We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great apartment, very luxurious and spacious. Swimming pools were great, but little bit cold for our baby, so we mainly used the indoor one. We travelled in May and it was quiet time which suited us perfectly. We loved the fact that there was washing machine, dishwasher and oven in the apartment and it was cleaned everyday. We got a cot which was a bit dirty, but it did the job. We went to the Hilton for breakfast the first morning,we arrived late the day before so had no time for shopping, it's a bit expensive but worth it, as we woke up and wanted to eat something straight away. It's a good walk to town, but there was a free shuttle bus. I also used the spa swimming pool which was lovely and went to one yoga class which was very relaxing. We would highly recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LucikDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for placing your comments on this platform.

I am delighted to read of what a lovely and memorable stay you had and I thank you for taking the time to review As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa on TripAdvisor.
Your coments about the cot provided during your stay with us, have been passed to our Management in order to avoid future inconveniences. Please apologize.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    27
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow! So glad that we had the privilege of staying in this wonderful resort. Really could not fault anything. The apartment was very well-equipped and spacious, with an interior which was out of this world - very stylish and upmarket. The complex itself was wonderful - with lovely swimming and sunbathing areas and availability of facilities and the adjoining Hilton resort, including free use of the amazing spa! Staff at reception are friendly and very helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all, we had a really lovely, relaxing holiday here and felt like we had a touch of luxury at this resort. The distance from Vilamoura is a little further out - about a 20 minute walk, but since when did a good walk hurt anyone? That said, there are courtesy shuttle buses that the hotel puts on frequently both to and from the centre, which run until around 9pm.
I would suggest that those people with limited mobility to check before booking though, as the walk into town is a fair distance. A supermarket is about 5 mins walk from the hotel.
I would highly recommend this first class resort for a luxurious and peaceful break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cleverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience at As Cascatas Golf Resort & spa with other TripAdvisor users.

It is enormously rewarding to provide the service we offer, then to receive such complimentary feedback. I am delighted to read of what a wonderful stay you had with us and only hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hilton adjoining to it in 2011 thought I would try villa rooms great and modern all nice and staff pleasant shame about they can't have there own pool as you have to fight for sun beds at 9 am in the morning as you share the hilton facilities

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank last2findout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your stay at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa.

Although we have some information to customers that the pool chairs can not be reserved, not all customers respect this rule which makes us really sad because ultimately it affects the remaining customers in the resort.

Thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked As Cascatas on the fantastic reviews and because it was advertised as a 5 star luxury family resort as we have two children aged 4 and 2. We stayed during the first two weeks in July and left quite disappointed for a number of reasons.

We arrived at 8.00 in the evening with 2 tired toddlers to find that the travel cot we had requested was not in the apartment nor the highchair. These arrived soon after but they we're both extremely dirty and I found myself cleaning them before we could use them.

Housekeeping could have been better, a couple of times they didn't leave a tablet or put the dishwasher on. Our childrens' feet were very dirty from walking around the apartment bare foot and a majority of time the cleaners would come whilst trying to bath the children in the evening!

The Apartment itself was lovely and very spacious but being a self catering apartment we chose to cook a couple of meals whilst staying there but were disappointed that there were not any oven gloves to take hot trays out of the oven. The plug to the sink would not work and therefore had to wash up the children's drinking cups etc in a mixing bowl and there weren't any tea towels to dry them up. The kitchen was well equipped but after cooking the children boiled eggs we found that there wasn't an egg cup! We also found lots of ants running along the work surfaces too.

The bin in the children's shower room was broken and the lid would fall off every time you used it. The ensuite bathroom toilet roll holder was also broken and we had to put the toilet paper on the sink ledge which consequently got wet.

The terrace furniture was covered with bird droppings and could have done with some padding/cushions on which for a 5 star hotel you would expect.

The Hilton hotel was lovely, the food and service was fantastic, the pools looked lovely but we didn't have the opportunity to use them. The pools were really nice by the apartments but you would be lucky to find a bed available after people hogged/reserved more than they required and did not actually use them until 11-12.00!

Unfortunately on check out we had to push the luggage trolley to reception ourselves as there was a lack of porterage staff, which again for a 5 star resort was disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa . We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at As Cascatas aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are glad that you experienced our Resort and that you took the time to leave your review. I am sorry to see that your experience was not as positive as the majority of the reviews, which shall be passed on to administration.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again to allow us to really spoil you and
to proove that this was not the normal level of servcie we offer our guests.

Kindest regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here the first 2 weeks of July this year and had an amazing time. The whole place was perfect. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the (childrens) pool which was perfect for us. The apartments have everything you'd possibly need; fully fitted kitchen (with dishwasher AND washing machine/tumble drier!), 2 good sized bedrooms - one with ensuite and the living room which had a good sized TV and DVD player.

This truly is a 5* resort. nice bars, good gym; everything top notch. The staff were fantastic but one in particular was amazing. Ishmael who worked beside the pool handing out the towels and organizing the beds for the most of the time we were there was incredible. The level of service he offered was fantastic - always happy to help and was also very good at 'parenting' some of the teenagers there at the time!

Pools were nice - we stayed by the childrens' pool for the 12 days just because it was a bit easier to get a bed. Although the other pool looked nice also. We never ate at the hotel but the bar was lovely and the food there was excellent - if not perhaps on the slightly pricey side - but it is a 5* hotel after all so can't complain about that!

There's only a few things that could be perhaps improved; the scramble for sun loungers in the morning was crazy. Pools opened at 9 am but even before then people were leaving all sorts of stuff on the beds to 'book' them which was pretty selfish. Many people then didn't actually surface until 10:30- 11 am to use them. The main pool was the same. Not much the hotel could do apart form having a word with them. When we were there it was the same people doing it all the time.

There could maybe be some more entertainment on in the evenings - there wasn't much - if anything while we were there. Like I say the bar was nice and there was a small bouncy castle there one or 2 nights but not much more for the kids.

And one final small note on the tech! The TV channels were a bit limited and the wifi is on a per device rate so if you are a family of 4 all with phones/tablets etc it can be expensive (there was a half price offer on subsequent devices though).

All in all the hotel, staff and resort were brilliant - Villamoura is beautiful (hotel is a bit out but there's a complimentary hotel bus that goes from 7 to 9 to and from the marina) and we would definitely be back! Great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SquidAndBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at As Cascatas Golg Resort & Spa.
We also noticed that some of our services did not meet your expectations. The feedback of our guests is taken very seriously and we value each point made to ensure that we maintain the level of extraordinary service that is expected from our Resort. Please rest assured that we will look in to improvement opportunities.

We look forward to welcome you once again in our Resort very soon.

Kindest regards,
Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The As Cascatas is not a hotel at all, but holiday apartments. Expect to be treated like a poor relative of guests of the sister hotel, the Hilton, on which you'll rely for any kind of facilities at all.

The service provided is mediocre at best. At check in, we waited 10 minutes for someone to turn up in order to check us in. Likewise for service at the pool bar. There is no room service, and should you like to use the gym at the next door Hilton, you will have to hope that someone is there to let you in, as you are not supplied with an access card. I reported to reception that our room phone wasn't working, to which the receptionist looked thoroughly bored and uninterested and did nothing!

The apartment is very stylish and comfortable, and large. There's a coffee maker etc but no tea/coffee provided. We were told to make our son's rollaway bed ourselves, with bedding provided. Not quite what I was expecting from a 5 star 'resort.'

The swimming pools are gorgeous, but expect sunlounger warfare as these are understocked and oversubscribed.

The location is some distance from the buzzing marina and beach, and lacking in any unique character.

On a plus side the housekeeping service makes up the apartment quickly and efficiently every morning. The bed is sublime.

Overall, we have been disappointed. We chose this hotel based on its excellent reviews but it has not delivered. I won't stay here again. And, unusually for us, I wish we hadn't stayed here this time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Linda M

Thank you for your comment on this platform.

Usually when we get a bad guest feedback we proceed in 2 ways. First we analyze the issues reported, second we find out the reason why we were not able to sort them out.
After analyzing in detail the records of all our clients according to the requirements of Portuguese law where the copy of the identification of all guests staying at as Cascatas is mandatory, it was not possibel to recognize you.
Said this, we would very much like to have the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact our management directly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hear from you at your convenience.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to stay here for 2 nights after extending our 7 day holiday. We moved from the Epic Sana to here. Maybe its because we had such a great stay there i felt this place lacked somewhat. The facilities in the room were good, as we were travelling with an 18 month baby (kitchen, separate lounge etc). The hotel/ apartment area appeared clean and staff friendly. The pool and poolside areas were too crammed for me, with no room to get about the pool side and beds filled quickly. The apartment itself didn't feel immaculate and had a damp smell to it. So much so i didnt enjoy spending time there and spent the last 2 days at the beach and stayed out later than usual. i have given this an average rating, although if a button for just above average would be better suited. Breakfast good choice, but v busy. No was to get from apartments to hotel with a buggy other than walking around the outside of the complex or bumping up and down lots of stairs. On the plus the gym was well equipped and the shuttle bus service was great. The dont tell you thought when you arrive at there beach area, they charge you 15 euro per day for the loungers per head. I am glad i have tried somewhere different, however i will be returning to The Lake Resort or Epic Sana not here.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel area, appears much nicer than apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annieanna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, Sales & Marketing Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa.
We value each and every Guests review and appreciate the time you take out to write them. We here at As Cascatas aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience. We Take all of your comments on Board and try to implement them in making our 5 star resort an even more enjoyable location for your much needed and deserved holidays.

We are glad that you experienced at As Cascatas and that you took the time to leave your review. I am sorry to see that your experience was not as positive as the majority of the reviews, which shall be passed on to administration.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa.

I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from giving us a second try.

Kind regards,

Monica Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.7 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua do Brasil | Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8135, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Suite complex is located in Vilamoura, with the Largest and most Luxury Suites in Vilamoura, within a unique resort set in five hectares of gardens, featuring three onsite restaurants, bars, kids club, six pools, a semi-indoor pool, Golf simulator, fitness centre, tennis and occasional live entertainment. Enjoy all the homely comforts in your Suite while having access to the service and facilities provided by one of the world’s leading luxury international hotel chains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
As Cascatas Hotel
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing