We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel very clean and modern. Staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Kent England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel very clean and modern. Staff...”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Lovely hotel very clean and modern. Staff were very helpful and the rooms were super. The pool area felt a little claustrophobic as the hotel extend all around it so no views beyond. The location was it's only downside really it is a twentyinute walk to anything else. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus every hour to it's own beach area during the day and to the marina at night. Though you need to get a taxi back at night it is only about 4 or 5 euros. There is a supermarket in town near the marina which is reasonable enough. Beach is nice and clean and there is a cafe and shop selling toys etc. Overall a very nice but expensive hotel. .

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaStraaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    669
    197
    57
    20
See reviews for
884
1,035
46
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights and we would agree with the majority of comments on this forum, that it is a very good hotel, with generally attentive staff and excellent amenities. The location is one thing that does need to be emphasised which could affect the decision to stay here. It is fine if you're a golfer (I'm not), otherwise it is really on the outskirts of the resort with literally nothing other than residential aprtments in the immediate vicinity. I know it's still early season, but I guess the falling value of the pound and the flight disruption over the volcanic ash is having an effect as the hotel and surrounding areas were at best only 40% occupied. Which was great from the point of view of not having to compete for sunbeds. This is a big resort and whilst it boasts 6 pools there are clearly nowhere near enough sunbeds, or space to accommodate everyone when it's full. Which is a concern given the distance from the beach. My wife and I consider ourselves to be relatively fit and don't mind a walk to the resort or beach, but the fact that there is nothing other than empty apartments and plain roads between them makes the 20-25 minute stroll seem much longer.
The hotel is aware of this and runs a shuttle bus to the Marina in the evenings (from 7.00pm to 9,00pm about every 15 mins) and the beach during the day (once an hour). Again, my only concern here would be when the hotel is full. The bus holds up to 12 people (which actually is less when you include baby strollers, towels etc) as I said fine when we went, but you might struggle when the hotel is full.
The Spa is excellent.
Yes food and drink is expensive - but we expected this for a 5 star hotel (although as mentioned with no shops or bars nearby you have no alternative).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reevesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I spent a week at this hotel and cannot praise it too highly. The staff were courteous, friendly and incredibly helpful. Breakfast was a feast, with so much to choose from and happy smiling staff to greet you. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room is spotlessly clean with a fabulous bathroom and was serviced efficiently. The pool area was never over-crowded with ample sunbeds to choose from. A nice touch is the 'romantic pool' for couples who prefer to be away from children. For those with children, the Paradise Island Childrens Club was nothing short of amazing. Add to all this a spa which is one of the best I have seen! Whilst the location is a little out of the main resort area, the courtesy shuttle bus to the marina and the beach was reliable and the drivers courteous and helpful. Vilamoura is a wonderful resort with beautiful beaches and a marina which is chic and relaxed during the day and comes to life at night. I would happily return to the Hilton Vilamoura and was sad to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We were moved to this hotel at the last minute as the one we choose was overbooked.
The hotel was very quite as there were very few guests.
The service in the restaurant was disappointing, as most of the staff were new. It seemed as if new trainees were just taken on before the main summer peak period.
The choice of food is also limited. There is hardly any sports facilities except Snooker.
The Marina is about a ten minute taxi ride. The hotel operates one way only shuttle service in the evening from 7 to 9 pm to the Marina. The spa is good but you do have to pay for various facilities such as the use of the spa pool and the jaccuzi. I guess the hotel is okay if you want to just rest and do nothing.
This hotel should be rated as 4 star rather than 5 star. I have travelled to many destinations and can see the difference in those hotels and this one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeker070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We've stayed in 4 different hotels in Vilamoura and the As Cascatas apartments have been the best. You can use all the amenities of the Hilton hotel and everything is nicely situated close together. Pools are lovely, food is great if slightly limited in choice. Apartments are very well-equipped and the location is perfect, being only 5 Euros into town. My only quibbles were inconsistencies in room set-up depending on who cleaned and ridiculously expensive Internet. Charging 5 Euros for 13 minutes is almost criminal in this day and age - come on Hilton, you can't be that hard up. The spa is wonderful, the best I've ever seen, but, if you're a keen golfer, avoid the Pinhal course just next to the hotel. It's cheap for a reason and there are so many other jewels to spend the extra on - Quinta do Lago South was my pick. There isn't a huge amount to do in Vilamoura if you don't like golf, sun and food - just to set expectations. Otherwise everything was just about perfect and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Excellent all the way through - had a pleasant 7 night stay at the hotel.
Check-in, food, bar service, pool & bedrooms cannot be faulted. The hotel is spotless and not tired or worn in anyway.
Our only little niggle was the pool drinks and rubi bar drinks were alittle on the expensive side, but at the end of the day we were staying in a 5 * hotel and any other Hilton would charge the same.
There were 4 golfers in our party and they all loved the golf courses (Pinhal, Victoria & Old Course).
Free Hilton bus service into Vilamoura & the Hilton private beach throughout the day and between 7pm & 9pm. But to be fair taxi were between 3/4 euros.
Loved it - would recommend it to anyone, get it booked!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmathetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

If you want a hotel in close proximity to a Golf course, and relatively close to the beach as well, i guess this is one of the best choices you can make.

Personally i am not a Golf lover, but i must admit that the course (1 minute away - walking distance) seems to be lovely. And if by any reason you don't like this one, there are many others close enough. Attention, the Golf course is not Hotel property.

As for the Hotel itself, the quality is very good, perhaps excellent. I stayed at Hilton Vilamoura in March, so it was far from crowded, and some of the bars, restaurants, and pools were not fully functional. However i'll try to describe things in small topics that hopefully will help you better:

ROOM:
Big balcony with a great view, very beatifull at night. Comfortable bed, lots of pillows, and the matress was not hard. Flat screen TV, with a reasonable number of channels to choose from. Big bathroom, with a big glass separating it from the room (you can lie on the tub and watch the TV if you're that kind of guy). Very spacious and clean (although they do take a lot of time to clean the room... sometimes only after 2 p.m. was the room ready - low season, not enough staff?).

BREAKFAST:
I am not too demanding, so it was fine by my standards. Good variety, good presentation, pleasant staff, everything looked fresh, doubt that anyone would have any complaints.

POOLS:
If i'm not mistaken, there are 9 of them. However, dont think you can actually swim in all 9 pools (some are pretty small - for children). The main pool is goof for swimming, has a bar (wich was closed), and it seems to be the perfect place if you like to take a drink after dinner. Behind this pool there is another with a small bridge over it and a kind of cave on one side - you can also swim on this one and it seems more like a young people kind of pool. Up some stairs and you'll find the Romantic pool - round shape pool wich is surrounded by vegetation (it really is kind of romantic and it's a shame that they don't allow nightime swims...). If you walk past the Romantic pool then you will find another reasonable sized pool, and a childrens pool. I know that there are 9 pools, but i don't remember them all now. These were the main ones.

SPA:
Did not go there, but it has the reputation of being one of the best in the country.

STAFF:
No complaints besides the fact that they do take a lot of time to clean up the room.

BEACHES:
If you want a hotel with a beach view, this is not the choice for you. In walking distance the beach is some 15 to 20 minutes away. If you have a car it's a 5 minute drive. I believe the hotel provides a bus to those who want to go to the beach or to the center of the town. Don't know the schedules.

VILAMOURA:
It's a place designed for tourists. The Airport is close enough, has a good size marina, Casino, plenty of high quality hotels, lots of bars (owned by english most of them) with nightlife during the high season, nice long beaches, beautifull gardens and flowers, lovely Golf courses, amazing weather, good restaurants... And it's getting quite expensive!

Hope it helped, and i'm sorry for my english (haven't written in english for a very long time...).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_a_Stranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,043 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
5.0 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing