We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, modern, with butiful Fjord view and best restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New, modern, with butiful Fjord view and best restaurant.”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed one night on the way to the Hurtigruten cruise.
Medium sized room, with everything you need including Coffee facilities and ironing.
I agree with most of the good reviews, so I'll add only the feeling I like to emphasize.
I use Wifi, but unfortunately it was only in public areas.
Very good restaurant, but also incredibly expensive. Having only one restaurant, with only expensive food is one of the only things I didn't like in this hotel, but I have to mention that I enjoyed probably the best fish I ever ate. Also, since many travelers are checking in at the same time, when a flight arrives, the restaurant service is slow after 8:30PM.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nachuml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    292
    55
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
280
44
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

New, modern hotel on sea front with good views. Quiet and peaceful. Room not large but very clean and adequate, with ironing board and iron. Excellent bathroom with double size shower. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate (till it ran out) in the breakfast area. Our main problem was with the reception, who told us we had arrived too early! We had come from the Hurtigruten boat and, OK, it was before usual check-in time (about 10.30 a.m.) but there didn't seem to be anyone around. We were told the hotel had been fully booked the night before but on our observations that would appear to be extremely unlikely. It has 300 bedrooms - full, in Kirkenes?? Just saying 'You're too early' did not seem the best way to talk to guests. He didn't even tell us we could help ourselves to tea or coffee while we waited. Apart from this the rest of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShropshireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Spacious and airy hotel. Great breakfast restaurant. Slow service at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narnejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

While some may describe this hotel has a 'business hotel' because they have conference facilities, it is a very modern hotel with all the amenities one could want in a hotel in Kirkenes. The location right on the waterfront means that the views from the lobby, the restaurant and many of the rooms are simply breathtaking.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with our sightseeing and transportation, and the food in the restaurant was some of the best we had on our trip.
Kirkenes is so small that the town center is only two minutes away by foot.
Although the hotel does not have a fitness center, they do have an arrangement with the gym in town - again only five minutes away.
Definitely a recommendation for Kirkenes!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamburgdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English heartlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

When you first arrive in Kirkenes you wonder whether you should stay or go. The same is true for the Thon Hotel in town. The exterior is bland and dull. Once inside, it is a very different story. The staff are brilliant - very helpful and speak every language known to mankind. The rooms are a good size, very clean and beautifully styled. Our room looked out over the fjord and we could watch ships come and go. The beds are so soft - felt like I'd died and gone to heaven. Perfect internet connection (Ifree). Huge shower; loads of hot water. Just beautiful! The restaurant (subject of a seperate review) - worth coming all the way to the top of the World just to sample the chocolate mouse. Kirkenes is the most unlikely place to fall in love with but you will and the Thon is the best in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid_Bergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed here 1 night, the hotel was clean and warm, I was there in the winter time, it was extremnly cold in Kirkenes -28.c and it was snowing all the time, but hotel was warm, the temperture in my room was perfect, the bathrooms was basic but clean.
They gave me internet card and I could use the internet for free.
Breakfast was great, fresh sea food, good choice of fish, fruits ect.
Generally prices in the hotel were hight, but usually Norway is expensive.
It was about 10 minutes from the city center and on the way to the airport you could stop to see famous ice hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Excellent new hotel. Beautiful view over the bay, good food, comfortable bed and excellent service. This place is really a great find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
43 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
24.4 mi away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Kirkenes is a new and modern hotel located by the sea in Kirkenes. The city center is a 5 minute walk away with small shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, conference area and outdoor terrace with fantastic views. The restaurant 69’north is specialized in local food such as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing