed over the years this one ranks way up near the top of our list. There was little activity in the hotel and throughout the Algarve area since this is off season. But for a family of five from upstate New York the daily sunny temps of 60 to 70 degrees F was perfect for us. There was a total lack of tourists in the area and we had free reign of all the sights and local restaurants of the Algarve with no crowds. The kitchen in our room was fully stocked with every utensil/dish/item you can think of. It was just a short 10 min drive to Quarteira and right on the ocean is the local fresh seafood and vegetable market along with a few small grocery stores nearby for everything else. All very reasonably priced. Yes we will be back again and most likely out of season again to avoid the large crowds we heard about that descend upon this beautiful area in warmer times. For folks from the USA I would say the weather is like going to St. Augustine in Florida during the Thanksgiving holiday. The cultural experience for all of us was 10x better then the typical Florida holiday as well which seems to be the place of choice when the weather gets cold in the NE of USA. Driving was very easy as well since now that Portugal is part of the EU all of the highways are top notched and most all signs/menu's are in English as well since this is a major holiday resort for those from Great Britain during warmer months of the year. It's easy to fly into nearby Faro via American Airlines (IBERIA partner) from JFK with a easy stop over in the new Madrid airport. Once here we realized quickly (and the Hilton staff will confirm) that this is the most beautiful hotel in the area. - Harald Fraude

  • Liked — The beautiful Hotel/Room and the SPA is the best!
  • Disliked — Pools were subjected to Maint so only one is heated but beautiful SPA made up for pool loss.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank HaraldF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,550
    692
    202
    61
    21
See reviews for
921
1,045
48
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Absolutely wonderful in every way. Food, facilities, location rooms and staff are all superb.The only minor fault i had with this hotel was that the spa and pool doesn't open until 9am in the morning, not a big problem, but i do occasionally like to have a jacuzzi and sauna etc before breakfast.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank DovM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I am just back from a week in the Hilton, Vilamoura. It is an excellent hotel. The staff are very efficient and the front desk staff bend over backwards to get you everything you want. I don't understand why some of your posters thought it was a poor hotel. Nor do I understand why people book the Hilton and expect something else. It is an international chain and you get very good international service. Of course if you are looking for burger and chips I would suggest you are in the wrong place. I agree with the poster who said it was a bit aggressive to charge for the minibar even if you only move the contents. The one disadvantage with the hotel was the fact that you had to get a taxi everywhere and sometimes they were slow in coming. There are many excellent restaurants in the Vilamoura area (not in the Marina where they are mostly fast food tourist traps) so hiring a taxi is necessary. I would have thought that a hotel of this size would have a taxi service on tap. However these are small complaints when the hotel is of such good quality.

  • Liked — It was top quality
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We recently stayed at the Hilton after a disasterous stay at another hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased.

The staff at the reception were wonderful, charming and polite and couldn't do enough for us. The welcome drink was especially appreciated and when we got to our room, it was the icing on the cake. It had a larger than average balcony on the top floor and overlooked the pool area. Indeed the room it's self was spacious with gorgeous furnishings and a bathroom to die for. There were nice little touches like the bathrobes and accessories and even an iron and ironing board.

The pool area was large and although there were a few people around, it was not cramped or noisey. We ate from the pool bar and the portions were very large, so one would have sufficed as the food was not overly cheap.

Breakfast of a morning was very pleasant, good choice of both hot food and cold and the waiters and staff very attentive. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and did take advantage of the hotel shuttle to the marina of an evening. However, I would agree with some of the negative comments about abit of a free for all on the return journey and we did wait a long time for the bus to show up. Perhaps a larger bus or several buses would be more appropriate, especially in high season.

We did see people swimming in the pool earlier than 9am so not sure if that policy has changed. Overall, it's pricey but very nice and we would definitely return.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and it's furnishing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank trouty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Stayed 24/8 - 3/9, and for first couple of days hotel was busy but a lot of guests must have gone home which made for a much more relaxed holiday! As per previous reviews, there is no access to the sunbeds before 9.00 a.m. which suits us fine, but lots of guests were queuing 30 minutes beforehand to get their towels and reserve their beds.

We were told the previous couple of weeks had been very busy, and so it was doing this or risk no sunbed at all! Similar problems at breakfast apparently with guests having to queue waiting for tables to become available.

For the 10 nights we were at the hotel we didn't encounter any of the problems mentioned above. On the plus side, facilities are excellent, pool areas very clean, breakfast buffet very good, and service okay (couple of staff excellent but were the exception). Rooms are also a good size and given a thorough clean every day - although there were instances where our rooms had not been cleaned at 5.00 p.m. Also found that the turn down service was too early, turning up just after rooms cleaned, solved this by putting the 'do not disturb' sign on the door.

Reasonable choice of food available during the day, not cheap but this is a 5* hotel. The food available at the dinner buffet was disappointing, no issue with the quality but the choice was limited and in my view at 39 euros a head overpriced by some way. Other restaurants appeared to open alternate nights, although the pool restaurant hardly opened for dinner at all during the last 5 nights of our stay.

Better option is to get the shuttle bus to the marina, lots of restaurants and bars to choose from. The hotel shuttle bus had been okay up to our last night when it became a real 'free for all' to get a seat, and I'm sure that the hotel could better manage this. There were also a couple of occasions where we had to phone the hotel to find out where the bus was for the journey back to the hotel.

Overall we had a nice, relaxing holiday, with good facilities, good quality food and, on the whole, good, but not great, levels of service. This is a 5* hotel with prices to match for rooms, food and drink, and therefore the hotel must consistently deliver on service but doesn't, and in this respect the Hilton Vilamoura could take a look at the Hilton Jumeirah Beach because that really does deliver to its 5* rating.

  • Liked — Bathroom is fantastic!
  • Disliked — Late cleaning of rooms.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karenj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Husband and I decided to have a five day sun break in view of current british weather. We chose this hotel and booked direct. Then I read Trip advisor and was worried...I needn't have been it was fantastic.
Good facilities, plenty of sunbeds both at the pools and on the beach, good restaurants with excellent choice of food available.
Rooms were large and clean, ours overlooked the golf course.
Pools were cleaned every day, the only negative is that the pools do not open until 9am, but that does deter people from reserving beds and disappearing.
My only negative was the staff do not smile a lot!! although helpful and polite.
Mix of age groups staying, this hotels caters for everyone. There is a regular bus service to the beach 10 mins away, and in the evening a bus takes you to the marina 15 mins away.
I would go again we had a lovely short break...Take plenty of money as drinks in the hotel are high.

  • Liked — Selection of restaurants
  • Disliked — Not on the beach
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SM24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asturias, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

My wife and I have just come back from our long awaited holidays at the Hilton Vilamoura. We were there from the 18th to the 25th of August, and we loved it! The attention is perfect, the breakfast is spectacular, the beach of Falesia is one of the best that we have ever seen in our life, the transport to the beach works very well (better if you wake up early), the facilities of the Hilton at the beach are great, and Vilamoura is just the ideal place if you want to get away from everything, in a familiar and safe atmosphere, there are no drunk young people, just pure family environment everywhere. The Pinhal Golf Course, literally 50 metres away is beautiful, Fernando in the golf store in the hotel just brilliant and all in all a fantastic fantastic experience. We will no doubt do everything that we can to repeat next year.

  • Liked — Environment; Service; Beach; Golf; Room; Breakfast;
  • Disliked — Nothing, we loved it!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MA-CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing