We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just what we expected! It was modern and quite stylish, with restaurant with a view on the fiord. I agree with most of the opinions - nothing extraordinary, but I didn't expect anything. Good ratio price / value, very clean and functional rooms, good mattress (after Hurtigruten that was something!).
Of course awful coffee, but finding proper coffee in Norway is like seeing white reindeer...

Room Tip: That depends on what you need. Superior rooms have view on fiord, but we were during polar nights so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-the-alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    255
    52
    11
    10
See reviews for
76
244
37
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Located centre of town, on the water. Modern, spacious lobby / dining zone. Breakfast was excellent. Home made jams and friendly Italian waiter to make us real coffee. Good room, view, excellent bathroom (why aren’t all showers as simple /functional as this?! Show this to about 80% of hotels in England, with their crazy complex water systems). Just what we needed en route to explore Finnmark.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is a very practical hotel. Rooms are small but perfectly clean and very practical. Staff is very nice and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. However, the hotel offer no services beyond the basics.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice breakfast served with a view of the arctic. Coffee available all day too. Short walk up the hill into town for browsing. Our room also had great view of the arctic fjord. Great place to spend a day pre or post Hurtigruten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njbeachbum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Friendly staff, excellent food. Quick and service minded personnel in the reception. Would not hesitate to stay there on nye next trip. The reindeer in the restaurant was served exactly as i wanted it - rare and with al dente vegetables. The wine list is rather small, bot contain suitable wines for my taste

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

After we disembarked from our Hurtigruten cruise Nov. 2nd, we checked into the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes for the night. The hotel was the first stop the bus/shuttle made on it's way into town, so that was kind of nice.
The hotel has STELLAR views of the bay from the dining room - I'd bet that in the summertime it would be beautiful (don't get me wrong, it was beautiful with the snow, too!).
The hotel lobby had very simple lines, as is common in the Scandanavian countries, but the staff was VERY pleasant and helpful (our timing was perfect because there was a fairly large group also staying at the hotel that night and we always seemed to be ahead of them, which was VERY good!)
We checked in and went up to our room. Again, the simple lines prevailed, but the room was VERY clean and the TV was on with personalized welcome with our names on it! Had never seen that before! The bathroom was very clean and again with heated floors (I will miss that!) Our view was of some kind of warehouse and given that it was a Saturday night was happy knowing that there probably wouldn't be any early morning noises from them on a Sunday morning so we could get a good night's sleep.
After freshening up, we took off for town, which was just a couple of short blocks away, although being from California, we don't really know how to walk on icy streets, so we were VERY careful and navigated quite nicely I'd say!
We chose to have dinner at the hotel, since trying to walk into town in the darkness (since it was winter, it got dark quite early) didn't seem like a good idea. The food was absolutely FABULOUS! It was also nicely presented and served properly (sorry Hurtigruten, but you really need to work on your dining room servers). The meal was somewhat expensive, but well worth it. After we had had our salads, the big group assembled in the other part of the dining room, so we were happy to have eaten before them.
We went back to the room and got a very good night's rest.
We went down for breakfast the next day to quite a spread, with lots of meats and cheeses and traditional English foods as well (the baked beans and soft boiled eggs) with even an omelet/waffle station!
We caught the bus to the airport and waited for our flight (the bus came at 9 and our flight wasn't until 11:30, so even after going through security, it was quite a wait.
All in all, I would recommend the Thon Hotel again - it was a little expensive, but since everything in Norway is expensive, at least the value seemed to be there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for one night only as part of a driving tour of the Norwegian Coast.
We were welcomed warmly, we had a good room and found dinner and breakfast excellent with fabulous views from the dining room. Parking was no issue either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#4 of 5 in Kirkenes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
23.0 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel, (open 5/2010) located directly on the seaside. 200 m from shoppping and restaurant area. The restaurant 69’north is specialized on local food, as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing