We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious well-equipped apartment with convenience of Hotel facilities too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just spent 5 nights in a 1-bed apartment, overlooking the pool, 3rd floor. Very impressed with these apartments. Spacious, Luxurious furniture and fittings with every convenience . TV in bedroom and living room and a little one in the kitchen, Kitchen had everything needed to produce and serve a nice meal if you fancy that. It was well- cleaned every day. I had asked for a twin bedded room, instead we got a king bed in the bedroom and the sofa-bed was made up in the living room. While a bit dubious about a sofa-bed, I actually found it very comfortable and slept well each night in it. We were in off-season so not many people around, which was great. No issues with sun-beds. The big outdoor pool is not heated which was a disadvantage, some hardy swimmers did get in for a swim, but it would definitely be too cold for children in May. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day, for 15 euro each it was very good. great selection. We also tried out the spa for 20 Euro on a wet afternoon, and enjoyed the hydro pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and pool-side beds /cabana style. All very relaxing . Buffet dinner at the Hilton for 29 Euro was a let-down, mostly cold salad-style starters/appetisers, an ok veg soup, main courses were unappetising ,and lacked any real effort in the cooking, choice of sardines (v bony), chicken pieces, pork slices cooked on request on a grill, pasta with grilled veg and tomato sauce, rice, potatoes cooked with onions and chorizo, Pretty plain fare. Not very hot either. Most dishes were pretty depleted at 8.30 when we got there, and not replenished quickly. I wouldnt do the buffet dinner option again. instead take the free shuttle into Vilamoura and take your pick from the many options there. We stocked our fridge on day 1 at the local supermarket in Vilamoura and had our own supply of snacks, cold drinks, cocktails, etc to enjoy on our patio which was lovely. We found the receptionists very friendly and helpful, especially the two male receptionists. So all good with the apartments, and cheaper and more spacious than the basic hotel rooms, and the hotel is there with all its facilities if you want to use them

Room Tip: Get a Pool-facing apartment for the sun on the patios, but beware the noise from pool area if in hi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

Went to As Cascatas resort end of Oct for 4 nights and booked the 1 bedroom appartment for a family of 2 adults and 1 small child.

The area around the resort is surrounded with other apartments and (nice) villa's in a quiet residential area. Vilamoura city center and harbour is a couple of minutes drive from the resort. For this location you really need a rental car.

Parking area available just outside of main entrance. Reception was really helpful, originally we were given a downstairs apartment with access to the communal area which I did not prefer as our little daughter could wander away. That night they had no availability, but the next day we were able to move to a 4th floor apartment with balconies (3!) and a lovely view of the pool area and gardens.

Apartments are very high end. Very large enclosed kitchen area with access to one of three balconies. Kitchen appliances are top brand (Siemens) with tv and breakfast bar. Spacious living room with seating area in balcony. Bedroom has additional tv with access to 3rd balcony with lounge beds. Bathroom again high end quality.

As complex is attached to Hilton resort, we could use the same facilities as Hilton guests. As Cascatas had its own pool area, however the semi-covered heated children's pool was located on the Hilton side which is a minute walk away from the resort.

This stay made our trip feel like a home away from home and ideal for small and large families alike.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYAtAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was our second visit to as cascatas.
Again we had an excellent experience and will return again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in the apartments for a week in September and had a very mixed experience.

First Positives:
The apartments are very large and spacious everything is brand new and you couldn't ask for anymore.
Breakfast at the Hilton is lovely and staff where very good there.
The sunbeds are perfect and plenty of.umbrellas available. It's nice that they are not two or three deep.

Negatives:
When we arrived at 1pm we where told our apartment wasn't clean.and check in.isn't until 5pm. The receptionist was less than friendly and told us to go eat lunch. I asked approx how long she said hour. We went down to the restaurant and ate a lovely lunch and loitered around for as long as possible with a grumpy 16 month old and went back to reception at 2.30 assuming it would be cleaned by then. Receptionist was down right rude this time telling us to go away still not ready. We pointed out she said it would be an.hour yet it had been longer did she have any time scale as our daughter needed changing and her nap. She rang the cleaner and asked if.she would do our room next. Then was told 40 min strange as she had told is they had been cleaning it before we went to lunch. Finally after sitting in reception we got into our room at just after 3 basically ruining our first day.

The pool itself is a fantastic set up but is ice cold. It's not as much of a problem in the adult pool but the child's pool really could do with heating.

The corridors and gardens are pretty sparse and do not feel at all luxurious. The underground car park is very dark and feels quite unsafe I wouldn't have wanted to have been down there on ky own. Felt like you where walking through the service entrance.

The pool bar doesn't open until just after 12 and is not really manned you find yourself waiting at least 5 to 10 minutes before a member of staff comes to serve you. It also has a very limited stock.

As we have a young child we often put the do not disturb sign on and cleaned the apartment ourselves. Reception called and actually got shirty about this and.demanded to know why very strange. There was a large bugs nest outside our door one night which snuck under our door when we called the cleaners and mentioned they said they would clear them. Not only where they still there when we got back to our room the cleaners had also left our bedroom patio door open.

Overall lovely apartments but not 5 star and not worth the money especially when compared with Royal Garden Villas in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Apartments are very well presented, spacious and clean. Attached to the hotel but run as independent block.
September was a good time to visit as the weather was still nice and sunny and dry but Vilamoura was a little quiter than during the height of summer. Only small quibble for us was that the bed was too soft for our liking.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you don't want to be facing the pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed 8 nights in As Cascatas. The apartments were lovely and to a very high standard. The maid/cleaning service was excellent, three of them would be in and out and have the apartment spotless by the time we'd be back from breakfast. Breakfast in the adjoining Hilton was excellent. There was a lot of children and toddlers staying here, even in the first week of September, so it was hard to relax at the pool, this hotel may be more suited to families rather than couples. However on the third day we discovered the 'Romantic Pool' at the rear of the complex...a must for couples as this is a child free area.

The shuttle to the beach and marina was a great help...it is a 25 minute walk to the marina. A taxi back is €4-5 euro. We ate by the pool in the Hilton twice during the week. It is overpriced. €3.50 for a can of coke...€13 for a pizza that was definitely not home made...tasted like a frozen supermarket pizza. Head across the road to Oceanico Golf Club where the food is far more reasonable.


I would return to As Cascatas. Email them before you book for the best deals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yobwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We visited As Cascatas for 12 nights on 1st sept. We travelled with a 2 year old.

We had a bad holiday last year so we where really in need of this holiday. We where not dissapointed ! The apartments are a really high quality. Everything you would need, just like a home from home. This was especially important for us as we where with a toddler. All rooms have plasma tv's, dvd player in living room. Because of the comfort of the apts we stayed in one or two of the nights with our son, he could relax and watch his dvd's and go to bed early to catch up on some sleep that his missed with all the late nights.
The apts where cleaned everyday and clean towels given.

We rented a car for convienence and we are glad we did. There is a shuttle bus but at front of hitlon and sometimes q's. The car was handy for seeing some of the algarve and going to the supermarket & marina at night.

The pool area at the apts was perfect. There was 2 kids pools with sun beds beside so right beside your child. And then an adult pool aswell.

All the staff where very helpful with directions or with anything we needed.

If there was something i would say was a negative and this is being picky was the bar at pool in apts doesnt open till after 12.
And everywhere has steps no ramps that lead to hotel so we had to carry buggy to get to hotel. I am really surprised there is no ramps for buggy or wheelchairs ?

This didnt put a downer on our holiday and we had a lovely stay. We will definatley be back next year :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindak20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.9 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#4 of 36 in Vilamoura
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Rua do Brasil | Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-479, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: £93 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Suite complex is located in Vilamoura, with the Largest and most Luxury Suites in Vilamoura, within a unique resort set in five hectares of gardens, featuring three onsite restaurants, bars, kids club, six pools, a semi-indoor pool, Golf simulator, fitness centre, tennis and occasional live entertainment. Enjoy all the homely comforts in your Suite while having access to the service and facilities provided by one of the world’s leading luxury international hotel chains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
As Cascatas Hotel
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing