We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable adventure and relaxation in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
At the Beach in Boviken - 50km away
Taken by 1 of the 11 foreign exchange students who came in Nov 2014
Spring days
Gorgeous sunsets and the midnight sun
Scenic drives
Fish for Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Skelleftea, Vasterbotten County

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech first
English first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
6amina2
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable adventure and relaxation in the Swedish countryside!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My first trip to Sweden was unforgettable, and Pike Paradise Lodge was one of the main reasons.

Located in the lakeside village of Kusfors, Pike Paradise Lodge is a spacious, well-maintained, welcoming home away from home. It is made up of four double bedrooms (one being a family room), two bathrooms and a cosy open plan kitchen and living room area. It is very well heated and the furniture is attractive and comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with all the equipment you could need during your stay. We found the house clean and fresh, ready for our arrival. We even made a log fire in the living room (with the help of our hosts, of course)! Pike Paradise is situated in a very quiet and tranquil area. There are just a few other houses in the village so it is a peaceful environment. The star-filled night sky is something to behold and there are times during the year when the Northern Lights can be seen, but we did not see them in September.

The house is located next to a forest that is great for exploring and longer walks alike. We enjoyed some blueberry and lingonberry picking in there too (although the lingonberries were not quite ripe yet when we went)! Four minutes' walk from the house is the village shop, which is very well stocked and the shopkeepers are welcoming and helpful and speak English well. There is also a petrol pump available there. In the summer, there is a cafe open near the shop, but we weren't able to try it as it was closed during our visit.

We were able to go out on the river with a (motorised) dinghy provided by our hosts, which was a beautiful afternoon in the autumn sun. The colours of the green and golden trees reflected in the water were stunning. We were also given the use of our hosts' car to drive up to Storforsen, one of the biggest rapids in Europe. Driving on the Swedish country roads was very smooth and we didn't have much trouble finding our way with the use of a map. The rapids were incredible with walkways maintained beautifully to allow for lots of exploring. There are also other bigger towns, such as Skellefteå and Piteå, within driving distance of the lodge (an hour or two) for day trips to see a more urban side to life in the area.

Finally, it is impossible to review this house without mentioning its owners, Martine and Lars. From the moment we arrived at Skellefteå airport, they were welcoming and full of useful information for our stay, whether it was about where to buy food or places to visit. Whenever we had a question they were ready to help and they told us lots of interesting facts about the area and its history. They even went out of their way to take us to see some of the local sights. I was overwhelmed by their generosity and kindness throughout our stay and will always remember them as one of the features of our visit that made it so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure ! We are passionate about where we live and it was an honour to share it with you , we look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent G
Buntingford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just spent 10 idyllic days at Pike Paradise Lodge and enjoyed it to such an extent we are in the process of re booking . Firstly it must be said that if your ideal holiday involves having a Irish Bar next door serving all day English breakfast then unfortunately this would not be for you . However if you are looking for a get away from it all/outdoor type holiday where life slows down to a more normal pace and you can appreciate the wide open spaces , complete lack of traffic, people and a hidden gem where the tourists have not arrived in their droves yet then read on .

We have stayed in a number of villas/lodges over the years and can honestly say that Martine and Lars are by far the most welcoming and helpful owners we have come across. Nothing is too much trouble and you will be overwhelmed by the traditional Swedish Hospitality. The Lodge itself is clean has all the attachments/comforts you would expect including very good Wi-Fi ( 60-100 MB/s when we were there) . The house is large and easily accommodates 8 people. Kusfors itself is a small village where as you would expect, everybody knows everybody and we were made to feel very welcome and in fact felt we had been living here for years.

There is a small shop which has all your basic foodstuffs and typical of the welcome we received if they don’t have it they will order it for you. You can also fill up with fuel as well which is useful. Next door is a small café which is open from 12 to 6pm and serves simple meals. The lodge and village overlook a stunning lake which is well stocked with Pike and Tench . You can hire an inflatable with a motor from Martine and Lars and it is perfect for navigating the lake ( Family fishing licence will cost 50kr and is valid for a year. You can get this from the shop) . We are not serious fishermen but enjoyed being able to pop out for a few hours most days and catching almost immediately ( biggest pike we caught was approx. 5 kgs).

I would recommend you hire a car when visiting as you will need it to get to the various attractions. Northern Sweden might not be your first choice for a Summer holiday but temperatures were a pleasant 20 degrees (in fact we were apparently unlucky as the average temp for this time of year is closer to 30 degrees) . You also get the added benefit of almost 24 hours of daylight. We travelled to the Beach at nearby Byske and spent a couple of days on a near deserted beach and it was warm enough to swim. Depending on your budget you can choose from quad biking to white water rafting to a trip on the world’s longest ropeway ( 15km) . Skelleftea is approx 30 minutes away by car and has all the shopping etc that you may need. It really is a fantastic place for an outdoors type family holiday.

The scenery as you would expect is absolutely stunning and we would highly recommend a visit to one of the many nature reserves where not only is there every chance that you will be the only people in the reserve you will be able to barbeque at one the many excellent camp sites ( wood provided) and enjoy nature . You will be impressed as to how clean and tidy Northern Sweden is and it is no doubt one the last untouched wildernesses in Europe. We will be back in February to experience the more traditional Swedish Winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the winter :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyorksUkE...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage and very sociable owners”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Pike Paradise 3 nights, 6 of us, and had a wonderful time travelling around northern Sweden, seeing lovely coastline and lots of sandy beaches,spectacular waterfalls in the northern area, lots of large clear lakes and forests everywhere.We saw all types of wildlife crossing the roads, and virtually no traffic.The cottage was on the edge of a small village and was perfect for the six of us, and very well furnished with lots of room both inside and out.
lars and Martine ,the owners were very helpful and extremely sociable, and invited us to dinner one evening to experience a northern Swedish menu and it certainly was a very enjoyable evening, and we learnt a lot about the ways of life in the area and places to see.
Some places you remember for the good times and some for the bad we will certainly rememberPike Paradise for the good times and the wonderful owners, many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay , perhaps a Winter visit next time :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzalo N
Västerås, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
“Amazing as always!”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

8 friends and I organized a trip to Lofoten Islands by car. We drove from a city close to stockholm to the north of Norway. We decided to stop and sleep 2 nights in this house (one on our way to lofoten and another one on our way back) in order to rest a bit. I had already been to this house in November of last year and the experience couldn't have been better, that's why I repeated! The price is super unexpensive, the house is BIG and very confortable, but the best of all is the owners. They are a very sweet and lovely couple, always willing to share some of their time with us. The last night, they brought some wine and liquour and we had a great talk for a few hours. I totally recommend this place, you won't regreat! =)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
It was lovely to see you again and to meet the new folk too :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iferr0
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
“Strategic point for relaxing during a week, or for overnight while crossing Sweden”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were a group of 9 friends travelling from Stockolm to Lofoten Islands in the north of Norway. Both in our way to Norway and the way back to Stockolm, we slept in the Pike Paradise Lodge. A friend of us knew the place from before and recommended it to us. This is how we got to know Martina and Lasse, who were amazing hosts, very wellcoming.
The place is also amazing, with a lake for fishing (although we were not into it) and some hiking trails. We were lucky with the weather. However, if you are unlucky or you travel in winter, the house is well prepared for spending days inside. It has a chimeney and I could have spent hours in that cute living room, with the music also provided by the hosts.

I totally recommend the place. There is space for a lot of people, so it is a perfect plan for doing with friends or family! Finally, regarding the price it is very cheap. I don't think you can get something better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
You are so welcome ,it was lovely to meet you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zzezel
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
“What a beautiful, tiny outside, yet cozy and neat inside, house!”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you for letting us stay over your place for 2 nights.

We enjoyed it very much. Especially I liked the bed upstairs, the one to the left. It is HUGE and comfortable.

Definitely will contact again if I one day will seek for a stay over in north Sweden.

Take care!

P.S. Your guest from Estonia, who slept while you had fun with my companions :(

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
We hope to meet you another time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Gina...
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place for a quiet break”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Pike Paradise Lodge was a well appointed house, a "home from home". It was warm and comfortable with modern amenities including TV and Wi-Fi.
The timing of our visit (mid March) meant that the winter had finished but the spring had not really got going. The average temperatures were -4 by day and -13 at night although that is to be expected up near the Arctic Circle. The snow was receding and was about 3 feet deep in the forests but we were advised that in the middle of winter you can expect another 3 feet on top at least.. The summers are apparently warm with about 4 months of reasonable sunshine.
This place is great for those who enjoy outdoor activities. Skiing, husky sledding, snowmobile and even ice swimming in the frozen lakes and rivers (which we declined.....!!).
The little settlement of Kusfors is isolated and there is nothing to do at night. There is a small shop in Kusfors and basic provisions can be purchased there.
The nearest town with restaurants etc.is Skelleftea which is about 40 miles distant but given the icy local roads we did not fancy driving at night.
We had a good break and our host Lars was most helpful with suggestions for activities and lending us dvd's for evening entertainment. A thoroughly nice chap.
This is a place for a very quiet break and is in a lonely part of the world which will not suit everybody, but the house and the hosts go a long way to making you welcome in this northern icy region !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your rest here :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing