We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Joint in Vilamoura”
Review of Casa do Pescador

Casa do Pescador
Ranked #26 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite Joint in Vilamoura”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

First night in Vilamoura walking along the marina and approached by several flyers for Indian, Thai and Chinese finally Portuguese (despite the man being Nepalese) he took us to the square behind the Marina. First drinks were free. The waitress was charming and spoke very good English. She offered me half a portion of the Fisherman Cataplana as my daughter wanted Sol. It is a dish of several fish, mussels, crab leg, prawns all served in a delicious gravy in a bronze pot (Cataplana). It was delicious. The whole meal came to €31 so I was even more delighted as I know some restaurants extort people. The waitress even helped me with the crab leg. We went back there on our last night and had the same dish and loved it just as much as the first time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    139
    51
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice fish”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Best fish I add in vilamoura The staff are helpful and take good care of u I also reccomend the steak surf and turf very nice this restaurant should be ranking a lot higher than it is

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great find- wished we gone back for a second visit”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

First the confession - we never set out to eat at this restaurant. We were headed for the place next door and turned up only to find that it wasn't open on the day we went. It was raining and we didn't want to walk to find anywhere else so we gave the Casa Do Pescador a try. We did not regret it.
The service was fantastic and the waiters were attentive without being intrusivve. We both have food allergies and often explaining these to waiting staff can be an issue - not so here. They listened and recommended and ensured nothing was an issue. The wine choices presented to us were based on what we said we liked not what was most expensive or they were trying to get rid of. The main waiter looking after us was delighted we were trying to learn some Portuguese and was happy to help us learn some new words and phrases.
The food was lovelyand the pace of service was spot on - sometimes when a place is quiet they can be a bit too quick in some restaurants.
The only regret was that with so much choice in the Old Town we only ate here once in the week we were there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected - but a fair price”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After reading the reviews we went looking for this place and was soon approached with a flyer for a free drink each. He took us up into the square showing us the way which was nice.
We had the couverts which was not as good as other places, but they did ask first before bringing it. We had the stroganoff and the piri piri chicken, both meals were ok but nothing too special, but the bill was only 25 euro so we left full and happy. So if your on a budget its a good place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Found ourselves in this restaurant on the first night of our stay in Vilamoura. After being cajoled by Sun Rays from Nepal on the nearby Marina we were escorted to a little square off the Marina and this restaurant is in the corner of the square. It was quiet as it was early in the season and early evening. We were given two free glasses of wine (bribed by Sun Rays) which wasn't too bad. The menu was about right with a selection of traditional Portuguese dishes and a vegetarian selection.
The traditional Algarvain fish dish was good, although I was led to believe you either liked it or you didn't, so try at your own peril, but I found it very good. The vegetarian portion size was very good and the prices were relatively good. The service from the waitress was excellent and on our second visit (our last evening in Vilamoura) Dennis entertained us with his tales of woe about the Portuguese football team and again the food was very good and plentiful with good atmosphere and the young waiter being very accommodating.
The only problem is that this restaurant is in Vilamoura and neither of us liked Vilamoura.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BClub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa do Pescador also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Casa do Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing