We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cancelled our booking with 2 days to go....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel cancelled our booking with 2 days to go....”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We booked a 1 bedroom suite here via Expedia and even exchanged emails with them confirming a request for a cot in the room for our baby.

2 days before we were due to arrive I received an email from the hotel stating they were overbooked (even though they had confirmed our booking a week earlier during the cot request emails) and the only option they could offer was relocating us to their sister hotel some 60km away.

I promptly checked the hotels website and found they were still showing availability for larger rooms (2 & 4 bedroom suites) for the duration of our stay. I replied to the hotel that their proposed move of us was not acceptable and they could remedy the problem by upgrading us or another guest to one of the larger rooms. They failed to respond to this email. Expedia also tried to resolve the situation with the hotel but failed.

Very disappointing and unacceptable levels of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank The_Traveller091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    33
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We had the pleasure of staying in a two bedroom apartment in this resort recently. Wonderful space beautiful bathrooms and the most comfortable bed I have slept in abroad - fantastic selection at breakfast buffet and teenagers loved the waffles and pancakes. Atmosphere in the hotel a bit lacking in the evening. Pool really lovely and we would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed in As Cascadas for 9 nights in June 2010 and enjoyed every minute of our stay! The reception staff were extremely helpful; the apartment lived up to our expectations (we had a garden view room at ground level, and we were able to let our children (aged 4 years and nearly 2 years) run from the apartment to the garden in the evenings); the buffet breakfast, which was included in our deal, was excellent (although it was better to be there before 9am before it got busy); housekeeping was good; the courtesy bus to the beach / marina was great; and Paradise Island was excellent.
Our 4 year old loved Paradise Island and even stayed a few mornings - the security of the area is good, the equipment is well maintained, and the staff are very friendly.
The nearest supermarket is about a 20 minute walk away BUT the walk is pleasant.
The resort as a Baby Goes To scheme, and we were able to order (free of charge!) age-appropriate books and jigsaws for our children, as well as cookies and milk to be delivered every night .... our children really enjoyed this treat.
We have stayed in other hotels in the Algarve, including Pine Cliffs, but this is the one we would like to return to the most!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank muffin_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My wife, 5 year old girl and I stayed with As Cascatas for a week in early June 2010. We booked a 1 bed apartment through Sunway.

On arrival we were presented with a 2 bed apartment which we dutifulloy accepted. The apartments are the best I have stayed in. They are modern, spacious, quite and finished to an excellent standard. The kitchen had everything you would expect and more. Even here, I noticed that nothing was skimped on with even the appliances being of a high standard. The master bedroom was ensuite with bath while there was a separate shower & toilets off the corridor. The bedrooms had quite and adjustible air conditioning (in perfect working order).The living room was large with dining table, sofa(bed) and large tv with separate dvd and sound system. Bathrobes provided as well as (decent) toiletries including a razor (first time I encountered that). Outside were wicker loungers with upholstery and table/chairs. If you have children then the space will be appreciated. I couldn't fault the apartment.

It's run under separate management from the Hilton, but you have full and easy use of all the Hotel's facilities. We didn't eat in the hotel except at lunch which was a bit pricey (as you'd expect) but of decent enough quality. We opted for breakfast in the Hotel which was more than satisfactory.

We used the kiddies club in the hotel which is a very safe and secure area near the apartments. The staff are very friendly to the kids and there's a lot of staff to go around. They have great energy and I noticed they spend all their time playing with the kids (rather than talking to each other). My daughter loved it so much that she suggested we leave her there alone and 'go on a date'.

So we did, and opted to try out the Spa at the front of the hotel. This was very dear but, we felt that we did get what we paid for. The spa is excellent and incredibly relaxing. I recommend the deep tissue massage - after your treatment you can avail of the spa facilities if you wish.

The hotel provides regular return bus trips to the lovely beach during the day as well a bus trips to the Marina in Villa Moura from 7pm to 10pm. Taxis to the hotel are reasonable (€4).

Villamoura itself is nice with a lovely marina with plenty of bars and restaurants around it. The prices range from middling to expensive as does the quality of food. We found Il Lampana (an Italian) restaurant to be of a good standard compared to many of the rest. There are alternatives. The best indian food I've ever had was in 'Real India' which is about 5 mins walk east of the Marina (located on the next road parallel to that which leads down to the Marina Tivoli Hotel.

There's plenty of daytrips to be had. We opted to the 'Zoo Marine', a seaworld type aquariu, about 45 mins bus journey away. It's great for kids with plenty of shows (parrot, sea lion and dolphin) and you get an opportunity (for €15 incl photo) to touch a dolphin. Theres some waterslides, an aquarium and rides suitable for smaller children. We spent from 9.30am to 5pm there without any boredom.

Finally, Donna, the sunworld rep was excellent, available and helpful.

All in all - an excellent holiday which I would recommend

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We booked this hotel for a fairly cheap October half term holiday and were very impressed with the facilities provided. As it was late in the season we had no problems with queues for either food or sunbeds. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very well presented throughout. The buffets at both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Our five year old son adored the children's playground and couldn't wait to be left with the childcare assistants who provided well thought out activities. Whilst I can understand it would be busy in August, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a holiday with small children.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rascalsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The Best part:
We were upgraded to a Double Bed Appartment on check-in, at ground level, just as we asked for. Reception staff is very kind.
The beach is a 5 minute car trip away (2100 mts). The beach and facilities, staff and confort are the best. The payed parking costs about 5,50€ for 3h30m. If you get there early (in August) you can park outside.
You also have a free train every hour.
Breakfast is great. But the restaurant for the appartments only opens at 9:00.
The Kids club and staff are great for children over 5. They aloud children under 4 years old to get in when with parents.
Very good and free 24h opened gimnasium. Still you have to ask for the card in the reception, because they don´t tell you about it...

The not so good ones (considering it's a 5 star):
The rudeness from the pool's "young" staff is unbeleivable. The manners when talking to Portuguese clients, yelling at each other, calling names, throwing sun beds on purpose from 18:00 on, when pilling them.
Both major (nevertheless small) pools are only opened from 9:00 till 19:00. You are gently "invited" to go away from 18:00 on...And the sun only went down past 20:30.
There's no space for all the sunbeds. It's too crouded. There´s a sign indicating that no one can reserve sunbeds...but everyone does it...and management does noting about it.
Equipment maintenace is a problem. The DVD didn't work (solved in 10 minutes) and the phonewas out of work too (and stayed that way).
The air-conditionig is not automatic, and it's very dificult to get a good temperature. No advisable for cuples with very young children.
There are sharp edges on the WCs, wich are dangerous for small children.
We were given no information on check-in about the Appartments and Hotel facilities, namely the gimnasium.
Quality at the pool bar is very poor. I advise you to make your own Hot dogs...Cheaper and much better.

On and all, there are better 5* Hotel/appartment facilities in Algarve. I prefer the older Sheraton Pine Cliffs and the Real Santa Eulália...but they are not this close to Vilamoura.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tomasito_190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in 2 bed apartment as a last minute booking to get some sun. Absolutely fantastic break at a first class resort. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, dealing with any issues quickly and professionally.

On arrival, allocated apartment 215, but on entering we found that it did not live up to the website accommodation description - no stools in kitchen, no tv in bedrooms and no hifi/dvd player. We complained to reception and were moved to another apartment that perfectly matched expectations - very well equipped and spotlessly clean. From that point, our break was fantastic and the resort amenities were 1st class.

Maid service was totally unobtrusive and the best we have experienced.

The pools were spotless, with plenty of shade and although we had no problem getting sunbeds, there was the usual reserving of sunbeds but with no action taken to remove towels.

The apartment is a fair distance from the Marina - I would guess around a 30 minute walk, but far too hot for us to have tried! We used the excellent free shuttle bus to get to the beach and to the Marina in the evening. We had to wait for maybe 10 minutes for the bus in the evenings, but didn't find this to be a problem. Shuttle bus drivers were very friendly and polite. We would get a taxi back in the evening at a cost of around 5 euros. (Taxi rank is up the road at the side of the Haagen Dazs shop),

The beach was beautiful with free sunbeds and towels. You almost felt like you had your own private stretch of beach because it was quieter than other parts.

Breakfast was included in our rate and offered so much choice that even the fussiest of eaters, like our daughter, could find something to eat. We went for breakfast at around 8am and and found service to be excellent.

The nearest supermarket (Alisuper) was about a ten minute walk. It's quite small and with limited stock, but provided basics of water, milk, bread, tea, coffee etc. There's a large Jaffers supermarket near McDonalds in the Marina, although we didn't go there and it was always closed when we passed after 9pm.

We went to the Marina each night for our food and the best place we found was Il Lamparo Ristorante (we went on nights 3 and 4 - wish we'd discovered it earlier). More expensive than some of the other restaurants in the marina, but food was delicious, desserts were to die for and the staff were so polite and efficient.

Already looking at dates to return for next trip. This hotel and apartment resort puts other European places we have stayed in the shade. We would compare it with the standard of accommodation in Orlando (Hilton Grand Vacations International Drive and Floridays resort).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.9 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua do Brasil | Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-479, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Suite complex is located in Vilamoura, with the Largest and most Luxury Suites in Vilamoura, within a unique resort set in five hectares of gardens, featuring three onsite restaurants, bars, kids club, six pools, a semi-indoor pool, Golf simulator, fitness centre, tennis and occasional live entertainment. Enjoy all the homely comforts in your Suite while having access to the service and facilities provided by one of the world’s leading luxury international hotel chains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
As Cascatas Hotel
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing