We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse round ever”
Review of Pinhal Golf Course

Pinhal Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse round ever”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My self and two friends were playing here when at the 8th hole two old members jumped in front of us , they were walking and we had buggies . Their play was slow to say the least and over the next 10 hole we gave them every chance to play through , I the end it took near four and a half hours to play our round. Having to wait to play every shot.
This then held up a two ball who was behind us aswell.
The course marshal was no where to be see and when eventually got back to the pro shop the young lady called the manager who to be honest was nothing but rude and could not see what the problem was.
We then email oceanic to complain direct to complain and they have even failed to respond , We come here every year to play and up until now have had no problems what so ever.
If this is their idea of customer care then they have just lost out on some loyal patron returning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank diverdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    95
    45
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“summer special makes it affordable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

some greens were in poor state by end of the day, but a lovely course to play. Lost a few balls over the week in the water/ actually stuck up a tree! Bar was very quiet at end of the game and we never anyone eating in the restaurant in the 4 times we played there, so can't comment on the quality of the food!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin_Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Greens Very Poor”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Played this course in April 2014 and based on the quality of the greens, some of which were very poor indeed, I will not return to play Pinhal. Bad greens completely spoil a round of golf. Everything else about the course was lovely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TOPS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Still one of the best layouts in the Algarve”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have been playing this course since it was the Old Dom Pedro, under the management of Tony Barnabee. It hasn't changes since it redesign in the late 80's or early 90's. Very interesting holes in the main, all tree lined to you have to plot your way round with care, unlike the modern fields that seem to spring up these days, didn't like the tee position on the 12th (par 3) the open mouth of the green now has a bunker in position across the front, which used to be at the side, great halfway house, but if they set people out early they should open the house up to cater for early starters. Great practice facilities, just in front of the clubhouse. nice atmosphere, the course could do with a little more TLC

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clubhouse”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lunch at the clubhouse on last day of holidays -fab food and very friendly staff-highly recommend -unfortunately kitchen closes at 7.30 pm

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123JLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinhal Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Pinhal Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing