We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great views”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This Thon (like many others) is not the most attractive building but inside the room are very comfortable and those with views are even more impressive. Place is immaculately clean and staff very professional and helpful. This is not a romantic boutique hotel but a very functional one. Breakfast was excellent buffet with eggs or pancakes cooked to order. Hotel is located in the 'centre' of Kirkeness what there is of it! As with most of Norway prices are not cheap. We could not see a huge difference between 'superior' rooms and standard ones. There are standard rooms with sea views. Bus stops right outside for airport or ferries.All in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    281
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
82
265
42
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed three nights at the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes at the end of our Lapland/Finnmark tour in search of the northern lights at the end of March 2014. The hotel is situated right on the water with magnificent views. You must get a room with a water view. We were in a "superior" room - these all had water views. The room wasn't that big (I can't imagine how small the non-superior rooms are) but was good enough. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice - but you can always pop down to the bar area for these - free of charge (but not hot chocolate - they charge for that).
The restaurant also has water views and the food was excellent. Ditto the buffet breakfast - a marvellous selection - my only gripe being that the fried eggs were cold by the time I got to them.
Having spent many hours out in the cold at various locations on our tour looking for the northern lights, the highlight of our hotel stay was watching the northern lights from the comfort of our room!

Room Tip: Go for a "superior" room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for one evening. Hotel was lovely. Very clean and staff very helpful. We asked for some ice and seemed to confuse the girl at the bar. She asked, 'Like water ice?' hmmm? Anyway the views from the breakfast area were magnificent, the rooms lovely and spacious. It was quite expensive to stay in but nothing else negative to say.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XclaireeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was probably the best hotel we used on our tour of Finland/Norway. Its position (right on the waterfront) is excellent, rooms are fine and the restaurant, even for a group meal, was excellent. Breakfast was fine.
The hotel is clean and comfortable and can be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one night after our Hurtigruten cruise. Our room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room but hotel guests can get coffee and tea any time in the lobby restaurant. The wi-fi is free and works really well. The breakfast was delicious. Lots of hot and cold choices for all tastes.

The only negative for me was the lack of comfortable chairs in the lobby. The chairs are sleek Scandinavian design. They look great but if you're hanging out in the lobby for more than an hour, they are not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the water directly. Our room was on the side of the hotel. We had a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great hotel on the edge of the harbour. Great and very helpful staff. Room was very clean and a very modern feel. Easy to get to everything. Couldn't be more happy with it overall. Breakfast was just beautiful and a big rang of food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christadinohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Thon Hotel in Kirkenes is the best place to stay in town. Situated on the shoreline with a great view towards the harbor/Varangerfjord in-let. Great breakfast! 5 minutes walk from almost anywhere in Kirkenes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor. The backside rooms are facing a road with traffic 24 hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenL850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
40 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
98 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
249 reviews
23.1 mi away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel, (open 5/2010) located directly on the seaside. 200 m from shoppping and restaurant area. The restaurant 69’north is specialized on local food, as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing