We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It is brand new, just a little more than a year since the opening. Everything looks fresh and fine. The view of the fjord from the restaurant is excellent. I have a room at the seaside with a great view.
Food in the restaurant was really excellent and the service was top. It is also a nice conference hotel with seats for almost 350 person. The breakfast area was very nice an dlight due to large windows with view over the fjord outside.
I have only seen one room, my own it is very nice. I had a room with twin beds, but they also have with large double beds.
I will use this hotel at my next visit to Kirkenes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view against the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

My friend and I stayed here for two nights before taking the Hurtigruten south. It's true that there aren't many options in Kirkenes, but this is by far and away the best and rightly so.

We liked:
- overall the hotel was well appointed (it should be as it's reasonably new)
- our room was a good size including that our twin beds were not too close
- the staff we dealt with were professional, knowledgeable and interested (and spoke impeccable English which is great if you don't speak Norwegian)
- there was plenty of space to sit downstairs and not be right on top of other guests. The wall to ceiling glass lets in loads of light and means you can take advantage of the great views. Because the weather was variable (rain, overcast and cold with the odd glimpse of the sun), we enjoyed hanging out at the long bar tables, using the WiFi and drinking coffee (or having the occasional wine)
- the restaurant food.

I agree that Norway is generally expensive, but we felt that the restaurant was priced in line with other restaurants and cafes we tried in Norway. We did try other options in town and preferred the restaurant offer.

We thought the hotel could do better by:
- having another person working during breakfast. As the hotel seemed full, the buffet breakfast and coffee machine needed a bit more attention
- offering lunch on Sunday (a pre-prepared sandwich would have been enough).

I would recommend staying here vs the other options in town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Brand nes hotel, normal sized rooms with nice view. Unfortunately yoa can't adjust the the temperature in the room, it was far too warm in the room even whith the window open. Quite noisy also, as you hear all the other doors banging as they are closed.

Tried dinner in the restaurant, not a good experience. The food itself was good, but the service was not good at all. We had to wait a long time for the food, and no waiters where available when we wanted to order some sweets after the dinner. And the first delivery after more than 30 minuttes was wrong, and they had not catched the order for two persons either. New waiting time, then one of us got the ordered course. Another 20 minutes for the next one to arrive. The coffe was of course cold a long time ago, and when we asked for a free coffe we had to serve ourselves at the breakfast machine. When you pay more than NOK 300 for the main course you expect a little bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reisefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed one night on the way to the Hurtigruten cruise.
Medium sized room, with everything you need including Coffee facilities and ironing.
I agree with most of the good reviews, so I'll add only the feeling I like to emphasize.
I use Wifi, but unfortunately it was only in public areas.
Very good restaurant, but also incredibly expensive. Having only one restaurant, with only expensive food is one of the only things I didn't like in this hotel, but I have to mention that I enjoyed probably the best fish I ever ate. Also, since many travelers are checking in at the same time, when a flight arrives, the restaurant service is slow after 8:30PM.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nachuml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

New, modern hotel on sea front with good views. Quiet and peaceful. Room not large but very clean and adequate, with ironing board and iron. Excellent bathroom with double size shower. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate (till it ran out) in the breakfast area. Our main problem was with the reception, who told us we had arrived too early! We had come from the Hurtigruten boat and, OK, it was before usual check-in time (about 10.30 a.m.) but there didn't seem to be anyone around. We were told the hotel had been fully booked the night before but on our observations that would appear to be extremely unlikely. It has 300 bedrooms - full, in Kirkenes?? Just saying 'You're too early' did not seem the best way to talk to guests. He didn't even tell us we could help ourselves to tea or coffee while we waited. Apart from this the rest of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShropshireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Spacious and airy hotel. Great breakfast restaurant. Slow service at check-in.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narnejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

While some may describe this hotel has a 'business hotel' because they have conference facilities, it is a very modern hotel with all the amenities one could want in a hotel in Kirkenes. The location right on the waterfront means that the views from the lobby, the restaurant and many of the rooms are simply breathtaking.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with our sightseeing and transportation, and the food in the restaurant was some of the best we had on our trip.
Kirkenes is so small that the town center is only two minutes away by foot.
Although the hotel does not have a fitness center, they do have an arrangement with the gym in town - again only five minutes away.
Definitely a recommendation for Kirkenes!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamburgdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
104 reviews
23.1 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range: £114 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Kirkenes is a new and modern hotel located by the sea in Kirkenes. The city center is a 5 minute walk away with small shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, conference area and outdoor terrace with fantastic views. The restaurant 69’north is specialized in local food such as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing