We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and with a beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The room is the typical Scandinavian room with heated floors. The bathroom, though it looked sparkling, had a smell of mold. I didn't really report it because I didn't mind in reality, but if you are sensitive to smells, you will not like it.
The view of my room was to the ocean, making the waking up a good experience.
Be sure to shut your curtains well if you are there in the summer!!!
Breakfast was good but they only had a wide variety of black coffees - no milk. Otherwise, the food was very good!

Room Tip: Room facing the sea will help you avoid the rising sun in the summer - allowing you to sleep a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    290
    55
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
278
44
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a South African we really are spoilt with large spaces. It's an adjustment to go to Europe and have the smaller rooms. The room was clean, new and functional. The hotel's position is fantastic and I would love to go back in the Summer for the midnight sun. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before a trip on Hurtigruten. We requested a sea view which we were given. The room was spacious and well fitted and comfortable. The rooms were warm, still had the heating on, we were able to turn it down and open a window. Great blackout curtains!

The reception staff were cheerful and helpful, we were able to store our bags after we checked out.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and couldn't fault the food or the service. We tried salmon, reindeer (fabulous) and Arctic Char, all good. A good wine selection. It is expensive but this is Norway. Breakfast was very good with a large selection including freshly cooked waffles and pancakes.

There is not much to Kirkenes, a small centre, we liked the novelty of walking around at midnight in the light.

It's worth hiring a car, we drove down the border to Height 96, an old watchtower overlooking the Russian town of Nikel, also a café. A drive to Grense Jakobselv is worth it to see the Russian border. We saw Beluga whales at Gresne Jakodselv.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A beautifully modern place, on top of the world at 70'N , 30' E on the waterfront in Kirknes Norway! Krknes has 5000 inhabitants, is on the Russian border & even the parking lots have signs in Norwegian & Russian because the locals are allowed to cross freely, upto 30 kms ! Murmansk is mere 4 hrs drive away, if you have visa.
Thon hotel has great clean & modern rooms, good wi-fi for internet & a restaurant with wonderful views. The breakfast spread is superlative, reminds one of 5 * places in India with a counter & a person specially doing eggs, whichever way, with all the various ingredients on top of the extensive cold & warm buffet.
The view of the sun at midnight over the calm water can be extraoridinary !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whynotnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Thon greatly exceeded expectations. Reception staff was friendly and helpful, room was modern and quite clean. We enjoyed an excellent lunch before heading out to explore the city. And breakfast the next morning was top notch all the way.

If I were forced to find fault it would be with the fairly Modern-Sterile ambiance which is a bit too corporate in nature for this former quite corporate person. But I think they do a lot of business and conference activity so maybe that's ok for some.

All in all this is where we would stay whenever we are in Kirkenes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good location, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, good service in the reception. Nice view. A very good hotel.

We did not try the restaurant in the evening because of the waiting-time. Instead we ate at Surf n Turf in Dr. Wessel street (very good), Arctic Rica Hotel (medium place, OK omelette, strange Cesar salad) and Shanghai (horrible, dont go there!)

Kirkenes town is maybe not so interesting, but we hired a car and drove to Neiden/Bugøynes/Finland one day and to Grense Jacobselv the other day. Bugøynes was beautiful and also had a interesting history and a small cosy restaurant, Lassigården. At Neiden it was traditional fishing in the river - Käbälä-fishing - fun to watch!
At the border on the finnish side it was two grocery stores and a gas-station. And a bunch reindeer walking around, licking the cars and looking for goodies. Exotic border-trash!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElseAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This town is at the end of the ferry line. We had a single night here after a week on a Hurtigruten ferry. The room was quite large, humungus in comparison to our tiny twin bed cabin on the ferry. The hotel is right on the harbour so our room had a nice view, but it was very tranquil and easy to sleep. Very new and very clean. It is an easy walk into town which is just a few hundred meters away and there is a cinema there so you can help lose a few hours. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent and when we were there included a chef preparing fresh and very tasty omelettes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
43 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
24.4 mi away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Kirkenes is a new and modern hotel located by the sea in Kirkenes. The city center is a 5 minute walk away with small shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, conference area and outdoor terrace with fantastic views. The restaurant 69’north is specialized in local food such as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing